We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week of fun”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Week of fun”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've just returned from a weeks stay and highly recommend the Old Ship. My room had an amazing sea view and a massive bed. It can be noisy as the main road is busy through the night and there are bars on the beach nearby but the hotel provides ear plugs to help.
My only suggestion would be to provide fridges in rooms - as an avid tea drinker it was impossible to keep my milk fresh.
The most valuable assets of this hotel are the staff. They are friendly, helpful and welcoming. A special mention to the lady who greeted me at breakfast every morning and whose Granddaughter works on reception.
The breakfast was really good with lots of different options available. Everything was freshly cooked and very tasty.
This really is a home from home and I would chose to stay there again.
Colleagues who were staying in other hotels nearby were very jealous and all intend to book the Ship next time we are down there.
Well done to all the staff, you do an amazing job and made my week :)

Room Tip: I had room 221, very sunny, a really good size and a marvellous view. Choose a front facing room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your fantastic review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    817
    443
    176
    112
See reviews for
240
1,097
59
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Had to move rooms because of noise. Lovely staff moved me to another room and this was just as bad. Staff are lovely and it's a shame as other than that the hotel is really nice. Bar is also really expensive!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsWils0n2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Reviewer.

I was sorry to read your review. Being in the centre of a cosmopolitan city can sometimes mean that people outside are noisy. We do however provide ear plugs in all rooms and will call the local authorities when we are aware.

Great to see you acknowledge the team though.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Besides not having any mobile phone & wi-fi coverage my stay was not bad & the rooms were a decent size.

All the breakfast staff were amazing, especially Auxi & Gill who were friendly & attentive making sure customer satisfaction first & are a credit to there team.
Overall great customer service from all staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond3014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back

If you are currently with O2 they are upgrading the mast as we speak.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend on May 5th just over night. The staff were friendly and helpful, there's a car park attached which is an additional fee, but it is right off the pier and a very short walk to The Lanes. Nice big bathtub and updates while still keeping its historic charm. Wouldn't recommend doing a ghost tour if you're into that sort of thing--didn't sleep a wink.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison62290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Location good, but for the money, I'm sure you could get a better experience. Bit tired looking, needs a makeover, ditch the clubland singers, bit dated idea. Staff were lovely though, not they fault.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back Now as part of The Hotel Collection, new throws and pillows are on order to lift the bedrooms prior to any further refurbishments to take place.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just stayed at the Old Ship Hotel this weekend for the Rod Stewart Concert. It's in a fantastic location but definitely requires updating. Everything was fine, the beds were particularly comfortable, but the general décor etc is lacking. It seems the money has been spent on the outside area, attracting passing trade for food and drink. I would recommend the hotel because of its location, but its not cheap and doesn't live up to its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back Now as part of The Hotel Collection, new throws and pillows are on order to lift the bedrooms prior to any further refurbishments to take place.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We visited this hotel in Dec to see Priscilla stage show, it was one of the windiest days along with rain beating down.

We booked in and was allocated a room we went to the room to find it was on the side of the Hotel and small too. Just outside the window was scaffolding with plastic sheeting over it, flapping in the wind. This I was unhappy with to be allocated such a room when the Hotel wasnt full. We told reception we were unhappy with the room and wanted to change, we paid the extra and had a sea view room. The room was huge, but the windows which are fairly new leaked liked anything as they didn't fit properly and the staff who had been in before to make room up had placed a pillowcase in the gap of the window to mop up the rain water that was pouring in.

So overall the hotel is great the breakfast is one of the best and the staff there are great, including the lady who has been there for years. the rooms do need tlc and the carpet cleaner out too.

Room Tip: Can get noisy from outside noise. so ask for higher rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E-Ticket-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing