We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy - but its Brighton after all” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Noisy - but its Brighton after all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Hotel was fine. Nice large room. Good size bathroom - a bit dated but ok. The location of the hotel means that you are constantly aware of people along the seafront - day & night. Bring earplugs & you'll hardly notice. Inside the hotel was noisy as well however - maybe the stag party our waitress spoke about at breakfast! Breakfast is plentiful though the full English bacon was a bit too "porky pig" for me.
If you get the room at a decent price (£71 booked well in advance) & bring your earplugs then all is fine. After all it is Brighton & its going to be "lively"!

Room Tip: Maybe a room way at the back of the hotel might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    776
    419
    164
    109
See reviews for
227
1,039
56
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel is on the sea front and we booked to stay when attending a gig in Brighton. The decor of the hotel is tired, carpets worn and woodwork scratched. Our room was overlooking the bins which wasnt great, the bathroom had mould on the walls and the actually room had "mystery" stains on the walls. The car park is a bit of a nightmare to get into and is very expensive to use even when staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni_H1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Old Ship. You are right, the location is second to none. The hotel sits right on the seafront and is only a 2 minute walk from The Lanes, which is why it is such a popular choice when staying in Brighton.

We are currently working through a program of redecoration and refurbishment in our bedrooms, which i know will greatly enhance our product. The entire front of the hotel has been newly painted and many of the Front facing windows have been replaced over the last 4 months. In addition, we have just opened our new Grill Restaurant "Steak on Sea" and this new concept is proving to be very popular with both our residents and locals.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Old Ship again soon.

Regards
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Old Ship is in a great position on the front overlooking the sea with easy access to the Lanes and the shopping areas. Reception and checking in were speedy with the rooms as you would expect for this type of hotel in terms of size, cleanliness and amenities - all good. The breakfast was fantastic with the range from continental, cooked meats to full English supported by cereals, fruit and pastries. Parking is an issue in Brighton and the hotel charges £23 per day. Past comments have been made about noise throughout the night which is fair but this is Brighton, a 24/7 party place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickFlorins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. You are right, the location of the Old Ship is absolutely fabulous, right on the seafront, and just in front of The Lanes - couldnt be better.

I was so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us - please dont leave it too long before you visit again!

Regards
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in May whilst on business. (whole experience was made so much better as the weather was beautiful). The hotel is directly on the sea front and approximately 5 minutes walk from Brighton Pier.

Upon arrival, check -in was speedy.
Rooms. I can only speak for mine. It was of average size with a king size bed (this made the room look smaller). Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. Television was a 36" (ish) flat screen with all freeview channels. There was a ceiling fan above the bed which servied its purpose only slightly. Bathroom was small but fully equipped. Toiletries were replenished if used. The cleaner came in every day.

Breakfast. Probably my only gripe. The selection was good, problem was the hotel was full and I don't feel there was enough hot buffet out for selection. It was continuously running out which casued queues of people waiting for food to be refreshed/replaced. What was there was fine though.

All staff were pleasant. There is free wi-fi available in all areas of the hotel and the signal was very good.

Would I rate this hotel as 4*? No, but I would say it a very good 3*.

Prices. £3.89 for a pint of lager and £5.10 for a single gin and tonic. Not sure if this is normal pricing for Brighton but it is a fair bit more expensive than home.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better - purely for noise reduction from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainerory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of the Old Ship. I was pleased to read you would happily return to the hotel - so hope it wont be too long before we see you again.

I have noted your comments on the Breakfast buffet and have passed on your feedback to my Head Chef and Breakfast Supervisor to ensure improvements are made.

Regards
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Check-in was rather slow but the receptionist was very friendly and efficient when we were finally served. I had booked a twin room but we had been allocated a double. This was changed to a 5th floor twin room but the lift was only working up to the 3rd floor. The room was incredibly hot and the windows were screwed shut; the A/C wasn't working either. The phone was out of order so all the way back down to reception to complain. Things progressed much more smoothly after this and we were given a lovely room with windows which could be opened. A note on the A/C though - the receptionist said that none of the units worked. This does present a serious problem in rooms with no other form of ventilation. However on the plus side the breakfast was good, all the hotel staff were very friendly and we got a brilliant deal on last minute. The hotel is on the seafront close to,shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mum5EastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review, I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money.
My apologies for the fact you were allocated a room which you were unhappy with, alhthough I was very pleased to read that you were moved and were consequently happy with your second room. We have just recently had a significant amount of new windows installed at the front of the hotel which has aided ventillation as well as acting as a soundproofer. We are soon to start on a second phase of window replacement with a further 54 being replaced. In addition, we have been working through a program of redecoration within our bedrooms which remains ongoing.
I am sorry one of our lifts needed to be put partly out of order during your stay. Unfortunately some over zealous guests decided to exceed the maximum numbers in the lift which resulted in a partial breakdown. The engineers were called to site straight away, but the lift was left out of action until a specialist part was sourced. My aplogies for the incovenience caused by this breakdown.

Thank you again for your feedback. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Old Ship again in the future.

Kind regards
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Went to Brighton for the first time on a stag weekend and chose the hotel for location and price so before arriving my expectations was not high as i only wanted a bed for a few hours between drinking sessions. Well all i can say is if jmy expectations was high it would have still been met as i found the place the location and omre importantly the staff to be an absolute pleaseure from start to finish. Yes the place is old and of course maintanance must be ongoing on a large old building like this and if you looked hard enough you will be able to pick fault but thats ony if you are sad and got nothing else to do. this is a clean place with lots of character but what makes any place for me is the staff who here could not do enough for you! every one pleasant , helpful and had your best interests at heart all the time. This you will find from the top with the manager to Calre Sylvester to Racheal on the reception and the lovely women at breakfasts how starts your day with a warm glow. Speaking of breakfast you cant fault it !!
This is not the Grand but it is not Grand prices and to be honest I would be here any day. if it is a clean warm welcoming hotel with a great central location then look no further.
Well done Old Ship and more so well done to the staff that make the place.
Regards a bunch from nottingham on a stag party

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thanks Frank - what a FANTASTIC review! And to think me and Rachael even get a special mention!

So pleased you and your fellow Stag weekenders had such a great stay in Brighton.

Dont leave it too long before you come back and see us again!

Kind Regards
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royston uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Arrived Friday afternoon to find no car park spaces available with the hotel. This wasn't a problem as the nearest car park 'the lanes' is v close! Downside is for 24 hrs £25! Overnight parking from 4pm -7/8am? £10.....
Our room was on the first floor 149 ... Accessed by a v old lift overlooking hotel du vin... Double bed which was fine as we were a mother-daughter on a friends Hen-do! Bathroom was a tad on the small size but the room itself was fine... Couldn't open the windows to let any fresh air in ... Both nights we had interrupted sleep even with earplugs in ... One from the firedoor banging outside the door and two from the amount of footfall from the street outside our window!!
Breakfast tho was great! The amount of choice was amazing... You could eat all the days food in one sitting!! I would go again just for the breakfast alone and location. Bar prices 2 drinks ..glass of rosé and j2o £9.30

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thanks for your review "WOW, what a breakfast!".....We certainly do offer the best Breakfast in town. Its particuarly good at a weekend, when we also have a Chef on Duty in the Restaurant freshly cooking Omlettes and Waffles to order.

I hope we see you back at the Old Ship again soon.

Regards
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing