We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star!!! Really???”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Arrived Friday afternoon to be greeted by a very helpful and friendly lady on reception. Check in was quick and easy and we were given directions to our room (405) Luckily there were still places available in the hotel's carpark which at £23 per day seemed expensive but is about the same as everywhere else in Brighton.
Our room which was along the side of the hotel overlooking The Thistle, was very dark and looked very tired and worn out. The furniture had seen better days, the carpet was a bit grim, the paintwork was chipped and marked and the edges of the wallpaper were curling up/coming away from the wall. The room was so dark you needed all four lamps on to be able to read and even then it was almost impossible as the bulbs they had used were so dim. Although on the face of it the bathroom looked fairly clean, the grouting in the tiles around the bath was very grubby - someone needs to get a brush and some bleach and give it a good scrub!! Basically the room certainly wasn't what you would expect from a 4 star hotel!!
The breakfast was fairly good, with the normal offerings of cereals, fruit, pastries, toast, bread etc etc. my only gripe would be that the cooked breakfast items were at best only luke warm - disappointing to say the least! People leaving the lids open didn't help matters either. The dining room staff were all very helpful and friendly.
We got a good deal for our break through Booking.com, and only paid £168 for the 3 nights including breakfast, it definitely wasn't worth a penny more than that.
Would we go back? Probably not; unless the room we were given was a vast improvement on Room 405.

Room Tip: Don't have Room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YummyMummy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you for your eview following your stay at the Old Ship Hotel.

We contunally strive to ensure all our guests are happy and am sorry you seem dissapointed with your stay.

In 2013 we will commence our upgrade plans for the hotel and hope we can welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,195 - 2,201 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Old Ship hotel in Brighton, we were very impressed with the hotel.
It was spacious, clean, well appointed with all of the added extras you like, en-suite, TV, tea making facilities, trouser press, iron, ironing board and hair dryer.
we had a full cooked breakfast and you could also help yourself to the buffet,which was very nice.
The hotel is in a prime sea front location which is handy for the beach, the pier and the shops and bars with the Lanes being a short walk away.
It was a lovely break just before christmas and got a bit of christmas shopping done whilst we were there great location with vibrant shops.
Even though we got the hotel on a special deal, I would consider going back at the normal price.
We didnt eat in the resturant we went down the road to a fab American diner well recommended.
The only negative thing about the trip is the £25 you have to pay to park at the hotel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Arrived late on Friday night to explore brighton on Saturday. The reception guys greeted is very warmly. As we went to our room we got a little lost and it seemed the floor boards creaked more and more the further away from the lift we got, but no great problem and made my girlfriend and I both laugh. Sleep time came and when we tried to open window or turn ceiling fan on, neither would budge so a quick trip to reception, who explained that they had trouble with smokers leaning out the windows some rooms had the windows sealed shut. The receptionist moved us to another room, really wish I had got his name cos this guys customer service skills go above and beyond the expected... Slept in our new room like a pair of New.born Babies. Woke up and used the shower which was fantastically hot and high pressure. Checked out with no fuss and ready to take on whatever brighton has to show us. Fantastic hotel would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jampot86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My wife recently took me to The Old Ship hotel in Brighton for my birhday. It was a surprise and she didn't tell me the details until we got to Brighton. I was so impressed I had to review the hotel. We stayed a couple of nights and after checking in were very pleased to find that the hotel had given us a seaview room at the front of the hotel, room 116. It was spacious, clean, well appointed with all of the added extras you like, en-suite, TV, tea making facilities, trouser press, iron, ironing board and hair dryer. In addition the hotal had put a bottle of wine and a card on the dresser for us to enjoy before going out. It was a decent one too, and showed to me that they had given it some thought and that a cheap bottle wasn't good enough. The room also had a small balcony which you could stand out on and enjoy the fresh air and views. The staff were all pleasant and knew their jobs from the reception through to the dining room, all were good and as you would hope. The breakfasts were first class with a huge selection at the help yourself buffet. The hotel is in a prime sea front location which is handy for the beach, the pier and the shops and bars with The Lanes being a short walk away. It really was a lovely couple of days and even though my wife got this hotel on a special deal, I would consider going back at the normal price. If you can spot a deal though, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Major_Jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Major_Jb

Thank you for your review and am so pleased you were impressed with us.

I will pass on your comments to the team and am pleased you enjoyed the wine and the upgrade.

Our passion at the hotel is to ensure that every guest enjoys their stay and where possible ensure that special occassions are celebrated too.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I just stayed one night in the Old Ship. At reception I was greeted by a lovely lady who was very friendly and helpful. However when she gave me my room key she did not explain the strange hotel lay out so I spent 10 minutes trying to find my room, only to find out there are two sections of floor 4 which do not connect! The room itself: stains on the furniture and carpet. Wall paper peeling off the walls and thick dust on the top of the tiles in the bathroom. To say the room décor was 80's, tired and dated would be a kindness. On the plus side the room had an iron and ironing board which was needed as I was staying for business and needed to iron my shirt. Breakfast - there is a good choice and its all self service. The restaurant itself is as the rooms, tired, stained and soulless. I would say that for one night it was adequate but I would not recommend this hotel to anyone staying more than one night as it would get depressing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonk1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Jonk1966

Thank you for your review which I was dissapointed to read. I have fed your comments to my Front of House Manager to ensure further training is given and apologise for this and the high dust you found in the bathroom.

Since changing to Puma hotels we have been make plans for this year for a refurbishment of our bedrooms and hope you will give us the opporunity to show you our new bedrooms when complete.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed there for one night, we just wanted somewhere cheap for the night. We read the reviews and were not expecting much, but at £55, this hotel was great. We had been in the Ship many years ago (for a drink) and it is much improved. Our room was spacious and clean with a nice comfy bed.
The only draw back is the noise. But you can't blame the hotel for all the revellers walking past after closing time. If this is a problem, you might want to ask for a bedroom higher up (we were on the second floor) or maybe around the back or facing the centre of the hotel (however, you won't have much of a view - but who needs a view when you can just go out on the seafront?)
We didn't have breakfast as there are plenty of great Cafes in Brighton.
All staff were pleasant enough and they looked after our luggage till we left.
All in all, very good experience and would go there again if we needed a hotel for the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear if you want a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderingMinstrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear WonderingMinstrels

Thank you ever so much for your review.

I am keen to ensure that we price our rooms accordingly within the Brighton Market to ensure all guests feel they had great value for money.

Being at the centre of the cosmopolitan city of Brighton we are at the heart of it all which does sometimes mean outside revellers disturb guests within the hotel. As a listed building it is not as simple as installing double glazing however I am pleased to confirm that our sample refurbishment bedrooms are due to commence. As part of this we are investing heavily into acoustic glass which if proves successful will be rolled out to other bedrooms in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We got a great deal at the Old Ship, and it is contiuning to improve as part of the 'puma' group.
We stayed in a basic room at the side ot the hotel. The furniture had been refurbished and is of a high standard. The staff are super friendly and breakfast was excellent .
We stay at the' Grand' a couple of times a year, and prices are double.
Well done to the new management team, we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxwellanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you for your review.

Where possible internal works have been carried out by my own maintenance team and are pleased you have seen a difference in such a short time. In the new year we commence our trial bedrooms which will then follow with our full refurbishment.

Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
870 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £55 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing