We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice surprise!”
Review of Langfords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langfords Hotel
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very nice surprise!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hove's Langfords Hotel - was somewhere I used to stay - years back - when parking all over every inch of B & H was "UN thinkable"!!..I have had a lovely surprise by the hotel's warm welcome - comfortable & clean rooms / public spaces & very convenient location in relation to both the sea front (clearly visible sideways on, from front of hotel rooms) & nice shopping parade at Hove's Church road. A very famous supermarket chain has a massive store about 5/8 min from hotel (with loads of parking in it, which is useful & is free for a few hours)

.So apart from being exceptionally careful - which white line enclosure you leave your car in (DO DO read the signs & check the road lines before placing your car in a space!!) (4 + zones to catch you out in one unassumming street.....) I really like staying here.

So much so. I have returned 3 times in 2 months! Even after staying in more luxurious hotels i the area, for a better value option, very accessible to beach & good shops/banks....do look at the Langfords....

If you are going with friends/family - ask for a front bay window room - which space & comfort!!

Enjoy Brighton (always pay attention to parking rules & use the various supermarket car parks to ease the stress of finding a road space!)

Also DO ride out to Rottingdean - for quaint village life & great cream teas...

BEST fish & chips in town is definately NOT on the sea front.....try BANKERS...

It is on Western Road & fairly close to Waitrose....
definately worth the ask....

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holisticescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
What a super review and thank you so much for your kind words, superb assessment of the location and the tip off about the Rottingdean cream teas!!

We are really looking forward to seeing you again and renewed thanks for your support meanwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    147
    82
    59
    85
See reviews for
83
137
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 2 nights at Langfords, our stay was more than pleasurable.
I booked direct with the hotel requesting a double room with a shower, on arrival we were shown to a very pleasant front view double room with one of the best showers I have encountered in a hotel in the UK or abroad. Everything was spotless. The total cost was £112.00 for two nights with breakfast, a good deal. Some of the anonymous corporate hotels were asking £280.00 plus one seafront Brighton Hotel wanted £18.00 a night to use their car park!!! You can park outside Langfords in the very quiet road. A well cooked breakfast was provided each morning. OK this hotel is a bit dated but being Victorian its entitled to show its age .
We had a very pleasant stay in Hove, with some very good restaurants and bars within 10 minutes walk of Langfords. For value, it would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewmeister_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
This was a cracker jacker of a review and just what the doctor ordered. The hotel and staff are delighted and we cannot wait to see you back down from Buckinghamshire

Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Staff......excellent.
Breakfast...excellent
Room...sorry but ours was very poor. Tiny shower room, cracked tiles with fungus, beds tired.

I would come back but at the prices quoted I would need to be sure it was up to scratch

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Something of a mixed review but we are pleased you found certain aspects of your stay excellent

As you may have detected we are improving the Langfords in an earnest and methodical manner with the stair carpets now changed. Around 10% of the rooms have been 'made over' with new carpets, bathroom flooring and general decorating

We have never made any bones about the need for ongoing improvement and maintenance but the Langfords has a great deal to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back. Meanwhile we appreciate your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

It was a day-trip to Brighton. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good tips for parking. Though it is free until 8am- I wasn't charged even at 9am. Room was clean and good size, well lit-up. Location is good for Both city centre and beach was very close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Keep changes for Parking ticket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakeosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
A great review thank you and please visit gain soon! The Langfords is improving all the time and over the winter we will be looking to further enhance the bedrooms, having given the stairs new carpets, the garden a good work over and an amazing new guest wifi service - at fibre fast speeds - which is free and offered in partnership with Liveport

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The room wasnt spectacular but was big enough for myself and parents.
The rooms were nice and clean and the service was great.
Nice and close to pubs, cafes and main shops.
Nice location seeing as the beach is down the street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNovice00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
A lovely review, thank you so much. Hopefully we can welcome you and your family back before too long

With renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

This was a last minute booking for just 2 nights and I was a little nervous as some of the reviews weren't good but we were pleasently surprised! Yes it's a little dated and could do with a spruce up - it's also slightly overpriced - however our room was really big and there was loads of cupboard and wardrobe space! The bathrobe was also huge with a really great shower! We had a nice little balcony and a sea view! The bed was a bit uncomfortable but no bed is ever as good as your own! The only real negative was the breakfast service wasn't very good - i think we were unlucky and got someone who was disorganised and forgetful - but the actual food was lovely! The rest of the service was excellent - all the guys were friendly and fun yet professional! We walked to Brighton city centre and back and it wasn't too far for us but the buses are great if you don't want a 20 - 30min walk - a cab in the evening cost £6.40 which I thought was excellent!
All in all a great break and we would certainly use Langfords Hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 168Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We really appreciate this review and your visiting from Oxford. Hopefully another trip will be on the cards before too long. Your feedback is also helpful and having recently taken on some new waiting staff we are finalising their training

Langfords has a great deal to offer and it is reviews like this and five magnificent stars which make it all worthwhile

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in two rooms which were clean and tidy, but very dated given the high cost. We had lift access to our rooms on the first floor.The staff were helpful, allowing us to leave our luggage in a cupboard until check-in. As we didn't book breakfast, I am unable to comment on the quality of the food. However, being a decent walk from Brighton, we had a large range of bars, cafe's and restaurants to choose from for all meals. The bus is very convenient for the trip into Brighton and wasn't expensive. This was an ok place to stay given that we were in Brighton during Pride weekend, and there was nowhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We appreciate your visiting from Wales. As you rightly acknowledge, you chose to stay during Pride weekend which is an amazing experience but creates a real shortage of supply. Even so the Langfords was delighted to have played a part in making your trip memorable and strives to provide value for money

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#33 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Property: Langfords Hotel
Address: 8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing