We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Shame about the Breakfast”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Well located hotel with friendly and helpful staff. However the breakfast was truly appalling. I have stayed at this hotel several times and the breakfast seems to get worse everytime. It is so lazily cooked, the bacon is barely cooked at all, just a pile of rubbery fat. Even when it is cooked a bit it is only on one side. I have had better breakfasts at BHS and Debenhams for a 10th of the price. Lets the hotel down.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seventyseven78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your review and pleased be assured that where possible action will be taken over your comments.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 2,340 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We were in room 104 originally, not really what we expected, all a bit dated and worn looking. Bed was comfy.
However, the temperature in the room was extremely hot, a fan was already in the corner so this room had obviously been complained about before. Just relaxing watching TV for an hour left me and my partner sweating, with the window open and fan on. The corridors were just as hot. It was a grey rainy day in Brighton not Spain in August.
Staff were extremely helpful and moved us to room 259 without hesitation, they were very polite and efficient. Having gotten to the new room, this was also very warm but not as bad as the last one.
Still struggled to sleep in the heat and staff kindly brought another fan up for us at 2am after struggling to nod off.
Woke up sweaty and tired, felt like we where in a cheap hotel abroad with no AC.
Other guests we spoke to also reported extreme heat throughout the hotel and some of the corridors leading to our room felt like saunas.
Staff were lovely and attentive but that alone cannot justify the prices this hotel is charging for worn out, fairly cramped rooms.
A renovation and some climate control units would do this place the world of good!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louisa415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your review and pleased be assured that where possible action will be taken over your comments

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

All in all a very nice hotel, clean, comfortable and staff very helpful and friendly. Our only gripe was that the breakfast could have been a bit warmer, although the choice of food was exceptional. A very nice and relax short break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This Hotel is ideally situated on sea front and close to all amenities.All the staff are friendly and helpful. A very special mention for Philip, to be waited on by him is an absolute pleasure, nothing is to much trouble and are treated with care and respect good breakfast available and evening meal were getting better by the day, we stayed for 4 nights with Robinsons Holidays
The down side to the hotel was the view from the our room (101) how a hotel could put people into such a room is diabolical. At our 3rd evening meal James (Duty Manager)was in dining room, we mentioned the view we had and he was well aware and offered to move us the next day but we thought it was not worth the trouble. The room was quite small but clean and tidy. Why a hotel could put people into such a room is a mystery to me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your review and pleased be assured that where possible action will be taken over your comments

Standard rooms do not have the great seaview rooms unfortunatly but upgrades are available at a supplement.

I will ensure both Phillip and James are told about your review, thank you.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant was great as was the view. The problem with the hotel were the actual rooms, for the money paid I'd expect it to not look run down, it would've been a lot better if it had just had a lick of paint and some new furnishings.

I wouldn't return here as the rooms weren't worth the asking price, everything else was brilliant, next time I'll spend a bit more and get something a lot nicer.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room and not one too high up, our room was on the top floor and was very hot, even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your review and pleased be assured that where possible action will be taken over your comments

Standard rooms have not yet been refurbished but Superior rooms have.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Having stayed at the old ship hotel for three days and nights we were very well looked after the staff were very helpful, all in all it was a very pleasant stay. With a disabled partner we found we were very well catered for and would certainly return if possible.

Room Tip: Before going ask if outside noise is a problem. And if there is a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights due to seeing a show at the local theatre. The hotel was fine and the staff are great except for those supposedly covering breakfast. They just seemed to stand around and chat. My one concern was the hidden charge of £23 parking fee per night which I was not aware of when I booked. Just across the road from the hotel garage is The Lanes car park which from after 1800hrs until 1059hrs costs £9.50 in very secure parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,074 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £55 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing