We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid in the winter”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid in the winter”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed for two nights and hated every minute. The parking was £23 per night, even as a resident. Handing my car keys to the valet was worrying considering if he damaged my car I was uninsured. I entered the hotel and checked in and was told second floor by reception. What they should have given me was a tour guide or a map and told me that once I got to the second floor via the lift, I'd have to navigate more stairs to get to my room anyway.
I opened the door to find the tiniest room I've ever seen in a four star hotel. The bathroom was that disgusting I actually shut the door when I got in there. The room was freezing cold and serviced only by a small radiator that was covered by the curtain so was near useless. I walked out of the room to warmth in the corridors which I thought was utterly ridiculous. I asked to be moved and was asked to return in half an hour??
I returned to my freezing cold room and decided to have a shower to warm up. Big mistake.
The water took a full five minutes to heat up to a warm enough temperature to get in. The floor was like an ice block and was only serviced by a tiny heated towel rail that was utterly unsuited to the size of the room too. I would say I had a quiet room apart from the tiny half width door that creaked everytime anyone passed through and past my door. If that was a quiet room I'd rather take my chances in a noisy one.
The only positive comment I can make about this hotel is the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good. I had it delivered to my room so I could stay in bed as long as possible due to the temperature of the room. I've stayed in many luxury hotels in my time and even a few nights in a budget one and my honest opinion is- never again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vexey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

Being an older hotel our rooms will vary in size and location of the rooms are querky.

I am unsure as to why you found the rooms cold and will investigate this further.

Thanks you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    799
    427
    171
    110
See reviews for
233
1,068
57
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Attended a wedding at this hotel, function rooms were amazing, hotel is quite historic with a lot of charm. We had a big room overlooking the seafront. The food and service at the wedding was very good. The breakfast was superb with every type of breakfast foods available. If we were in the area again I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your great review.

It was a pleasure to host the wedding and even better to read you enjoyed your stay too.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We chose the Old Ship Hotel as it was very close to the Brighton Centre where we were watching the Stereophonics concert in the evening. We did some shopping in 'The Lanes' during the day with lunch at one of the many pubs/restaurants located within easy walking distance.
Hotel was exceptional with great staff, good clean accommodation and breakfast was plenfiful and of good quality; you can't wish for anything more. We also took avantage of the valet parking which was cheaper than the NCP next door. The phonics were pretty damn good as well; best live band we've seen for ages.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Prezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review

It was a pleasure to read and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights whilst attending a wedding at the hotel. I read Trip Advisor before my stay, but the hotel was chosen for me and the wedding party, so I would have stayed there anyway. The hotel was well above my expectations after reading reports on TA. Without exception the staff in all areas were incredibly courteous. The room which overlooked the hotel Du Vin was Newley refurbished and was tasteful, small but perfect for a short stay. Breakfast was really good, it was buffet style, but everything on the hot buffet was perfectly cooked and warm.
The Paganini function room was incredibly atmospheric by candlelight and the food served at the wedding was of a very high quality. I would definitely stay here again and the management are to be congratulated for team who have obviously been trained to give excellent service & hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was a pleasure to host the wedding and delighted with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed on a two night dinner and afternoon tea deal in November. We paid a £30 surcharge for a Saturday night and also £20 to upgrade which was worth it as our room was lovely, and the bed supremely comfortable.

It is true there is no escaping the loud street noise in the early hours if your room hasn't got double glazing (as ours didn't). But we came prepared with good foam ear plugs, which worked a treat. Not romantic but a definite sleep saver.

The breakfast spread is fantastic, even if you're veggie. All hot ingredients were tasty and the entire offering was varied and plentiful. Afternoon tea was a delight! Partic when you have gorgeous blue skies and a sea view table as we did. Dinner has mixed reviews. The seabass and chips was great, the slow cooked beef less so. But still a pleasant experience. We found all the staff to be polite and efficient.

Location wise the hotel is perfect. Parking doesn't come cheap at £23 per night, but this is Brighton after all.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would do it again on a similar deal one day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfeet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your great review.

All seaview rooms are now double glazed and dissapointed you still heard the outsiders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
englishmanfrom london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I did not choose this Hotel but it has a great location and very friendly staff. I did not expect anything other than a noisy location but it is to be expected. The restaurant meal was very good and the breakfast exceptional choice, probably ate more than I wanted.
Parking is never cheap in Brighton but we did do the cheap skate thing and found somewhere to park for nothing on the second night.

Room Tip: those seeking a quiet nights sleep, upgrade to their best rooms with sea view(if budget allows) as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iexpect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The location is excellent but other reviewers have already pointed out that Brighton attracts noisy people. Arriving at 3pm on a cold November Saturday I asked for a quiet room at the back and was given one that was nice enough but overlooked an noisy airconditioning unit; also I noted that the room was cold. Reception staff were very helpful and allocated a different room that was indeed a lot quieter but still very cold.
Turned the radiator up full and after 30 minutes of it not getting any hotter I called reception and they sent up an electric radiator; which helped. The following morning the fixed radiator was boiling hot; which proves that the heating system works well but they had turned it off during the daytime. This is a Four Star hotel and at the prices they charge they should ensure that all the rooms are warm for guests arriving in the afternoon.
The breakfast buffet was excellent; the staff were all really pleasant and friendly and the hotel itself is charming when compared with the corporate bland modernity of the Thistle next door. Get the heating system working in cold weather and I will be more than happy to go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in status, quality and price; discuss it when booking and ask for one that is both quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antloneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review. I am unsure why you experience cold radiators but can assure you now all is up and running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing