We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great location, right on top of the sea front! Bit old fashioned but then I like modern hotels! It's definitely got character :) Great breakfast too! Had a choice from full english or continental, its was a buffet so could get both! ;)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review.

Being the oldest hotel in Brighton we have heaps of character which makes us completely individual.

I hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,733 of 2,249 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had my room paid for my husband and I as a thank you from my work. We were really looking forward to getting away from home for the night, but really wish I stayed at home and not wasted the train fare.

The check it was pretty effortless, with no communication really from the reception team. Once we went into our room we found that the furniture does not fit into the room, as the room is tiny, with a really shabby bathroom.

Our room, 329, overlooked the entrance of Hotel Du Vin in a side street, which we didn't think a problem as off the main street. How wrong we were.

We came back to the hotel around Midnight, and then were kept awake till 4.30 by the revellers, and then along came the dustcart to empty the bottle bins etc.

I think my husband and I had around 1 hour of unbroken sleep. When we checked out and told of our concerns to the reception team, their answer was "oh yea, there are 4 clubs around here that tend the chuck out at the same time, then they all come here for food, so it does get noisy". Why the heck aren't guests told about this?

Wont be staying here again, yes it central to the Lanes, and central Brighton, but the noise puts us off every staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you were disturbed by outside noise and dissapointed you did not like our newly refurbished bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have just come back from this hotel having been booked in for business with a colleage.
After reading the awful reviews I was more than a little apprehensive about staying there. I can honestly say I have stayed in a lot worse hotels. The seafront position is excellent. The staff were friendly. The room was clean and o.k. (even though I overlooked the bins at the back)

Breakfast could have been a little hotter and you had to make loads of trips back to your table. I think cups etc would be better positioned on the table.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Many thanks for your review and I hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent a night at The Old Ship hotel on a Monday night whilst seeing a concert nearby. The hotel is easy to find, right on the sea front, with the hotel’s car park entrance located just along the side – it’s valet parking (due to the very low capacity) and clearly Brighton commands premium rate parking charges - £23 per night even for hotel guests – nearby car parks are a similar tariff. If you’re arriving by train it’d be around 15-20 minute walk downhill from the station.

The check in process was quick and efficient, and we went to our room. It was nice and clean, with a bathroom and separate toilet with a freezing cold tiled floor.

The room had a large flatscreen TV, coffee making facilities, and a trouser press.

Breakfast was absolutely fantastic, with a selection of cereals, juices, pastries and fruit, but the highlight was the cooked breakfast.

We weren’t bothered with any street noise, but it was a weeknight, and we had a rear facing (no view!) room. The hotel is an old building, and the lift being a ‘classic’ design…if you visit the hotel you’ll see what I mean! If using the stairs there are many firedoors, and a few unexpected steps!

It’s not the cheapest of stays, but the close proximity to shopping and concert venues makes it worth it. If you’re planning on staying in Brighton for a concert, shopping or just sightseeing the hotel is perfectly located.

We’d definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: rear facing - if you can be without a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meloquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for one night in Oct.I can honestly say it's the worst night in a hotel I have ever had. Room 143 which is a superior room & we paid around £140. The noise from 11pm onwards is unbelievable,at around 5am you then have the street cleaning and emptying of bins. We complained and were told as its a listed building the Windows are single glazed. I would say there must be some gaps in the Windows to as the blinds were blowing backwards & forwards all night.

As for the rest of the hotel,bar staff quite put out to serve you and miserable.Breakfast was a joke as not much available as the staff would jump the queue to help themselves,and the staff replenishing it are unable to say excuse me or even acknowledge you are there at all.

All in all would never stay here again it would be the queens every time for me.

Room Tip: Do not choose 143
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for your disspointing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Really did enjoyed our stay at the old ship hotel,on a special deal. Our room was at the back of the hotel and we had two great nights sleep. Breakfast and evening meal were very tasty and staff very helpful and friendly with great service from everyone. We did not choose to upgrade on our deal as we were on a budget, so no surprises to find our room was rather dated and shabby!! but it was clean and all amenities were available. We would definitely return and probably upgrade!!

Room Tip: Upgrade!! if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel was nice enough, not impressive but ok. You're definitely paying for the seafront location.

However, if you're planning on a good night's sleep don't bother! There are pubs and night clubs down the side of the hotel (where our room was) and the noise goes on for hours, around 3/4 am but then the clean up crew start about 6.30! Our friends were staying at the front and they said it was extremely noisy there too. The problem is the very old single glazed windows. We're not old, all in our thirties, weren't back until well after midnight and had all had a few drinks but obviously not enough to sleep.

Also, the cooked breakfast really wasn't great.

The staff however were all very cheery and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz-Lymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for your review. All external rooms in the hotel are double glazed with the exception of Ship Street. We are currently awaiting a decision from the council for planning permission to change these to double glazed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £58 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing