We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good place to stay”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed Friday and Saturday night and luckily the weather was wonderful. The hotel is old, and it's nice to see that they haven't modernised everything. I had read a few reviews though and so I called the hotel to request a refurbished room. The room was lovely, we ended up in an 'accessible' room and it had a walk in shower/wet room, it was spacious and uncluttered. Only complaint I'd have about our room was the very creaky floor which meant I woke my partner up when I went to the loo in the night. Can't really justify that as a complaint though as the hotel is so old! The car park was handy, but at £23 per night to park it's a cost we hadn't planned for. The breakfast was very good, not sure why people have complained. We stay away extensively and the breakfast here is certainly comparable. We did arrive for breakfast at 10am on Saturday morning and there wasn't a huge amount left, no eggs in particular. We didn't ask but I'm sure they would have brought us some. The heated dishes they serve from could do with being replaced for some that keep the food hotter (I run a food service equipment manufacturer so am probably just being fussy here). Staff very friendly and the Reservations Manager in particular was very helpful when I'd discovered an error in my booking. Would definitely recommend, just make sure you know what to expect room wise.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your review

I can see you have stayed in our newly refurbished accessible room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,619 - 1,625 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this hotel. I don't know how it got its 4 stars. Must be the location. Food is very bad. Noisy floor boards. No running cold water. Could not clean teeth in boiling water. Very run down. Even the renovated room we had was awful. Avoid!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

I am sorry you felt the refurbished room was run down and am surprised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Got back today from our two night break. We had a nice time in Brighton but the hotel had a few faults. The sea view room we had on the fifth floor was tiny with too much furniture packed in to the space. It was cold at night and a draught was blowing through window frame. The balcony was in need of a clean and a coat of paint. The room and bathroom was clean but the toilet didn't flush very well. There was no hot water for my shower this morning. Brrrr ! We found all the staff very helpful and friendly but the quality of our evening meal was disappointing. Overall the location is impressive and the reception, bar and restaurant. Just spend some money on the bedrooms please Puma Hotels!
This was a Amazon local deal 2 nights breakfast (excellent choice), dinner on first night with a bottle of wine, afternoon tea second day. £195 slightly over priced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie190463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your review

Refurbishment plans are continuing with 34 bedrooms already complete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as we went to a concert on the Sat night.it is in a great location and within walking distance of Lanes Dome Pavilion Pier etc
We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but found a couple of lovely and quirky restaurants nearby.
This is a four star hotel but we felt that the decor was very dated and some of the room furniture too.
The staff were very helpful and the added garage parking excellent.I had had an operation and was on crutches so they were thoughtful,in that they placed us near the Buffett,and called for a porter to take our bags from garage.
If going again book a sea view room,it was lovely and sunny,the downside was that it was noisy on the Fri and Sat night with revellers from the clubs passing by,new double glazed windows would help.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

rooms need great improvement stains on walls with damp,damp in wardrobe,stains on carpet and lifting and threadbare, cig burns on curtains,cobwebs on walls,creaking floor boards all round the room,paid £99.00 for the night but paid another £30.00 for upgrade to sea view,dont know where the sea view was dirty balconey right in front of a small window not worth the upgrade,reception staff very good,bar staff had attitude ,sorry to say will not be staying there again,could of had better room at a b&b room 518.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great hotel right along the coast, not too far from Brighton Rail station. Staff were very nice and helpful. Our room was clean and looked newly remodelled, however, the toilet had a bit of a problem and ran most of the night, which did get quite annoying. I'm not a plumber but can do basic home improvement and was able to fix it myself, but it shouldn't have had to be fixed in the first place. In regards to the restaurant, the staff are friendly and the rooms are nice and clean but the food lacks quality. Very under seasoned or over-cooked. I did notice while we were sitting at dinner that quite a few guests sent their food back. We would have gone somewhere else but dinner and breakfast was included in our package. Breakfast had great selection, both food and drinks, but the hot food was again lacking in quality.
Overall, great hotel for a weekend away, but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I was disspointed to read your comments regarding the food as normally we received very positive comments. I will review these with my team


Kind regards
Paul Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We used to spend many weekends in Brighton in our youth so thought we would return using the Old Ship Hotel as our base. Had a really good deal including dinner on the first night with a bottle of wine, afternoon tea and late check out. The food was really lovely and the staff can't be faulted. The gentleman in charge of the garage parking was extremely helpful and friendly in particular. We had a superior room that had been recently refurbished- and although small, was on the 4th floor and well appointed. One morning when we woke up we had no power but a quick phone call to reception and a flicking of a trip switch was done in minutes. There are plenty of relaxing areas in the hotel for a spot of people watching! We were quite touched that a card and chocolates had been left in our room to celebrate my husbands birthday, which I can only assume were as a result if an e mail I sent enquiring about the hotel car park. Small details go a long way. Very good location - especially as the lanes are right behind the hotel. Would definitely use again if we come back to brighton.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alimac0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your great review and I hope you return soon.

Kind regards
Paul Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £58 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing