We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I have just experienced a night away from the children in the Old Ship Hotel Brighton. The underground secure car park with valet parking was a lovely, reasonably priced service. The hotel itself is well located. We had a premium room with three windows offering great sea views. The window sill was dirty and the full length balcony doors needed cleaning as they were smeared with fingerprints. The hotel staff were very friendly especially the restaurant staff. Food was lovely. The bed was not very comfortable. We stayed on a Thursday night and were kept awake with the noise of a night club until 5 in the morning. The base was continuous and made for a long and uncomfortable nights lack of sleep! The exact opposite of what we wanted, hoping to catch up on sleep without the children. If it wasn't for the noise and from the really busy road outside we would return, however we will look for a hotel with a quieter location next time. I had a sore back from the mattress in the morning.

Room Tip: at the back of the hotel away from the road and night clubs near by - but you will have to trade thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review

I am sorry you found the bed uncomfortable. I do hope you called down to our 24hour reception when you heard the sound of the club. My nights team will automatically call the local authorities if any noise distrubance is caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    815
    443
    175
    112
See reviews for
238
1,095
59
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It was a hot room so had to open a window only to discover there s a 24 hour work place opposit and was really noisy all night the bed was really uncomfy and the bath well I wouldn't bath my dog in there !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

Im not sure what the 24hour services you have refered to in your review

Please contact me so I can investigate further

Many thanks

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have just spent a couple of days at the Old Ship Hotel in Brighton. The hotel is in a great location. This is our second stay and we had a great time. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. As we love the sea, we have booked sea views on both occasions and have not been disappointed. We also opted to include breakfast with our stay which had a good choice and the cooked options were very good. Next time we get to Brighton, we shall book one of the rooms that have been recently refurbished which we have been told are the Superior rooms.

We have have now stayed at most of the seafront hotels in Brighton, but have now decided that The Old Ship is our preferred choice for our visits..

Room Tip: The rooms only have double beds in so would now request zip-up beds next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Carole

Many thanks for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. All the superior bedrooms that have been refurbished all have 5ft Kingsize beds. Currently the majority of the seaview rooms are 4ft 6" beds but as our refurbishment continues 5ft beds will be introduced.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vorden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Before booking at this hotel we did read some mixed reviews, some postive and some a bit less possitive. Last few visits to Brighton hotels haven't all been a massvie succes, but the price of the hotel and its location made us choose for this hotel. (during our visit we payed a little less than you normally pay for a room, due to refurbishmentwork going on at the hotel, but this didn't bother us)

When we first entered our room we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean and spacious. We could even see the sea and the Brighton Pier.
The breakfast was very good. It was fresh, well presented and it tasted well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WernerSchroer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your great review and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I used this hotel to stay in Brighton while working in Brighton. I used my room to work in the evening and sleep at night. It is in a great location, and the staff seemed nice. Thats about all the good I can say about it.

Sleeping - Lots of banging at night, the first night i couldn't sleep because of the banging and what sounded like something being dragged accross the floor above me. This went on from 01:30 till around 05:00. The second night was a little better, but still lots of banging and I could hear the lift everytime somebody used it.

Food - If you do have to stay here, don't eat here, the food is very substandard. I made the mistake of eating the first night i was there and i wasn't too well after! The day before I checked out, i heard the hotel manager talking to another guest about how an environmental health officer had been called in. I checked out that day and move to another hotal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecomputerman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
I have sent a message asking you for further information to investigate your allegations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great location on the sea front and one of the oldest hotels in Brighton.

We stayed for one night when visiting Brighton.

Read the mixed reviews on trip advisor before staying there and probably agree with them but i found the hotel quite endearing overall.

All staff i encountered were friendly, efficient and helpful.

Our hotel room whilst comfortable did feel a little "institutionalised", i.e. like a hospital private room or student dorm. I think it just reflected the age of the building and whilst i read that there has been a refurb on parts of the hotel, assume this is still work in progress.

Again based on previous reviews, i was pleased to be placed at the back of the hotel to avoid the noise. Unfortunately it wasnt the noise from the street that kept us awake. Firstly the room was incredibly stuffy, but after finally being able to turn the heating off and get the windows open (old style sash windows which i dont think had been opened in years), we were then kept awake by the creaking fire door in the corridor outside of our room which people were going through continuously most of the night. Finally got to sleep at about 4 only to be woken up by what sounded like a fight in the corridor followed by an emotional reconciliation.

So rather tired and grumpy, I was ready to leave the hotel straight away in the morning and head home but my partner persuaded me to get the breckfast we had paid for and thank goodness because it was excellent.

To put it into context, i have travelled a fair bit on business, used alot of hotels from 3 to 5 star in europe, us and asia and i can say without any doubt this was the best breckfast i have had both in choice and quality of ingredients.
Great selection of fruit and cold cuts. Fruit all fresh. It wasnt your usual plastic ham, but proper home cooked gammon.
Excellent selection of hot breckfast food, again decent butchers sausage rather than value ones.
Good selection of juices, teas, coffees, pastries etc
This was a good end to the trip and I left decidedly happier with my stay at the old ship than before.

Wouldnt rush back but if i am in Brighton again, I might pop in for breckfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesA8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear JamesElk888

Thank you for your review.

I can only presume that as you stayed in December that there may of been a few inconsiderate party guests that disturbed you. We have 24hour reception available if any guest do disturb you

It was great to read your review about breakfast

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We are just back home after a wonderful two night stay at the old ship.
It was my wife's birthday and they made us feel so welcome, choc's and a
card in our room when we arrived, that was was a lovely touch.
We had our dog louis with us and they made him feel really welcome to.
Will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eamonn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear eamonn g

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing