We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't understand the bad reviews.”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I don't understand the bad reviews.”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

To be fair, I only stayed in the hotel to sleep and use the bar after a night out as this is my understanding of a hotel. 10 of us went on a fishing trip and I don't think any of us had any problems. The staff seemed friendly and were still very accommodating into the early hours at the bar. Trying to find a quiet hotel in a place like Brighton is a task in itself, and i didn't find it rowdy at all (including the several dozen martial artists hanging around after their competition. The rooms were nothing to shout about but worth the money and The lobby and bar itself are in good condition. As for food I have no idea as we were up at 5.30 am to check out and unfortunately breakfast starts at 6am.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iain t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for your review.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope that when you return you will be able to enjoy our great breakfast too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    799
    427
    171
    110
See reviews for
233
1,068
57
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed last Saturday and weren't sure what to expect given the reviews. We were pleasantly surprised, all the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was perfectly adequate with a new flat screen TV and all the amenities you would expect in a 4* hotel. Yes some parts are a little dated but that adds to the charm of the building. We had lunch in the bar which was freshly prepared and very good, they also serve proper draught bitter which is unusual these days. Breakfast was excellent - buffet style, a huge choice of both hot and cold. The lady running the breakfast room was very welcoming & could not of been nicer. Parking was available and made easy by the helpful attendant. Overall an enjoyable stay in a great location - we visit Brighton regularly and will stay here again. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BADGEREssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for your review.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My daughter booked a break for us to celebrate my 70th. We lost my son (her brother) last year and needed a complete change of scene. On arrival we were told we had been allocated a double room which was completely unacceptable as I am disabled, and our booking confirmation clearly showed twin room.After much protestation we were moved to a lovely twin room with sea view.They accommodated my hired mobility scooter no problem.After a traumatic start,everything was good and we were able to cope quite well with our bereavement for a few days.Excellent location to visit attractions in Brighton.Good breakfast choices.I would not want to stay when stag/hen parties are rampant at weekends.Car park attendant very helpful although we were not parking there. I would go again if I were allocated the same twin room.Possibly best for mature people.

Room Tip: Twin room with sea views exceeded expectations - I would not visit Friday to Sunday as I am told (se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethel698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry we did not get your initial booking correct but pleased we were able to resolve and exceed your expectations.

Brighton is a lively cosmopolitan destination and enjoyed reading your fair comments in the room tips sections.

As my nan-in-law would say - "you are never to young to enjoy life!"

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We just spent a weekend at the Old Ship Hotel on Brighton Promenade and overall it was not an entirely succesful experience.

We stayed in 5 rooms and 4 of them had problems - nothing major (locks and TVs wouldn't work, no hot water etc.) However I felt we spent the weekend constantly at the reception desk with one problem or another. The staff were excellent but they spend all their time holding together the hotel's crumbling infrastructure. You started to doubt that any part of the hotel would actually work. On the other hand the food was good, particularly breakfast.

The Old Ship is meant to be 4 stars. On this showing I doubt it is really a 3 star. Rooms on the front have a lovely view, but it is very noisy at 3 o'clock in the morning - take ear-plugs!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, avoid the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your review which I will look into further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were a party of 12 with six rooms booked over a month ago for Saturday night. When we arrived at 4pm we were told that their reservations team had marked down that we had been told that the hotel was over booked and we had been moved to another hotel (The Dury Inn).The Dury Inn is not on the sea front it overlooks the train station and is more like a travel lodge than the 4star advertised Old Ship hotel.

We had not been told. Not one person out of the 12 of use (they had all of our details) had been told about this until we arrived there to check in. On top of this we had the money taken from our account 2 days before charged to The Old Ship. We were then told that there wouldn’t be anyone of authority who we could speak to on compensating us for this nightmare. The whole reason we booked that hotel was because it was in walking distance to the places we wanted to visit.

On top of this we were made to feel as though it was our problem, not theirs. They booked taxis before we had even asked them to just to get rid of us and huffed when we said we were not ready to leave as we had not sorted anything out.

I am absolutely disgusted that this level of service still exists. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
It is dissapointing to read your review.

Your rooms were booked in September and your agent (who does not pass on contact details) was fully informed and advised us that the booker from your party was also informed.

Whilst I fully understand the frustration this may have caused the manner in which your groups excessive and agressive demands were put accross made an impossible situtation to resolve on the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We didn't actually stay at The Old Ship but I was impressed by the service. I was called a couple of days before our stay to say there was an oversight and the hotel was over booked. We were sent to the Jurys Inn by the station in a higher priced room at no extra cost. Mistakes happen sometimes but we were very satisfied with their solution.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JollyGoodHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your review.

It is always most regretable that we need to bookout our guests and assure you that if ever we need to we will do the best we can to ensure the guests are relocated to a hotel we are confident with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed here last night, and enjoyed very much. Room was fine, service and staff was what you expect in a 4star, breakfast was well presented buffet style. Would definitely stay again. Only thing is they need larger and more modern lifts

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are currently looking at updating the lifts however due to the age of the building larger lifts are not an option.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing