We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Ship Hotel”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at the hotel, the staff were welcoming and courteous, and the location is excellent, right on the sea front and near the centre of Brighton, so everything was nearby
Many thanks for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,087 - 2,093 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel last year, and very much enjoyed our stay. We were lucky enough to get a sea view room again, and the room was spacious and comfortable. There were one or two places that could use some TLC - the wallpaper was bubbling near the wardrobe, and the bathroom had a couple of dodgy areas. But really, considering the age of the Hotel (and all the restrictions a listed building has on any improvements), they seem to be doing quite well. The bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, and the linen and towels nice and clean. These are, I think, the most important things.
That and the sumptuous breakfast. Lovely, helpful staff - missed the lady who runs Breakfast this year, as she is away for health reasons - but her Grandaughter is doing a great job looking after it. Breakfast is a help yourself affair, and there is so much to choose from. Something for every taste. Great value.
All in all a great weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveBrighton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to confirm that Gillian is now back at work but will pass on your comments regarding Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My partner arranged for his parents and grandparents to stay at the old ship hotel for two nights last Thursday/Friday. The hotel has a fair reputation and prices are about the same as other other hotels on the beach front. As it was a special occasion (his parents anniversary), we rang the hotel the night before to ensure everything was confirmed and ready for their arrival and the receptionist told us she would put a note on the booking.

Hotel front - The hotel front is impressive, but this is the best thing about the hotel, the customer service and decor are not worth the money.

Arrival - my partner's parents and grandparents checked in and nothing was said said about their anniversary, not one word of congratulations.

Decor - the hotel was old, damp and shabby. The furniture was thread bare and there were buckets dotted about to catch the water leaking through the roof.

Breakfast - the breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful. My partner's parents and grandparents were very happy with the breakfast offered.

Rooms - generally old and threadbare. The rooms felt more like a 2 star hotel, if that. My partner's dad said he placed his toiletries bag on the window sill as there was no other shelving in the bathroom and the next morning the whole bag was soaked through; the rain had leaked through the window seal all over the sill.

Bar - the bar is comfortable enough, however any future guests should check the wine menu carefully. It is cheaper to buy 3 250ml glasses of wine than 1 750ml bottle. When we mentioned this to the barman, he just chuckled at us.

Check out - my partner's dad mentioned the leaking window and his soaked toiletries bag to the receptionist on check out. Where a reasonable response would have been to assure the guest that maintenance would attend to the fault, the receptionist said nothing and moved on to the next guest without any acknowledgement of the complaint.

We have friends and family visiting us all all the time, but we will not be recommending this hotel to anyone, especially when there are plenty of other beachfront hotels in brighton as well as some lovely b&bs. At best, this is a 2 star hotel masquerading as a 4 star.

Room Tip: If you want to get any sleep, ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Although a sea view is attrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your review. I assure you we are four star rated and am unsure as to where you felt the furniture in the public areas was old and threadbare. We have had a leak in the terracotta lounge in two places but 1 bucket in each does the job.

I was particularly saddended to read your review as I got the impression you did not stay. The leak you mentioned is being investigated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have stayed here many times before. But we now feel it maybe the last. The hotel to us is letting its standards drop. The rooms are now quite shabby and need decorating. Bathroom is very old plus taps were leaking and could just about turn them off also the shower head was broken.Light bulbs need replacing. Double glazing missing which you need for the noise at Am in the morning from the club opposite.one good point. Was very pleased with the head of housekeeping lady. I asked if they had softer pillows. She said she would do her best to find one for me. When we got back to our room she had left two with a lovely little note saying hope we enjoy our sleep!. Breakfast time we always find the full English which is help your self is not very nice.We love Brighton but think until this hotel gets up to the standard it used to be we will be staying else where.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladydigby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your review and am sorry you would not return.

Our refurbishment is planned to commence in June and have 31 rooms in phase 1

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband & I stayed at The Old Ship Hotel on 10th April. The reception was nice & warm & welcoming. The room we stayed in was 257, it was very cold, I went & complained & when we came back from a night out there was another duvet & heater so the room was nice & warm. The bathroom left a lot to be desired, it was very cold, under the sink was a leak so every time you used it the floor was soaking wet, taking a shower was very hit & miss, the temperature went from freezing cold to red hot in seconds, pretty dangerous really, also the window in bathroom was covered with mould & fungus. The room was very tired & dated, could do with updating. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwinaB985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your review and am sorry you would not return.

Our refurbishment is planned to commence in June and have 31 rooms in phase 1

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Excellent place for a short break - fantastic location right on the front, lots of history but the rooms are bang up to date for modern convenience. Hotel staff were very helpful and breakfast was self service but there was plenty of choice and lots of it. Very close to the Laines and also has a good inhouse restaurant. The only downside was the noise at night - lots of revellers outside, but thats what you get for being so close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for your great review and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
864 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 43 in Brighton
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £50 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing