We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Ship Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legends Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$111
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
My Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blanch House(Brighton)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$245
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,554)
Filter reviews
2,554 results
Traveller rating
694
964
555
208
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
964
555
208
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontceiling fanbox of chocolateslovely hotelcar parknoisy at nightearly hourssuperior roomshort breakideal locationpublic areasthird floorbrighton seafronttwo night staybreakfast was excellentlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
1,880 - 1,885 of 2,554 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed with a deal which allowed us a double room, a three course dinner, and breakfast the next day. The hotel is well-located, nicely decorated and tidy, and our room was small but comfortable.

Our dinner was super with the starters excellent, the steak (which we both had rare) also very good, and the dessert tasty. Self-service breakfast the next morning was plentiful and tasty.

We enjoyed some drinks from the bar on the outside terrace before dinner and coffee there the next morning. We were lucky to have good weather which made the experience even better.

We paid £130 for all this, which I consider a bargain.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Nicholas

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We visited using an Amazon Local deal and initially were quite disappointed as our allocated sea view room (426) was up in the roof space of the older part of the hotel. However as the toilet was faulty we were offered a change of room to a much larger sea view room (326) which fortunately had a ceiling fan as it was unseasonably warm when we visited! The staff were very attentive and friendly and the food was excellent (we ate in the hotel the first night as part of the deal). Breakfast was superb. Overall the hotel was good but it was looking a little tired in places - however there is a programme of refurbishment going on and where this had taken place it was of good quality. I am surprised that the hotel is rated 4 stars, and would have said our room was more of a 3 star quality, however the 4 stars probably comes from the facilities available such as 24 hour room service and free wifi. Our room was quite noisy as it was near the main road but fortunately there were free earplugs available - and it's not the hotels fault if there are late night venues nearby (loud revellers at 4am)! We also appreciated the fan as we could keep the worst of the noise out by closing the double glazed windows. Overall we were really pleased with our visit although the review may not have been so positive if we had stayed in our original room.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KMC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had a great time. Couple of days shopping with a friend. Lovely hotel, really warm feel, great sea view room, 5 minutes from the Lanes, fantastic service in the Restaurant (thanks Phil) and great food. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison-Malloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I know its called The Old Ship Hotel but I would have expected it to feel warmer and much more inviting... the cold temperature of the whole hotel (bedroom, lobby and conference rooms) made me feel very uncomfortable throughout my two day (one night) stay so much so that despite it being a lovely old building (albeit little worn in some areas) I wouldnt go back as I hated feeling so cold. (it wasn't that cold outside even -about 17degrees!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. This time of year we have had ups and downs on temperatures and has caused us a challenge which we have now resolved

Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Positives:-Excellent location for the Lanes, shopping, Seafront and Pier, welcoming and helpful staff, comfy bed and hot shower, good breakfast, earplugs provided and needed.
Negatives :- Extremely uncomfortably hot room even when radiator is turned down, gaffer tape over hole in carpet, ripped valence sheet, three lots of dubious stains on bed runner, extractor fan not working, very black and mouldy grout on bathroom tiles, kettle lid fell to bits, plug socket next to dressing table not working, very poor lighting for reading in the bedroom, hair dryer cable dangerously tangled and twisted, far too much furniture in such a small room, view of fire escape and brick walls.
We paid £178 for two nights bed only and this was a special offer. The breakfast was better value and we paid for this separately. The room was extremely poor value it offered no more than the local travel lodge but cost a lot more. As a disabled person I found it difficult to move around the room as it was extremely overcrowded with additional surplus furniture. If I had paid the full price I would have been extremely disappointed The lovely helpful staff made up for the poor value and quality of the room.

Room Tip: I am hoping that we were just unlucky with room 104 it must be the worst room in the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you were dissapointed and will use your feedback as part of our continual improvement programme.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews