We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is required refurbishment”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed in the room with the seaview which is located on the 5th floor. Room was outdated with noisy floor and doors.

I could see that this was a very decent room.. around 40 years ago. The website shows that hotel has 4 stars, but the room where I stayed does not have more than 2 stars.
I had to wait 4 minutes until hot water will appear from the tap (probably because it is fifth floor).
The parking charge is £23, I have seen hotels around who do not charge for parking.

I would suggest to staff to put some flowers outside of the windows.

However, hotel staff was very welcomed and breakfast was hot and tasty.

Pictures attached

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stani7lav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

Refurbishment works are continuing throughout the hotel and further plans will now commence in September.

Due to the seafront conditions and the costs plants are not possible on the windows though it would be nice.

We continually monitor our parking charges with other city centre hotels. I am not aware of any hotels along the seafront offering complimentary parking but will review this.

Many thanks

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 2,317 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

7 of us stayed here over a weekend and we were all given rooms at the wing of the hotel that faces the side street containing Jamie's Italian.

It could be due to the weekend factor but I was woken up several times by screaming and swearing in the middle of the night,as well as loud music.Brighton is a bit chavvy at the best of times and it is not the fault of the hotel that there is a noise in the side street however there are other hotels that don't necessarily suffer from this problem.You should look at booking these if you cannot be guaranteed a room away from the side street as you may find your sleep disturbed.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hasan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

Being in the heart of Brighton we do suffer with inconsiderate passer bys. We have a policy of automatically contacting the local authorities to deal with the situation when we are aware.

Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Overall I enjoyed my 3 nights here. The staff score 5 stars, the receptionist swapped me to a double with no hassle after my friend was unable I come so I has no use for a twin. The bar staff are also very friendly - you can see it is a happy team.

The location is perfect right on the front minutes from all the attractions, great for the sightseer. What let's it down is a clear lack of investment by the operators over the years - something which is very typical in the hospitality business, being in the business for 12 years I'm guilty of the same thing!!

The bathrooms are desperate for an upgrade, I would hazard a guess that they haven't had a refurb in 15 plus years. The beds are comfortable but the room furniture is dark mahogny so 1980's !! The reception areas have received attention but it doesn't go any further, the bar furniture I would guess is from "smart interiors" a value for money internet wholesaler which is great for those on a budget but it looks cheap.

Nevertheless I enjoyed my stay, yes I would come back and yes I would recommend it, as you can see through the lack of investment so it's done a pretty good job, I don't think the bathrooms will get away with many more years but everything works and in this trade old but functional with high standards means a lot.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank NickGBuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive review.

Investment is continuing into the hotel with some bedrooms already complete and further plans now being put into place in September.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Would not normally write a review for just having a drink but just had great service which thought was worth commenting on. Great smile nice uniforms and very efficient. Come to the ship to get away from the madding crowds. Great views over the sea. Only problem is my mother-in-law won't be quite

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your great review and hope you come back again soon.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great place just near the where we was for main event, that's why we stayed there. Staff are just ok but they need improved on their selves to knowing around the hotel. Over all it's fine. If you go there. Can give a try.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for review and highlighting hotel knowledge amongst the team. Your feedback is important as will be used to improve the service that we offer.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and didn't get one good nights sleep. Various staff and delivery men had absolutely no consideration that people would be trying to sleep at 5am every morning while they were rolling and crashing around their metal roll cages. This literally happened every morning at 5am and 7am. A hotel room is mainly used for washing and sleeping, so when half of those things aren't doable, it's incredibly frustrating! Receptionists made absolutely no effort in finding me a different room away from the noisy area of the building and seemed generally disinterested that I wasn't getting any sleep.

The inside of the building is like a huge maze and in need of some serious modernisation.

I certainly won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 259!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank JoeS3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

All our own suppliers are asked not to deliver before 7am in the morning however being in a city centre location it is difficult to control nearby hotels & businesses.

The hotel dates back over 450 years and is created of a number of buildings merged together. This does make is a maze in parts but adds to the individuality of the hotel.

I am sorry you did not feel the receptionist assisted you and have highlighted this with my reception manager.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Great location, decent room and a great bar with lovely staff.
Went with my sister who is disabled and the wonderful staff could not do enough for us so thank you to those who helped us. We were lucky enough to have lovely weather and the only blip was that it was stifling in our room, even though they had kindly supplied a fan its effect was minimal and made sleeping difficult. The towel radiator was on in the bathroom which made it like a sauna! Bar installing air conditioning I cant see how they could improve this situation, apart from turning off heater in bathroom, but must say i loved this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: If it is hot weather, maybe ask for two fans and for bathroom radiator to be switched off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SUSAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your great review and was delighted you enjoyed your stay.

It is always great when guests recognise my team and I will ensure this is passed onto them.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,981 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £54 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing