We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired!”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tired!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and didn't get one good nights sleep. Various staff and delivery men had absolutely no consideration that people would be trying to sleep at 5am every morning while they were rolling and crashing around their metal roll cages. This literally happened every morning at 5am and 7am. A hotel room is mainly used for washing and sleeping, so when half of those things aren't doable, it's incredibly frustrating! Receptionists made absolutely no effort in finding me a different room away from the noisy area of the building and seemed generally disinterested that I wasn't getting any sleep.

The inside of the building is like a huge maze and in need of some serious modernisation.

I certainly won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 259!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeS3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

All our own suppliers are asked not to deliver before 7am in the morning however being in a city centre location it is difficult to control nearby hotels & businesses.

The hotel dates back over 450 years and is created of a number of buildings merged together. This does make is a maze in parts but adds to the individuality of the hotel.

I am sorry you did not feel the receptionist assisted you and have highlighted this with my reception manager.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    833
    452
    176
    113
See reviews for
247
1,124
60
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Great location, decent room and a great bar with lovely staff.
Went with my sister who is disabled and the wonderful staff could not do enough for us so thank you to those who helped us. We were lucky enough to have lovely weather and the only blip was that it was stifling in our room, even though they had kindly supplied a fan its effect was minimal and made sleeping difficult. The towel radiator was on in the bathroom which made it like a sauna! Bar installing air conditioning I cant see how they could improve this situation, apart from turning off heater in bathroom, but must say i loved this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: If it is hot weather, maybe ask for two fans and for bathroom radiator to be switched off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your great review and was delighted you enjoyed your stay.

It is always great when guests recognise my team and I will ensure this is passed onto them.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have never felt such a need to leave a negative review, but after our stay and the subsequent general managers’ response and insinuation and justification, I would hate for anyone else to go through a similar experience which can easily be avoided staying at far nicer places in Brighton easily for the same money!
Our stay at The Old Ship was terrible, the duty manager was rude and this subsequent review has been added based on the response from the general manager who has chosen to suggest that our experience was our fault and down to how we behaved. Although looking through the negative reviews and the way the general manager has responded I am not surprised.
The room we were offered was the small and tatty and was covered in scaffolding, and we were paying top Brighton prices. On our initial query of this, instead of initially trying to help, we were told that we were informed of this when we booked, which we definitely were not, this was then changed.
We then encountered problems when we ordered a breakfast, whilst getting ready to go and meet friends, after an hour long wait never arrived. When we called the restaurant we were told that they had called our room and we had cancelled the order, but they had not, and they continued to tell us that they had, as oppose to apologising and fixing the problem. The breakfast then suddenly arrived 5 minutes later, clearly cooked a long time before, cold, horrible and inedible. We called to say we were not at all happy, that we would like to send it back and that it was the hotels mistake. Shortly after this the duty manager arrived at our door telling us that we had asked to see her, which again, we had not.
She continued to tell us many times that we had called and asked for her, to which we answered that we had not, and tried to explain we had called to say we were not happy to pay for their breakfast. Her response, again instead of trying to resolve the problem, told us flat out that we would be charged for the cold breakfast that was delivered over an hour late, never once asking what our concern or upset was and was not at all interested in listening to us at all.
The result of this was that we left the hotel a night early and are, with the help of the bank, contesting the payment that they have rudely taken from us for an appalling and horrific stay. It completely ruined our weekend.
In complete contrast, we walked into the Thistle next door and they were amazing, friendly and very helpful...the room was amazing in comparison as was the whole property and the cost was the same!!
Avoid this hotel, its dated décor, and its rude members of staff and their inability to even try and resolve problems which in our case were very simple, their defensiveness and the outrageous subsequent suggestion of the general manager of our inappropriate behaviour!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a potentially good hotel to stay in when in Brighton. On the seafront right next to the laines. It also has a lot of history - one the oldest hotels.
Many rooms have seaviews. We came here for that seaview and decided to pay an extra £100 over the Premier Inn a few hundred yards away for that very reason. However it was an amazing disappointment. Yes you could technically see the sea from it if you stood up and peered over a tall Georgian balcony. The view was made even worse when we were there as they'd attached banners to the balcony further obscuring the view. We were in Room 520 but I'd recommend that you make a specific request when staying there to avoid all rooms on the fifth floor as they probably all suffer from the restricted view issue due to the balcony.
Another key issue is the wifi. Don't believe all the hype about free wifi. It is free but only for 500k data ie you'll be lucky to download your emails. This restriction might be ok, if you didn't promote the facility at all (and it was a taster to encourage you to buy wifi) but to be honest in this day and age, such a restriction is pathetic. Thankfully there are plenty of cafes and bars that offer free wifi, so just drink elsewhere. (Again why the Ship can't work out they are losing revenue because of it, is beyond me).

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms on fifth floor. Seaviews are restricted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

The wifi is free for day to day emails social media etc, but should people wish to stream videos or download larger files then this will be chargeable. We are one of the few major hotels along the seafront to offer this.

I am sorry the view was slightly restricted but please contact me direct on your next visit so I will ensure your room allocation is better.

Kindest Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean. the restaurant food was excellent and so was the service. The bar stayed open late so a night cap was no problem. The outdoor seating area was very large and we also were able to find a seat. Very close to the beach and Pier.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank twotravelbugs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your great review and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I was delighted to read it and will ensure this is passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Room was cheap, upgraded on arrival, friendly staff, nice dated hotel. It's not stunning and it's not rubbish. Just a good all rounder. It's right on the seafront near all the nightlife so of course it's not going to be quite. Use your brain people. Only bad point was it was really hot in the room and the fan provided kept turning itself off.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Due to the central location of the hotel the area can get busy and noisy at times.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a fantastic 4 night stay in Brighton! We booked this hotel based on it being dog friendly (albeit absolutely no mention of the £15 surcharge on their website, only found out when we checked out!!) Reading other reviews on here after we'd booked we were worried, however we were pleasantly surprised. Room was clean, very spacious albeit a crappy view of the back of the hotel but we didn't pay for a sea view so our bad but it was quiet (aside from seagulls) so that was a bonus! Lovely touch of the dog bed, bowl and treats :) Can't fault the service we received - James the evening manager always greeted us and our dog and was exceptionally friendly as were all of the other staff! This really personalised our stay! The hotel itself is steeped in history and when the other reviews talk about things being old - it's the oldest hotel in Brighton what do you expect!? Location is spot on. We would definitely stay here again at the right price :) just not on a Saturday - the front is a bit 'rowdy' and hotel was quite noisy... But only that night.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipMunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your great review and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Whilst on the terms and conditions section of our website I have asked whether it is possible for this to be placed clear on the website regarding the dogs.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing