We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for short stay but noisy”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A good clean hotel with friendly and attentive staff. Breakfast is good and plentiful. Ok for a few nights but would hesitate to book for a longer stay due to outside noise levels.ideal location a must try is the American diner next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as any near the front are subject to noise throughout the night from reve...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drummondstornoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Many thanks for your review.

Being in the centre of Brighton we do, like so many hotels, face challenges of the external noise. As part of our refurbishment programme new glazing has been tested and now installation has commenced to part of the hotel.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,204)
There are newer reviews for The Old Ship Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,873 - 1,879 of 2,207 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Lovely Bank holiday weekend spent in Brighton Stayed at the Old Ship hotel on the sea front, lovely clean hotel hte staff are so friendly and helpful, our room was a bit on the small side but bearing in mind we didn't really spend a lot of time in there it was fine the bed was so comfortable and the pillows lovely best nights sleep we've had in ages, i would say if you are staying and want a sea view be prepared for the night time noise along the sae front, we had a back room with no view but a great nights sleep so the view isn't everything,
we ate at the hotel on the sunday when we arrived, we sat out on the patio overlooking the sea front very good pricing (also room service menu same price no extra) very impressed with this,

Breakfast was great the choice was very good, cooked breakfast, cerals, fresh fruit, pastries, bread, juices, tea and coffees.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razzmapolitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for your great review and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel when visiting the Brighton Fringe and picked the hotel due to its great location and good online reviews.

The choice turned out to be the right one. The room was very comfy, a decent size and overlooking the beach.

More importantly was the excellent service I received from Mike on the front desk. I was performing that afternoon and wanted to check in early so I could dump my bags and get changed. Mike made it happen at short notice and every time I encountered him during my stay, was polite, professional, and a complete pleasure to deal with.

It's often the staff that make a hotel stand out and this was certainly the case here.

Thank you Mike and the Old Ship for my stay, and I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for your excellent review and am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and Mike was able to assist.

Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Arrived 22.05.13 for two nights - on arrival we were upgraded to rooms with sea views....! Our rooms were admittedly tired, but very clean & comfortable - we also had bath robes for our use.
Now to the Steak on the Sea restaurant - we were very wary (having read all the reviews) but thought we would give it a go, and we were so pleased that we did...! James and the team were extremely attentive and the food was excellent. Admittedly we didn't have a steak but I am sure it would have been great if we had opted for one. The food was so good that we ate there again the following evening. The Hotel has been taken over by the Puma group - they have changed the menu and we were told that they are about to redecorate the hotel bedrooms. The breakfasts are excellent - with so much choice and full English option - all you can eat...! The garage was very convenient but expensive at £23 per day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Many thanks for your review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant. We have recently made changes and continue to do so, Bedroom Refurbishment and some exterior works have already started.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Stay at the old ship a week ago, and it is very creeks and old fashioned! The location is perfect however the room are too hot there was no cold running water in my 5th floor room, the window wouldn't open and the shower was pathetic!
All this said there were some good points too. The maintenance man was really helpful and brought me a room fan and the other staff were really helpful too!
The breakfast was good even if the bacon was microwaved and the bar was reasonably priced!
Over all if your staying for 1 night it's fine if your going the Brighton for longer stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for your review.

Window replacement starts this week to a large number of the rooms. Together with this we are installing acoustic glass to reduce the noise from late night revellers.

I am unsure why you had no hot water and am investigating this further. We do not microwave our bacon and sorry if you felt this.

Kind regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Being the oldest hotel in Brighton it can look a little run down but I think that adds to its appeal. Our room was fine with what we expected and the service was very good. It was also really central for our stay in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golden70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for your review.

As we are now part of the Puma Hotels Collection I am pleased to confirm that our refurbishment works start in June.

I hope your will return and see the difference both inside and out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I had forgotten I had stayed here 2 years ago and had found the hotel to be in desperate need of an overhaul. Sadly nothing much has changed although the location on the seafront is great.
Some work seems to have been carried out in the immediate reception area and they were painting in the bar but beyond that the corridors and rooms needed a good deal of refreshment . Towels and linen were fine but at £80 for room only this wasn't good value especially as the bar closed at 11 pm.
The overall impression was not good, so much so that I did not even consider breakfast. This is not 4 star accommodation .

Room Tip: Mine was a standard room . I'm assuming others are better.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for your review.

Phase 1 of our refurbishment plans now starts in June and hope you will return then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £55 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing