We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 Day Christmas Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“3 Day Christmas Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for the Christmas break 24th-27th December 2013. The hotel is in a great position along the sea front. The hotel is very old and some parts could do with a bit of TLC, but lovely all the same. The staff were fantastic, cheerful and very accommodating. The food was very good and plenty of it. We enjoyed the entertainment - bingo/quiz on Christmas evening and dinner and disco boxing night. Would definitely recommend. I will point out one bad point - The car park - even though you are a resident in the hotel you have to pay £ 23.00 per night. I would suggest you go on the website parkatmyhouse as we used this for our parking space which was a 5-10min walk from the hotel at a cost of £ 13.00 per night. Overall we had a superb Christmas and would definitely do again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay

Can I take this opportunity to wish you a very happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    775
    419
    164
    109
See reviews for
227
1,037
56
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel in Brighton based on the 4 star rating and it's location. Upon arrival it have the impression of being halfway through refurbishment. Scaffolding covers the entire west side of the hotel which is unfortunately the side our room was on so we had a view through green debris netting, also making the room very dark. As we stayed over a weekend the noise from the street was terrible and we were unable to sleep.
Apart from this the hotel was quirky, clean and comfortable enough. The room can best be described as adequate with nothing particularly exciting about it. The staff were polite enough and that's the most I can say about them. Not bad but unlikely to stay there again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jay9432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

New windows are currently being fitted which is why we have the scaffolding in place at the present.

Can I take this opportunity to wish you a very happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here on the 20th Dec for pre christmas treat. Booked superior sea view room on 4th floor and was not dissapointed. The view was amazing and the room was lovely, really comfy bed and lovely spacious bathroom. The room had everything we needed plus mineral water,fluffy bathrobes and slippers. The staff were friendly and very helpful, lots of smiling faces and enthusiastic about their jobs. Breakfast was amazing, lots of choice buffet style and hot food was constantly replenished with fresh items. I would definitely return to this hotel again. Well done to all the staff who worked so cheerfully over the christmas period!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor if you do not want to be disturbed by noise from late night reveller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candylugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay

Can I take this opportunity to wish you a very happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We decided for the first time to go away for Christmas and let somebody else do all the work. We chose The Old Ship as we new it from the past and went with an open mind.
We booked the 3 day package and we were very impressed with the room, food, entertainment and quality of service.
In fact we said if we decide to do the same thing in the future it would be the Old Ship again.

Room Tip: We chose a room at the back to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raymondcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

I was so pleased to read you had a great stay.

Can I take this opportunity to wish you a very happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Christmas at The Old Ship Hotel. absolutely fabulous. The Staff were exceptional, having given up there Christmas to make ours so enjoyable. The restaurant team, headed by Jonathan were very organised and the service was outstanding. The hotel with its history had a few quirks but in the end this added to our enjoyment. The chef surpassed himself with original food well executed and in my opinion achieved the correct balance for every meal. The only complaint was that the chef de cuisine did not appear to take a bow on the night of the gala dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your christmas break.

Can I take this opportunity to wish you a very happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byfleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean. The staff were amazing. The rooms are a good size although it was blowing a gale outside so the windows were quite noisy. We would definatly stay again.we got a very good package deal through amazon local. This included a 3 coarse meal with wine, which was good quality, also breakfast which was also exellent quality.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

Can I take this opportunity to wish you a very happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

A lovely old characterful hotel on the seafront. Check in was very efficient and quick and every member of staff that we encountered during our stay was extremely polite and friendly. The public rooms were all very comfortable and attractive and the bedrooms / bathroom were very well appointed although a little tired.....but this did not detract from the overall feel of the hotel. Everywhere was absolutely spotless. Breakfast was probably one of the best I have ever had in a hotel chain.....almost too much choice and everything very fresh....even on the Monday morning that we were there on. As the weather outside was horrendous we could have happily stayed in the breakfast room all day ! We did upgrade to get a sea front room as we had heard that the hotel rooms at the side could be noisy....but even doing this the stay was superb value for money and we will definitely be going back - hopefully when the weather improves !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cal9Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

Can I take this opportunity to wish you a very happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing