We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away to see concert”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights from 26th June to 29th June.
We arrived late on the Thursday the room we were allocated 322 was meant to be a premium room not very premium in my opinion. Not only were there broken sash cords on the window the door lock was extremely loose, the sink plug would not let water out and the hand rail/soap dish holder was hanging off the wall. Having stayed at 8 other of the Hotel Collection's hotels I have never had a mantanence issue before, we could not be moved that night at the room was full.
The following day we were moved to 323, the room was in a much better condition maybe slightly tired especially the bathroom but have lovely views of the sea, and was much more comfortable. The staff at this hotel are a credit to management because they really do try to go the extra mile to help you out. The food in the hotel restaurant (we had dinner there 3 nights) was good a value for money, car parking was £23.00 per night but secure and no more expensive than any where else in Brighton. Yes the rooms do need a make over but are clean, and I believe this may be happening in the near future.
Over all I would stay here again, thanks to the hard work of the staff. Lets hope the Hotel Collection backs them up with investment in the building to bring it up to the quality it deserves, like some of their other hotels.
Brighton is expensive but over all this was value for money.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bags52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,588 - 1,594 of 2,343 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel if you get a refurbished bedroom. The main areas are lovely as they have been updated.

Were in one of the rooms that were waiting to be refurbished so it was great but the others looked nice. A bit of a naff view if you don't get a sea view.

Lovely bar and restaurant and great choices for the breakfast.

Great location and free WiFi, happy days.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank lilyg1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary because we had also stayed previously on our engagement weekend. We love Brighton for all it's noise and revelry. Our room had a sea view and we enjoyed a bottle of wine or two watching the antics of various stag and hen parties from the comfort of our spacious bedroom. The hotel is a bit dated but I think that is part of its charm. My husband and I were wondering how you could actually update a hotel that was just not meant for wet room, boutique copy and paste hotel features. I love that the floor creaks and the hotel is a bit of a maze. I love that you can see people struggling to walk in a straight line or tottering precariously in high heels and often losing the battle. It's Brighton and we love it.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I also love the charm of this hotel and Brighton itself and was a pleasure reading your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Me and My Girlfriend stayed at this hotel a few weeks back now. It was all and all a good experience from the outside the building looked stunning the interior all be it every so slightly dated did too. Check in was trouble free and the staff here helpful, At the time the hotels lift was broke so had to use the stairs we were only staying for the night so our cases were not heavy. The hotel is a maze and we did get lost looking for our room but a member of staff be bumped into on the second floor helped us right out. When we got to the room it was on the small side but what do you expect for price we paid which was quite small. Outside our room was a very loud generator and i mean loud, but the hotel did provide ear plugs which is a nice touch. The room was also very very hot and the fan didnt really help but other then this a nice room. Breakfast in the morning was good and lots of choice, also the bar prices are quite cheap as well so its a good place to start or finish the night. Nice hotel and would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed there for a couple of nights last weekend. My advice is, don't go there in the summer, it's unbearably hot and noisy. Really uncomfortable the whole time, hotel is kind of dirty. Don't bother calling the reception (dial 0) since no one ever picks up. We'll go some place else next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and assure you that your feedback is valuable to us in improving any areas we fall short in.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My partner and I wanted a sea front hotel close to all the action and we were very impressed with the Old Ship. It was great for the hotel to have it's own garage and valet parking, informative and friendly reception and our room was just what we expected and the bed was really comfy! The hotel overall was clean, modern and all staff we met were super friendly and accommodating. We were a stones throw from the beach, nearby bars and restaurants, yes it was a bit noisy at night but hey if you can't beat them join them! We had a brilliant two night stay and will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: High floor as better views and your also further from the noise.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ejm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your excellent review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

great location, attractive front to the hotel. Staff very friendly and resolved our issue of dirty towels left in room very quickly and provided us with some free drinks as a good will gesture. Thought the room was basic for the price (£139/n) but the shower was quite good and the bed very comfortable. Would have chosen a room wth a sea view if it wasn't an extra £50

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bmod28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. We have standard seaview rooms bookable if available at £30 additional per night. They are smaller than the Premium rooms at £50 but still have the great seaviews.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £55 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing