We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Granville Hotel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Excellent Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

My partner and I spent a Friday night at the Granville. We opted for the West Pier room which had a different look to what was on the website. The 4 poster bed was comfortable, and the jacuzzi bath was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was extremely hot due to the high temperatures outside but the small fan did help. A fantastic view of the sea and west pier was great to wake up to in the morning as well as the hustle and bustle of brighton in the morning. We will definately be going back as we are entrigued about the other rooms, but the West Pier Room is definately reccommended as is the hearty fry up breakfast in the downstairs restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolateange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    225
    64
    38
    23
See reviews for
55
323
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

My wife & I stayed at the Granville last weekend and absolutely loved it - we stayed in the Marina Room which was spacious and has full height floor to ceiling bay windows overlooking the beach and old west pier which made for incredible views... the website really doesn't do the room justice - it's much more modern than it appears in the picture.

The hotel was a refreshing chage from the glut of "changing rooms" style, supposedly "boutique" hotels which have sprung up everywhere with their gaudy wallpaper and mdf as far as the eye can see. One of the other reviews said it's cleanliness was "not up to travellodge standards" - well quite frankly if travellodge is your benchmark for rating hotels I'm not sure you have any business commenting!

We found it perfectly clean and well presented. Albeit not much too look at from the outside, inside it's a touch of georgian splendour and that shabby chic feel was for us, part of it's charm. It was a touch of class with generally traditional decor, but a touch of the contemporary mixed with antique furniture - unlike many of it's competitors it doesn't feel like they have tried too hard as it balances all of these effortlessly.

Breakfast buffet plus choice of fry-up, salmon, kippers, eggs, bagels etc. gets a big thumbs up. And at only a couple of minutes walk to the shopping centre, night life and pier it's in a perfect location (just far enough to be a little quiter but close enough to be handy to access everyting).

All the staff were excellent and very friendly - we'll definitely be going back. Book with confidence (and we highly recommend the meze in Steki's greek taverna next door)!

Only minor issue you should consider when booking (and you can't blame the hotel for it) is that the sea view rooms overlooking the beach are a little noisy, with the buzz of music, traffic and the general noise from people on the beach and promenade - but we slept fine even with the window open (we were blessed with blazing temperatures) and it's more than made up for by those views, and after all, aren't you going to Brighton for the buzz in the first place! but if you do want absolute peace and quite perhaps book one of the rear facing rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudey_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

We had our 1st anniversary weekend at the Grandville and it was booked rather last minute through last minute.

Generally most of the hotels in the peak season are about £100+ a night and the Grandville is beachside. We didn't get to see any of the other rooms and we'd been allocated the Black Rock room.

The hotel staff were very friendly, there was a good range of DVDs in their library and the location was spot on.

To repeat the other reviews on here the room was a bit tatty and dated - the wallpaper was damaged in many places, some places held up with tack pins etc. The jacuzzi bath enamel was chipped and made it look dirty, though the rest of the bathroom was fine. There was some sort of strange half door in our bathroom with no lock on it which could be difficult to open. The old pier is directly outside the window and it's great to look out onto.

The bed was incredibly noisy - moving about on it caused a lot of squeeking, but it was comfortable enough.

There is no airconditioning (not unusual for British hotels) and if you left the windows open we would usually arrive back to find the room full of small flies - that's not the hotels fault, you'd have got the same thing in the Hilton.

Access to the room is via a small lift (or stairs) but you'd not get a wheelchair in. Similarly there's a single step to the black rock room. It's a quirky up and down hotel and the corridors are a bit slim.

The room was also a bit let down by the cleaning - we found several black feathers under the bed. We had the room serviced once whilst we were there and they were still there when we left. I've found worse under beds in 5* hotels in Paris, so it's not a big deal.

Internet wise we used it to watch some stuff on iPlayer whilst we were there. Reception isn't great around the rooms and it's shared with the next door Cecil Hotel, but it seemed OK and it did our purposes.

To say it's directly on the Lanes is a bit of a lie, but it's not too far away and there's a carpark which costs £7.50 a day. We found it cheaper to park in the suburbs on a nice street and get a taxi to the hotel. There aren't any clubs nearby so the noise mainly comes from the main road outside. There can be some late night returners, but it wasn't bad - I'm a light sleeper and was still getting 8+ hours a night waking only when the sun made the room too hot. The TV is quite quiet however and if you've got the windows open during the day it can be a little noisy during the weekend. We had to close the windows to watch a film as the daytime on the sea front ususally hosts all sorts of entertainment, but this generally wraps up by 7pm.

The breakfasts downstairs were fair enough some of the food is locally sourced, but it seemed they were using canned mushrooms which were a bit of a let down.

Hints for the area: Try Bills for breakfast/brunch. It's about 20 minutes walk away just before the north lanes. Komedia for their comedy nights, though best to book ahead. The food looks pretty good but we didn't eat there. Jamies italian resturant isn't that pricey and does good food - only about 10 minutes from the hotel and reservations aren't needed, but get there early!

All in all if it was a bit cheaper, I'd probably stay there again, but I'd warn you not to expect pristine rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

I'd read mixed reviews on trip Advisor about the Granville, so I was a little apprehensive prior to our arrival...

But, what a very pleasant surprise!

We received a warm welcome upon arrival and were shown personally to our room. The ammenities were explained to us and there was a lift to our third floor room.
We stayed in the 'Black Rock' room. it was just as it looked on the website and was very comfortable with a hint of Rock star about it. There was a 4 poster bed with a sumptious zebra print throw and matching cushions. Very cosy indeed.

Our bathroom had a massive jacuzzi corner bath which made me feel like I was in Dynasty! (And there was room for two!)

We'd brought our own Champagne and the downstairs bar happily obliged with an Ice bucket, no questions asked.

The room also had a plasma tv, mirrored wardrobe and two leopard print chairs with a huge glass table. we had a view of the old West pier which looked incredibly haunting during Sunset.

The hotel is situated on the Seafront close to the Bars and clubs and The Lanes shoping area but it was far enough away to not be too loud at night. There is a restaurant/bar below the hotel but not once did we here any unecessary noise. A chip shop with a seating area is also two doors down!

The breakfast was in the lower ground floor of the hotel and was a very enjoyable experience. The room was light and bright and you could sit where you wanted on soft chairs. The staff were friendly and tended to your every request. Fruit and juices were on tap as well as unlimited tea and fresh coffee. You are then treated to a chioce of Full English Beakfasts (with veggie and vgan options) or things like smokes salmon and scrambled egg on a toasted Bagel. The portions were huge and set you up for the day.

All in all we had a very comfortable relaxed enjoyable experience at The Granville. We stayed for two nights and i could have happily stayed for longer. i would recommend this Hotel to anyone that doesn't take life too seriously. If 5 star is what you're used to then this may not be the hotel for you but if you want cosy and fun, book this one.
I

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkEssexGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

We picked this hotel out on the strength of online recommendations, having rejected several others on the same basis. From the outside The Granville looks nothing special, but inside it was clean and tidy, the decor was slightly quirky, the staff were polite and helpful, if rather too eager in the breakfast lounge, and we had a very restful stay. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

We were really impressed with everything about this hotel. Reception were very friendly on arrival, our room was lovely with lots of space large windows looking out over the sea and really fun jacuzzi bath. No problems with noise despite being on the first floor. Oh and the breakfasts were yummy with good choice - I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon on a toasted bagel.
Location was also easy really convenient.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelguest26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the Granville Hotel for two nights.
The Preston room was lovely, very clean, the bathroom had a jacuzzi shower.
Must have been renovated shortly, they should update their website with new pictures of the rooms.
The breakfast was EXCELLENT!!
Very nice and helpful staff! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonian500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,897 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Hotel

Property: The Granville Hotel
Address: 124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brighton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront opposite Brighton's historic West Pier, The Granville is a boutique hotel with 24 eclectic bespoke rooms, individually themed from Minimalist to Art Deco, Japanese and Gothic.The Granville Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from shops, restaurants and on the doorstep of many clubs. The rooms have a luxurious bathroom, some with a spa bath or corner bath. Many of the bedrooms have a superb view across the coastline.All of the rooms are furnished with a TV and DVD/CD player. Complimentary broadband wireless internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing