We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Granville Hotel
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We did not have a booking but when we turned up and asked if there were any available rooms the staff were very helpful showing us the available rooms before we decided to stay. They also gave us a map of the area and pointed out the tings worth seeing. The hotel is directly on the seafront so the location could not be any better. Unfortunately there was no parking so we left our car in the Square overnight for a cost of £12.50.

We paid £60 for the Beardsley Room with breakfast, The room was on the 4th floor, there was lift access most of the way but then a few stairs to climb, which was fine for us. The room was large and nicely decorated. It did not have a sea view but it was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with a separate shower and a great roll top bath - very enjoyable! The room had tea/coffee facilities and a TV with DVD, the hotel has a range od DVDs which you can borrow free of charge, unfortunately ours would not read the DVDs but when we told reception they were quick to respond.
The bed was VERY comfortable.
Breakfast was amazing - cooked to order we enjoyed Scrabled Egg and Ham Bagel and a full Brighton Breakfast, there is also a range of cereals, toast, fruit, juices etc to help yourself to.
The hotel offers free WIFI and the use of 2 computers with internet access. The computers were a little temperamental but maybe just because we are not used to using Macs.

Overall a great stay and we will definately stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldwide_Travel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

We have just spent a weekend at the Granville Hotel in the Marina room - a second floor double room with a sea view and decorated with a nautical theme. The room had a lovely large bay window with plenty of room for us both to sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by - very relaxing.

The hotel is clean and comfortable but is looking a little bit shabby in areas. On the one hand it makes a nice change to stay somewhere individual rather than another indentikit chain hotel, but perhaps they need to make some minor improvements - our bed headboard for example was sitting at a strange angle, the iron plug was loose and the lift seemed to pick and choose when it wanted to work.

Another odd thing was that while the bathroom was nicely done out and had a lovely corner jacuzzi bath, there was no shower - only a hand-held mixer shower as part of the bath taps. Given that most people are likely to take many more showers than jacuzzi baths it seemed a bit of a strange omission.

The staff were very friendly and helpful - not that we really saw them outside check in and out.

Despite the hotel being fully booked it was quiet and peaceful and the layout of the corridors meant that you didn't have people walking past your room at all hours.

The hotel has a great location and its quick and easy to walk along to the pier, shops and entertainment areas. There is a great Greek restaurant just next door where we had a delicious meal.

Overall I would recommend the hotel and would definitely stay there again. Its worth paying extra for a sea view because that's what really makes this hotel special.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed at the Granville mid-week in August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If we return to Brighton we would definately return to the Granville. We booked the Balcony Room, which had a small outdoor balcony and great views across to the old Brighton pier and seafront. Stylish interior decor including fairly comfortable 4 poster bed and with a fantastic bathroom. We wished we had saved more time to spend in the jacuzzi!

The Granville is on the seafront, just down the road from The Grand and the Hilton Metropole, and in a perfect location for the Brighton Centre. We liked the Granville because of its character - it's not cheap, but we preferred it to the corporate feel of many of the big chain hotels where you could be anywhere in the world. With the Granville we felt we gained more of the Brighton experience than just being in a room in a big hotel corridor. The staff were friendly and helpful, welcoming and stylish reception area, and the adjacent bar was good enough for a nightcap when we returned back to the hotel.

We ordered breakfast in our room to make the most of the fabulous views and seafront setting - perfect with the huge floor to ceiling windows open having breakfast looking out to the sea. However, the breakfast was my only disappointment - I see from earlier reviews people loved the breakfast. I had specifically ordered a few cooked items on my room service booking form, but ended up with the whole fried breakfast. If you love a good English fry-up in the mornings then you would probably love the breakfast (my husband had no complaints!), but for me the breakfast service was slightly disappointing as I didn't get what I ordered and found it too greasy-spoon.

But overall we had a great stay and would recommend the Granville to other visitors to Brighton. Nearby Preston Street had a good selection of places to eat - we were spoilt for choice with restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets. We opted the Royal Sovereign pub which served great food (much better than the average pub food) with a great atmosphere. The Granville is also perfectly positioned for enjoying the seafront and nearby shops and places of interest.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingfrogs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Booked this hotel for a one night mid week stay in August - the website looked great, each room is individually themed, with choice between doubles, seaview doubles and superior doubles - we booked a double for £90 the room, pretty good I thought for school holiday times. Imagine our surprise when we got our room key to find we'd been given a superior double with seaview - room was beautiful - the balcony room, with 4 poster bed, beautiful mirrors and a romanesque bathroom complete with pillars and jacuzzi bath - plus tv and dvd player.

Would highly recommend - staff were very friendly, able to leave our luggage with them after we checked out, breakfast was good - though not quite as amazing as I expected after reviews on here. would also recommend the alfresco restaurant 2 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolate27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

after one bad nite at the beach hotel was over the moon to get a room here room was very clean lovely shower dvds to watch very friendly service would stay here again. just ashame about the squeeky bed.......

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loretta37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Just returned from a night at Granville and was pleasantly surprised! The website does not do the rooms justice! We stayed in the 'Black Rock Room' which is perfect for young couples! The Interior was brilliant with a large four poster bed, Leopard Print decor and HUGE jacuzzie bath tub! Was definate value for money for a one-night stay. Location couldnt be better, and although a little put off by the outside of the hotel I can truly recommend this as a budget hotel but with perfect little touches. If i had to complain about one thing was that there was no air con, it was very hot at night due to being on the 3rd floor and in the middle of July! Other than that would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Stayed at this place for one night and would definitely stay here again if visiting Brighton once more.
The best about The Granville is not only its location (very close to the Brighton Pier), or the prospect from one of the seaview rooms, but mostly the service. Although we arrived at the hotel quite early (way ahead before check-in), we were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel. But the best thing was that having to leave early in the morning the next day, one of the staff members made sure that the kitchen chef would come in earlier in order to provide us with a good start into the day. Much has been already written about the good quality of the breakfast in this hotel and I have to admit: it is certainly not exaggerated.
Further pros include the free of cost rental of DVDs, which can be watched in the own room.
The only con was the price for the room. A bit too high for a price-conscious person, such as me.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexalex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#20 of 43 in Brighton
2,390 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Hotel

Address: 124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brighton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £55 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront opposite Brighton's historic West Pier, The Granville is a boutique hotel with 24 eclectic bespoke rooms, individually themed from Minimalist to Art Deco, Japanese and Gothic.The Granville Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from shops, restaurants and on the doorstep of many clubs. The rooms have a luxurious bathroom, some with a spa bath or corner bath. Many of the bedrooms have a superb view across the coastline.All of the rooms are furnished with a TV and DVD/CD player. Complimentary broadband wireless internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing