We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Break - Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Winter Break - Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We visited this hotel in Dec to see Priscilla stage show, it was one of the windiest days along with rain beating down.

We booked in and was allocated a room we went to the room to find it was on the side of the Hotel and small too. Just outside the window was scaffolding with plastic sheeting over it, flapping in the wind. This I was unhappy with to be allocated such a room when the Hotel wasnt full. We told reception we were unhappy with the room and wanted to change, we paid the extra and had a sea view room. The room was huge, but the windows which are fairly new leaked liked anything as they didn't fit properly and the staff who had been in before to make room up had placed a pillowcase in the gap of the window to mop up the rain water that was pouring in.

So overall the hotel is great the breakfast is one of the best and the staff there are great, including the lady who has been there for years. the rooms do need tlc and the carpet cleaner out too.

Room Tip: Can get noisy from outside noise. so ask for higher rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E-Ticket-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    788
    421
    167
    110
See reviews for
230
1,055
56
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

There's no doubt that the location is fantastic, and the views are gorgeous, but I do feel maybe the hotel relies on this slightly. Very attentive staff, but the rooms are a bit tatty and could do with a spruse.

It is worth knowing in advance that the noise levels are high at night, I could hear people talking on the beach, and even the music from some bars - but that's what you expect being in town center on a Friday night. Pack ear plugs if you think it's going to be an issue.

Dispite this, the service and the food made it an enjoyable stay. I ate both breakfast and dinner, and was impressed with their vegetarian options.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back Now as part of The Hotel Collection, new throws and pillows are on order to lift the bedrooms prior to any further refurbishments to take place.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute via super breaks as they had a deal on this hotel and 2 night standard room. The hotel reception was very nice and as we booked in we told them that it was my fiancé's birthday and they had a card and a box of chocolates delivered to the room. It's a bit of a trek to get too the room and the lift is very very old and small so god help you if you book in with a double base as the stairs are a killer with doors in between floors. We came back a bit later after depositing our luggage and the room was very hot, the ceiling fan did not cope, so we told the reception and when we got back after dinner out a electric fan was on and running cooling the room. We would gladly stay here again. Staff very friendly and a very good location. Breakfast also very good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Niel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Booked via booking .com a premium room. This turned out to be small with a tiny bathroom. TV in a position that could not be viewed from bed.
Windows not openable. Breakfast cold and undercooked. Told there was no white sugar by disinterested staff.
There are many seafront hotels in Brighton, this was a disappointment

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you were disappointed.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Had 2 nights over the weekend and really enjoyed the stay, room was a superior double with sea view,good vfm and comfortable. The staff were very good and extremely hard working,breakfast was really good indeed great choice and plenty of it!, well positioned on the front had great time people watching from the seated area in front of the hotel. Will definitely be going here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KDB1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear KDB1964

Thank you for your review.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Old Ship Hotel for my birthday - a present from
our son, a weekend away with an evening meal and glass of bubbly!
On arrival, the room was a little disappointing with scaffolding outside obliterating the view. The hotel staff were wonderful and arranged for us
to change rooms to a beautiful view overlooking the promenade and sea.
Not only this, they made the effort to bring me a birthday card and a box
of chocolates and a free drink in the restaurant during the evening.
It made me feel very special despite the fact that is is obviously a busy hotel.
We will certainly keep great memories and hope to return there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear TeresaH

Thank you for your review.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The room was spacious but the bathroom was filthy and the furniture mdf crap from the 1980's. We did complain and were given a cleaner room ( not by much). It's only saving grace, was in fact the staff and especially the Duty Manager, Miriam who apologized profusely, gave us a complimentary drink and followed up the next day. The overall state of the building, fixtures, fittings and decoration is substandard and needs a comprehensive update to even come close to the four stars this hotel is proporting to have.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

We are independently assessed by the AA with our four star rating and am sorry you were disappointed.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing