We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PETE”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Brighton
1 review
“PETE”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Was really worried having read previous comments that you may need ear plugs ! BUT THANK GOD WE WENT IT WAS PERFECT ! Great food & entertainment and staff really helpful. Amazing sea view and if windows are shut you can not hear the outside fun going on . Definitely would book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank P0ps007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear P0p007

Thank you for your review.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    833
    452
    176
    113
See reviews for
247
1,124
60
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After suffering terrible service at the Holiday Inn, it was lovely to experience a efficient and friendly check-in. Room was average but had a lovely sea view. Great breakfast, again staff very friendly .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear 56Janet

Thank you for your review.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We originally booked 2 nights at Max-Serviced apartments (4 star luxury my eye) just about 4 doors down, but after finding it not safe for humans mid way through the first night (filth, noise - the loudest you've ever heard, broken beds, no water, people trying to break in, vomit everywhere) We were searching online to find something else

We don't know Brighton so we were scared we'd make the same mistake again so we were walking towards Hotel du Vin (which would have been £316 for one night) and I seen the lovely outside patio area at The Old Ship and thought there was no harm in asking the prices. So the lobby area is really nice and bright. Turns out it was only £119 a night!!! BARGAIN

The receptionist was so lovely and helpful and even allowed us to see one of their rooms before we committed. The hotel manager did say that the sea view rooms would be noisier so he suggested one 343 that backed onto ship street. It was really nice, light and airy. with lots of space. Way more space that I anticipated.

We slept well, the bed was lovely, the shower was powerful (for the 3rd floor) and there was no noise at all.

The breakfast was a buffet and I expected a little better than it was. It wasn't bad, just poor fried eggs and not great bacon or sausages. But it did the job well.

We have definitely found our go to hotel in Brighton. The location is fantastic and the price is even better!

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms will be noisy and are £30 extra per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Icstreet

Thank you for your review.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel location is fantastic, right next to the pier and the rooms are fine - if somewhat dated. Our only gripe was the breakfast which was absolutely dreadful, loads of choice and it was all awful! Undercooked and cheap sausages, bacon and fried eggs without any yolk. Cheap, horrible orange juice. The staff were also very rude at breakfast but fine throughout the rest of the stay. I would book again but without breakfast - there are loads of great places to go for breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank UK-traveller-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was really dissapointed to hear your comments about breakfast as we normally get such great reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week for one night, special offer with the Mail on Sunday the room was adequate with no frills, very poor shower, but bed was quite comfy. We had a room on the 5th floor, there was only one rickety old lift, so it was an quite an experience going up and down from the room. Had a full english breakfast that was self service, biggest problem was that the sausages and bacon was not cooked properly.
Drinks were relatively expensive at the bar, best bit was sitting on the terrace at the front of the hotel watching the world go by and it was a lovely sunny afternoon. Decided not to have dinner at the hotel as the menu was rather limited.

Room Tip: Get one on a lower floor so you dont have to use the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookey122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For the price we paid you cannot fault the hotel. We were there for one night to see a concert along the seafront at the Brighton Centre. We had external noise issues with our room mainly because of rubbish lorries outside from 5.00am onwards. This was not the hotels fault but it did spoil our nights rest. If you book in advance at the discount rate you are getting a bargain. Breakfast was very good with full self service. we had a lovely table in the window. The outside tables are great in warm weather to sit and have a drink in the sun.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gretenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I payed £120 to stay in a standard room. First of all when we got there we didn't realise we booked a twin room and the receptionist wanted to charge us £30 more to get a double room! Every other hotel I've ever stayed in a double and twin room is the same price. She told us there's only 2 double rooms left and that she didn't want to give us one incase someone else bought the room (bare in mind it was about 11pm...).
When we got in the room the door was already open and 2 lights were not working which we had to call them to fix and it took them about 1 hour to change 2 light bulbs so we went out of the hotel... and we came back to find our room door open AGAIN except this time with all our things in it... (although the bell boy was really helpful).
Then at 2am there was a loud sewage machine outside that was making a lot of noise we couldn't sleep. We called and asked reception to change our room as it was too noisy to which they replied "just leave the hotel if you think it's too noisy" and then hung up the phone. The noise did eventually stop although we got woken up at 5AM with the same noise.
Then when I went to have a shower in the morning, there was a huge spider in the bathroom and lots of black hairs in the shower. So overall one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in and WAY over priced.
This hotel is supposed to be a 4* hotel but I'm not sure where they got their rating from because it's definitely not to the standard of a 4* hotel. The rooms need to be renovated.
Would not recommend to anyone to stay here unless you want to pay 5* price for a 2* hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nkanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for review.

You would only be asked to pay £30 if we had not had a standard double room available. As the you had booked a twin room it seems the only double room we had was a Seaview room hence the upgrade charge.

Your locks have been read and iit sees you did not close the door on departure. Pleae contact Southern Water over their roadwarks as unfortunatly this is out of our control.

Your comments regarding the telephone conversation and hair will be fully investigated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing