We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Customer Service!”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude Customer Service!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I checked in to a room on the 3rd floor to find the door locked from the inside and un openable. The lady was nice and escorted me back upstairs where she too found it to be locked for some reason from the inside. She told me that house keeping needed to be called to handle this and that they wouldn't be in till tomorrow morning. I asked for a room change and to please not have it near the lift as I had specified originally. She assured me that this wouldn't be a problem and gave me a room on the fifth floor. (504) I took the lift back up only to find that it is the first room next to the elevator. When I called back down things started to get funny. She said she'd only been working here 3 months and she doesn't know the layout of the hotel yet. (Huh?) Too tired to carry my bags back down the tiny / scary lift, I just settled for the room. Next... I try to log on to the internet on my iPhone 5s and it keeps telling me that my name is an invalid character. When I call down I get a fellow by the name of JAMES PETTIT or something close to that. He tells me that I'm wrong and if I want the internet I have to come see him. At this point I tell him, "I am having a bad check in experience" (but used a profane word that rhymes with [---] and I'm coming down. When I get down he tells me that If I use the word "[---]" in the hotel again, I will be asked to leave and find a different hotel!!! (WOW) - saying nothing I just hand him the phone and tell him to figure it out since he's the curse free expert. He struggles for at least 10 mins and realizes he gave me the wrong instructions to log on. It's only once I tell him that I will be writing this review he starts to act halfway normal and starts to treat me like I'm a guest. Please keep in mind, I'm a musician with a baseball cap on, it's clear this isn't the treatment a person with a suit on would receive. I finally am back in my shotty 4 star room listening to the floor creaking and dealing with no outlets to plug anything in. NEVER COMING BACK HERE AGAIN. And people whatever you do, don't say the word, "[---]" in this "establishment"

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
It was dissapointing to read your review. The manner in which you spoke to them had made them nervous however we accepted the apology from your colleague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    799
    427
    171
    110
See reviews for
233
1,068
57
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

In the perfect spot on the seafront - telescopes in sea view rooms
Ideal to access the beach, the shops and restaurants
A bit tired looking but the staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful
Wouldn't take much to lift to a very good hotel given the professionalism of the staff

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

We have refurbished 32 bedrooms and a further 48 will start in the new year. This is part of our ongoing plan for full refurbishment of the hotel since becoming part of the Puma Hotel Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great location, right on top of the sea front! Bit old fashioned but then I like modern hotels! It's definitely got character :) Great breakfast too! Had a choice from full english or continental, its was a buffet so could get both! ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

Being the oldest hotel in Brighton we have heaps of character which makes us completely individual.

I hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had my room paid for my husband and I as a thank you from my work. We were really looking forward to getting away from home for the night, but really wish I stayed at home and not wasted the train fare.

The check it was pretty effortless, with no communication really from the reception team. Once we went into our room we found that the furniture does not fit into the room, as the room is tiny, with a really shabby bathroom.

Our room, 329, overlooked the entrance of Hotel Du Vin in a side street, which we didn't think a problem as off the main street. How wrong we were.

We came back to the hotel around Midnight, and then were kept awake till 4.30 by the revellers, and then along came the dustcart to empty the bottle bins etc.

I think my husband and I had around 1 hour of unbroken sleep. When we checked out and told of our concerns to the reception team, their answer was "oh yea, there are 4 clubs around here that tend the chuck out at the same time, then they all come here for food, so it does get noisy". Why the heck aren't guests told about this?

Wont be staying here again, yes it central to the Lanes, and central Brighton, but the noise puts us off every staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you were disturbed by outside noise and dissapointed you did not like our newly refurbished bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have just come back from this hotel having been booked in for business with a colleage.
After reading the awful reviews I was more than a little apprehensive about staying there. I can honestly say I have stayed in a lot worse hotels. The seafront position is excellent. The staff were friendly. The room was clean and o.k. (even though I overlooked the bins at the back)

Breakfast could have been a little hotter and you had to make loads of trips back to your table. I think cups etc would be better positioned on the table.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Many thanks for your review and I hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent a night at The Old Ship hotel on a Monday night whilst seeing a concert nearby. The hotel is easy to find, right on the sea front, with the hotel’s car park entrance located just along the side – it’s valet parking (due to the very low capacity) and clearly Brighton commands premium rate parking charges - £23 per night even for hotel guests – nearby car parks are a similar tariff. If you’re arriving by train it’d be around 15-20 minute walk downhill from the station.

The check in process was quick and efficient, and we went to our room. It was nice and clean, with a bathroom and separate toilet with a freezing cold tiled floor.

The room had a large flatscreen TV, coffee making facilities, and a trouser press.

Breakfast was absolutely fantastic, with a selection of cereals, juices, pastries and fruit, but the highlight was the cooked breakfast.

We weren’t bothered with any street noise, but it was a weeknight, and we had a rear facing (no view!) room. The hotel is an old building, and the lift being a ‘classic’ design…if you visit the hotel you’ll see what I mean! If using the stairs there are many firedoors, and a few unexpected steps!

It’s not the cheapest of stays, but the close proximity to shopping and concert venues makes it worth it. If you’re planning on staying in Brighton for a concert, shopping or just sightseeing the hotel is perfectly located.

We’d definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: rear facing - if you can be without a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meloquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for one night in Oct.I can honestly say it's the worst night in a hotel I have ever had. Room 143 which is a superior room & we paid around £140. The noise from 11pm onwards is unbelievable,at around 5am you then have the street cleaning and emptying of bins. We complained and were told as its a listed building the Windows are single glazed. I would say there must be some gaps in the Windows to as the blinds were blowing backwards & forwards all night.

As for the rest of the hotel,bar staff quite put out to serve you and miserable.Breakfast was a joke as not much available as the staff would jump the queue to help themselves,and the staff replenishing it are unable to say excuse me or even acknowledge you are there at all.

All in all would never stay here again it would be the queens every time for me.

Room Tip: Do not choose 143
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your disspointing review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing