We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs tlc”
Review of Langfords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langfords Hotel
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Ipswich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs tlc”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have never reviewed a hotel b4 and I find you always see negative reviews for a good hotel and good reviews for a not so good hotel!
This hotel provided a good location 30mins walk to the main pier and bars etc, staff seemed friendly and room was ok.
Our room had 4 single beds in it and was sufficient for a 1 nt stay however the carpet was torn and very worn out and the beds were a bit worn out also! The room could do with some TLC... Saying this it was cheap compared to a lot of alternatives and for a one night stay was adequate. All in all an ok hotel but does need work

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katswan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
In thanking you and your friends for choosing the Langfords, I find myself grateful for the candid spirit of your review

We strive to provide value for money and as you may have sensed, we are working hard to upgrade both the rooms and 'common parts' of the hotel

When you next visit from Suffolk we are confident that you will see further improvements

Thank you again for your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    147
    82
    59
    85
See reviews for
83
137
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arrived on a Friday for 1 nights stay enroute for a much anticipated wedding. The reviews although mixed seemed to portray a decent hotel for a whistle stop stay. We were greeted by a group of very loud drunk men blocking the entrance stairs, spitting, cursing and boasting how they had just vomited in the back garden. Awesome start!
The room was well below standard with uncomfortable beds, curtains that didn't close, dubious stains on the wall. The small bathroom offered us cracked tiles and no plug in the sink.
The staff were barely friendly and to top it off returning back to the hotel at 1pm, the lift presented itself with a drunk man asleep inside curled up with blanket and balloons tied to him. He refused to move so we trudged upstair to our room. The flushing toilets and slamming doors ensured we had a non nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gypsy_Chef2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We cannot identify with this review nor the situation this 'guest' is describing. Also the scaffolded building they have chosen to take a picture of is nothing to do with our hotel so we are bemused and totally disheartened as a result

Our staff take their responsibilities seriously and will do their best to ensure all guests behave considerately. Had these customers chosen to articulate their concerns professionally we would certainly have done our best to suggest alternative accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Leksand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We planned to stay for two nights, but stayed for 4! The staff is just wonderful! The rooms are great- ok not newly renovated but comfortable and ok when you travel with kids. The price is great, and we will recommend the hotel to friends. Great value & great service!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We were humbled to receive such a positive review and thank you so much. We cannot wait to host you and your family again as you were delightful guests. Your recommendation also means a great deal

Hopefully we can see you again soon. Meanwhile renewed thanks and great you doubled your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here last night and the room was atrocious. It was uncomfortably hot and the shower and bath were non-functional, with both shower and bath taps broken. For forty quid it's cheap and cheerful, the staff were polite but not really equipped to know how to deal with complaints. Breakfast was pretty nice and good value.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else or check your room before you settle for the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We are sorry you found some challenges with your stay but are equally heartened that there were a number of positive aspects

Our reception team would have done their best to find you another room and we were truly disheartened this opportunity was lost

The Langfords strives to provide value for money and it sounded like we were almost there had it not been for the room specific issue you encountered 'on the night'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at this fine hotel for 4 days last week and had a great time;the large comfortable lounge is cleverly split so that those watching TV do not interfere with those reading. An under-praised feature of the hotel is the full length rear garden - it is unusual in my experience for any hotel in a city to have a garden but Langfords is lovely. Attention to customer comfort is such that the small bathroom radiators are on 24/7 - even the main radiator in the TV lounge was on, although the sun was shining outside.
Breakfasts at £7.95 might appear expensive in comparison with JD Wetherspoons at £3.29; don't forget to factor in Langfords fresh fruit,yoghurt, 5 types of fruit juice,cereal + coffee - all in repeatable amounts! I think £7.95 will then appear reasonable [ this is not to disparage JDW where I have eaten most satisfactorily]
From Brighton Station the Number 6 bus stops just a short walk away. JMC

Room Tip: The rear rooms overlook the aforementioned garden; the front a broad 2- lane avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are humbled to receive such thoughtful comments and truly appreciate hearing from senior Trip Advisor reviewers

As you rightly say, the Langfords has much to offer and the garden is a hidden gem, cool in the hot summer and private. In a Victorian building, sometimes the radiators have a mind of their own but we are working diligently to replace thermostats where needed and many thanks for pointing this out

Hopefully we can see you back before too long and renewed thanks meanwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at Langfords for 6 days with 3 colleagues as we were attending a conference in Brighton. We had originally booked 4 nights to check out on Friday but because we were having a lovely time at this place and Brighton in general, we decided to extend our stay and stayed 2 more nights as we wanted to have a taste of Brighton's night life. The hotel staff were very friendly and breakfast was super both quality and service. Although the bedrooms need some updating, the level of cleanliness is of a very high standard which is always important. If you are looking for a clean, friendly place in a quiet area with good value for money, this is the ideal place, however if you are looking for 5 star luxury, you might be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Violet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for such a stellar review. The Langfords and her team are over the moon and your kind words inspire us to do more, to go further

Our refurbishment program is ongoing and having spent time working on the common parts we are excited about the potential for our bedrooms

I am so pleased to hear the Unison Conference went well and what a fun way to round off your trip by sampling the many attractions of our lovely City

We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests and look forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#33 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Property: Langfords Hotel
Address: 8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing