We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Ship Rocks - & creaks a bit!”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Brilliant value considering the location close by Brighton Pier. All of the hotel staff were friendly, helpful & engaging and the facilities and food were excellent. Didn't award five stars because of the (old) age of the hotel building & fabric, & experienced very creaky floor boards in our room & a window that wouldn't completely close. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review

Refurbishment works continue at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,401 - 1,407 of 2,249 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Just left the Old Ship Hotel and did not enjoy our stay from the moment we got there. We were ignored at reception when we first got there, with receptionists serving people behind us first and general poor manners and service. We overheard conversations from other customers saying they walked into their room and someone else was in there, and another one stating they had no towels on arrival. This did not give us much hope!
We checked in at 3 and our room was not even ready, but we were kindly given a drinks voucher while we waited which we enjoyed.
When we finally got to our room (302) we were very disappointed. It was very dark and tired looking and wasn't very clean at all. The bathroom looked filty with cracks all on the walls and disgusting looking marks everywhere. The shower wasn't very powerful. The toilet was also filty with hairs on the floor and a window which wouldn't open. There was no mirror on the dressing table which makes it impossible for a girl to get ready! There was a long mirror in the room but with no plug socket near it so had to ask for an extension lead. Room was very hot and stuffy with no air con or fan. It may be that there are some refurbished rooms in the hotel but if you don't get one of these then you're in for an unpleasant stay!
Breakfast was good and location was excellent!
Car parking is a bit of a let down as it's not clear where to go and is very expensive at £23 per night. We would not recommend this hotel in its current state.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Algar09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay but assure you all feedback is fully reviewed and where possible immediate action is taken.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A fantastic location is all this hotel has to offer. Very tired and in need of some serious investment. Public areas are very drab and dated - sticky carpets and smelly upholstery in the bar and restaurant. The room (supposedly a "premier double") was adequate - flimsy furniture, very dark. Only saving grace was a comfortable bed, but it was so noisy on the seafront all night that sleep was difficult - no double glazing of course.

Bathroom was in need of attention - repaired tiles were uneven and bath sealant had clearly been applied by a chimpanzee. Good towels but the towel rail wasn't hot despite the warning label.

To top it all it was very expensive - £131 for the room, £9.50 per person for a very average breakfast, £23 to park the car (although the car park was full so we had to park in The Lanes which only cost £10 overnight). Brighton isn't worth these sums! As there were 3 of us in two rooms, this one night stay cost me over £300!

500 yards up the road is the Holiday Inn - £65 including breakfast and a side road with free parking after 6pm. Stay there instead and walk a bit further.

Room Tip: Find one in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgncfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

Premium rooms within the hotel are larger full seaview rooms. Alternative priced rooms are available if not sold out. It was dissapointing to read that you did not feel your stay was of value for money.

The 3 star Holiday Inn will also have differing room prices depending on availability but they are located away from the main city with parking chargeable there aswell.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Visited for a 2 night special deal ,
Communication from the hotel is poor ref parking , you are unaware of where the car park is.So on arrival you have to park outside and run inside to ask reception of the car parks location , on finding the car park which is just around the corner you are advised that the car park is full mainly because non-residents are permitted to use the car park ! We are advised to use the NCP car park which is dead opposite the entrance to the hotels (Same charges so its a no brainer !). Shame they cant look after the their residents requirements a bit better.
Now for the positive points -
* Staff / service is excellent , special mention of Ollie who was very helpful
* Food was quality and the restaurant is excellent
* Rooms are good although a little cramped (No 254) - Word of warning , if you book at this hotel try and request a room that does not back onto Ship Street because I think the rooms are above the service areas and you are woken by the noise of bottles / glass being dropped on mass into industrial skips.Lots of deliveries in the morning
very good hotel with the good old fashioned personal touch and the question is would I use this hotel again - answer 100% yes , now i know where to park !
Would have gave it five stars if it wasnt for the performance with the car park .

Room Tip: Use the nearby NCP carpark If you don't want an early morning rude awakening then do not book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your great review

Being in the city centre we cannot control other building deliveries. Our deliveries all come through the car park side with the exception of laundry which does not deliver until after 9am. I am sorry the directions were not clear. It is not helped at present with the roadworks currently taking place.

I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just had a 2 night stay at The Ship on Brighton seafront.
Would recommend this highly. Room was lovely, plenty big enough and lovely and clean. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and the afternoon tea very nice.
Location is great, right on the seafront and close to The Lanes.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your fantastic review

I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Looking for dog friendly places is a bit daunting as you don't know how friendly they are. We have stayed at the Ship before and thought it lovely.
This time, the dog was greeted at reception with a doggie biscuit and a lot of fuss, he was very excited. In our room there was a welcome letter to him explaining what beaches he could go on, a lovely clean, soft bed for him and bowls.
They couldn't have been more friendly and made our first hotel stay with our dog very special.

Room Tip: We had the suite - room 420, ideal for families or people with a dog who don't want your pooch i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your fantastic review

I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Dogs are welcome at all hotels within The Hotel Collection.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed in July and in fairly warm period
No aircon like most of uk rooms very small and stuffy could open up window but was noisy over the road Lots of history Winston Churchill stayed here but this hotel is in need of a face lift
In a handy position to the foreshore and the amusement pier
Walk to back streets to eat forget about the pier

Room Tip: Choose a less noisy room high up or to the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

The hotel dates back over 450 years and is full of history and charm. Investment continues into the hotel with 36 bedrooms now refurbished as superior bedrooms.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £58 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing