We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For the price we paid you cannot fault the hotel. We were there for one night to see a concert along the seafront at the Brighton Centre. We had external noise issues with our room mainly because of rubbish lorries outside from 5.00am onwards. This was not the hotels fault but it did spoil our nights rest. If you book in advance at the discount rate you are getting a bargain. Breakfast was very good with full self service. we had a lovely table in the window. The outside tables are great in warm weather to sit and have a drink in the sun.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gretenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,613 - 1,619 of 2,340 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I payed £120 to stay in a standard room. First of all when we got there we didn't realise we booked a twin room and the receptionist wanted to charge us £30 more to get a double room! Every other hotel I've ever stayed in a double and twin room is the same price. She told us there's only 2 double rooms left and that she didn't want to give us one incase someone else bought the room (bare in mind it was about 11pm...).
When we got in the room the door was already open and 2 lights were not working which we had to call them to fix and it took them about 1 hour to change 2 light bulbs so we went out of the hotel... and we came back to find our room door open AGAIN except this time with all our things in it... (although the bell boy was really helpful).
Then at 2am there was a loud sewage machine outside that was making a lot of noise we couldn't sleep. We called and asked reception to change our room as it was too noisy to which they replied "just leave the hotel if you think it's too noisy" and then hung up the phone. The noise did eventually stop although we got woken up at 5AM with the same noise.
Then when I went to have a shower in the morning, there was a huge spider in the bathroom and lots of black hairs in the shower. So overall one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in and WAY over priced.
This hotel is supposed to be a 4* hotel but I'm not sure where they got their rating from because it's definitely not to the standard of a 4* hotel. The rooms need to be renovated.
Would not recommend to anyone to stay here unless you want to pay 5* price for a 2* hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nkanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for review.

You would only be asked to pay £30 if we had not had a standard double room available. As the you had booked a twin room it seems the only double room we had was a Seaview room hence the upgrade charge.

Your locks have been read and iit sees you did not close the door on departure. Pleae contact Southern Water over their roadwarks as unfortunatly this is out of our control.

Your comments regarding the telephone conversation and hair will be fully investigated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a perfect location as it is on the seafront, close to the Pier and walkable to many attractions. It is also close to the train station. The staff are helpful and friendly. Our evening meal in the restaurant was very good and the service was terrific. A great place to eat even if you aren't staying at the Hotel. Breakfast was a little disappointing because the food was cold, though of good quality. Of course, being self-service and with so many people arriving at different times, it can be difficult to ensure the food stays hot. Nevertheless, other hotels offering the same service do seem to manage this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Taraking2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I will review your feedback regarding breakfast with my team.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had a few days at this hotel with my mother who is disabled (Not great on her feet!) to 'get away' and do some relax and shop. The hotel is very well situated on the front in Brighton close to the pier and very near The Lanes which is great if like me and my mum you love to shop and eat but don't like to walk too far. First impression of the room was clean but furniture a little dated, en-suite was desperately in need of a refurbishment but was clean. The beds were lovely and comfortable and we slept well, We were concerned that there was no hot water at first, but found that there was hot water if you ran the water for a few minutes before you needed it, but was well worth it. I did notice that many rooms were being refurbished as we stayed in the hotel which thankfully caused no problems or noise. Old lifts but they worked. Staff at the Reception were very polite friendly and helpful, the night staff even made me laugh! they handed out extra coffee/tea items and magazines and stored our bags at the end of our stay. The bar staff were polite but slow, they had no idea how to make an Irish coffee, took 4 staff 15 mins! but was delicious when it arrived. Breakfast was very good with a good selection, but the only shame was that the coffee was not filter coffee and you had to make it yourself from a machine. Breakfast staff were helpful and polite. The staff were very kind to myself and my mother over the three days of our stay, their relaxed but can-do attitude and kindness outweighed any niggle I have noted above, the hotel has a good atmosphere because of this. We have decided that having enjoyed our stay that we would return to stay again in a newly decorated room. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your Great review.

Any feedback is greatly received and we are very pleased with yours

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Much improved since the Puma takeover the hotel offers comfort and cleanliness in a prime location. Staff are friendly , rooms spacious and quiet for a sea front pitch and breakfast choice excellent, albeit fully self-service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your fabulous review.

Any feedback is greatly received and am pleased you have noticed the changes made

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Only scored 3/5 but had a great weekend. Booked for 2-adults and one child and paid using Tesco vouchers. Have been twice before but this is the first visit since changing to Puma Hotels.

Great location on the front and nice comfy spot out front to sit and have a few drinks in the afternoon sun. You will be assured of some choice views with some of the stag parties passing by, some better than others ;)

Reception was fairly efficient and the staff friendly, dining room nicely spread out and a large choice available at breakfast - no waiting for food.

The lift had broken down by Saturday so lots of complaints from some who were unable to find their rooms using the stairs. Glad we stayed on the 1st floor so not an issue.

Had a premium double with sea view which was a nice size to allow for the second bed. Creaky floorboards underfoot and from the room above. If you are a light sleeper I would advise earplugs as the noise from street level continues until about 06:00 in the morning. Comfortable bed, nice size tv, decent shower although bathroom needed a makeover, it was clean.

A few negatives but would not hesitate in returning to this hotel as it was another fun weekend getaway in Brighton.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Beamygrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

Any feedback is greatly received.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Old Ship Hotel is ideally situated, close to everything that attracts people to Brighton, sitting on the seafront, next to the Lanes, the theatres and restaurants. The staff are very friendly and the facilities are as expected in an old building, the lift is a blast from the past, but it works well, but slowly. Our bedroom was well appointed with a magnificent view of the sea. We had central heating, not needed on a warm summer's evening but no air conditioning which would have been expensive to retrofit. They say that Brighton never sleeps, which I am sure is true because a pop up night club was erected on the beach just yards from our room. The pounding beat of the music and the screaming of the clubbers overpowered our inadequate double glazing, so WE didn't sleep, the noise finally ended at 7am just in time to get dressed for the comprehensive buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the views but the rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSmallfield B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

Any feedback is greatly received. The lifts themselves are historic but quirky. Despite having double glazing the nearby clubs do sometimes cause issues. We are working with the local authorities to try to address this and in the meantime have placed ear plugs in all rooms for lighter sleepers

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,073 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £55 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing