We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Brighton break........”
Review of Langfords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langfords Hotel
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Brighton break........”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of the reasonable prices for our 3 night break with friends. We were pleasantly surprised because its B&B prices but the hotel is spacious with nice rooms, bar area, good breakfast and very pleasant, helpful staff. The location was more like a 20-30 minute stroll,but we weren't in a hurry and it was generally a nice walk in the sunshine and it was away from the hussle and bustle of central Brighton. You could get buses or a taxi back from central Brighton was about £7. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
What a super review and we really appreciate your support, particularly as there is so much choice in the City

The Langfords strives to provide value for money and is ideally located and, as you say, a pleasant stroll along the seafront into the city centre

There is no greater tribute than the return of a loyal guest so hopefully we can see you again before too long. Renewed thanks meanwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    150
    82
    59
    88
See reviews for
83
138
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I really did this like this hotel. I stayed here from Sunday to the Thursday with my friend and I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews!

We got to the hotel and i was shocked. We really liked it. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. We got to the room and it was really big!

A double bed, chairs , Table, sofa and the bathroom had a bath and a shower! ( Shocked you would get that for a budget price compared to Travelodge)

The baloney was nice and I could see the sea from it.Our friends stayed in a travelodge in Brighton centre and they were jealous of us!

The only downside is parking is expensive in brighton so we got the train. It's quite a distance to carry bags to the hotel but you could easily get a taxi for a fiver...

Overall, we really did enjoy our stay at the Langfords. So much that we are organising another trip down to brighton for New Years and we will defo stay at the Langfords!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesshintonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so much for this stellar review. The staff are ecstatic too and while there is plenty of 2014 still to enjoy, we are really looking forward to your return trip in the New Year. As your plans come together, please contact our manager Pavol as he is standing ready to help with your booking

It is kind of you to acknowledge the range of reviews here - we welcome genuine reviews and take seriously guest feedback and the opportunity it gives us to learn which is why we will respond to each and every review, unlike the majority of hotels

Thank you again for your kind remarks and support - a real summer pick me up
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My advice is to keep away. Booked for three days. Stupidly paid for three days on arrival. Was so disgusted with the room provided that we stayed just long enough to book an alternative hotel. Handed back the keys and only when I asked for a refund did they offer an alternative room. By that time if had enough and foolishly declined the offer. Seen this ploy before anyway. offer a better room to a desperate guest then start heaping on the extra charges. I reasoned that what I'd seen of the hotel and the disgusting room I'd been offered I didn't want stay there anyway. Of course, they won't do a refund of the second and third days tariff because they aren't authorised and the hotel policy says that can't, etc. Very uncooperative. This is the worst hotel I've been to in UK and it's even worse than some of the Bush hotels I've stayed in Australia.
Problems included:
No cooling and Windows that cannot open enough to ventilate the room.
Bathroom smelly musty and the exhaust fan did not work at all.
Bed (not the sheets) looked dirty and had what looked like blood on the upholstery.
Huge iron shaped burn mark on the carpet.
Smallest tv I've seen for years.
Hotel parking arrangements cost 40 percent more than paying via the on street meter.
If you stay here you have been warned.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Malaraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We are truly disheartened by this review and sadly do not understand what this guest is hoping to achieve [other than the obvious] as they were offered a luxury room by way of upgrade [at no extra cost, to be very clear on this point] but for whatever reason elected to leave the hotel and then try and 'put the milk back in the bottle'

The Langfords strives to provide value for money and providing our guests a choice. We have never made any bones about the hotel being the subject of ongoing improvements and we are ever mindful of the huge amount of choice in the City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Let's be honest, you can't expect too much for £40 so I went along with a very open mind.
Was checked in by a very pleasant young man with glasses who also worked behind the bar and hosed down the building in the garden area - drinks were served perfectly and while hosing down he was most anxious he was not making too much noise and therefore disturbing our enjoyment. Full marks to him.
The reception, bar and seating area are lovely, very comfortable and nicely decorated with the added touches of board games. I thought the carpet and furniture here were all first class.
My bed was comfortable and the sheets crisp and white. The shower was excellent and gave a consistently hot and powerful wash.
Breakfast which I think I paid £7 for in advance was delicious - too much, in fact and yet again served by about three charming young ladies.
When returning to Brighton I would most certainly stay here again and it only misses out on five stars from me due to some minor housekeeping issues which would not take long to remedy - the carpet outside my room is worn and therefore a trip hazard, the same in my bedroom where a slightly larger grip would sort the problem and finally some paint touch ups around the door (room 202) and skirting boards would really help. The painting, an hour at most I feel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markstradling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We are humbled by the warmth and helpfulness of this review, especially from such an illustrious Trip Advisor contributor so thank you so much and for your custom

Your suggestions are really helpful too and we were delighted you were able to highlight the value for money Langfords strives to provide

Please visit again soon as we would love to host you again. The staff are over the moon too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A functional hotel with many corridors and bright rooms. Polite helpful staff. Good internet coverage in my room, a triple room for just one, so spacious but would have been tight for three apart for just using it to sleep. Close to Hove restaurants, and to the beach with an ease stroll into Brighton. Breakfast good.

Good value when booking well in advance

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We appreciated your visiting from Wiltshire and always value the thoughts of Trip Advisor senior contributors, so many thanks for this candid review

The Langfords strives to provide value for money and we are delighted to offer guests a complimentary super-fast fibre WIFI experience

Hopefully we can see you back in the City before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Recently just stayed at the Langfords Hotel for 3 nights and absolutely loved it, our room was on the first floor with an ensuite bathroom- only slight issue here being that there were two remaining hairs from the previous occupant, otherwise the room was spacious with a balcony and seemed to be quite clean. The wifi was really good which was an unexpected surprise. The bed was pretty comfortable and there was little noise from the street. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and didn't want to leave! The slight problems with our room was the fact that the light on the ceiling didn't look thoroughly secure and the TV fixture seemed to be coming away from the wall. Otherwise I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, we are hoping to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bextaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We really enjoyed hosting you and thank you so much for your warm remarks and affirmation

Equally, I am sorry there were a few niggles with the room which we have passed back to both our maintenance and housekeeping teams. Action has been taken as a result. Hopefully we can see you back before very long

We have worked hard, with our partners Liveport, on our fast, friendly and fibre enhanced guest WIFI so we truly appreciate your mentioning this specifically
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have never reviewed a hotel b4 and I find you always see negative reviews for a good hotel and good reviews for a not so good hotel!
This hotel provided a good location 30mins walk to the main pier and bars etc, staff seemed friendly and room was ok.
Our room had 4 single beds in it and was sufficient for a 1 nt stay however the carpet was torn and very worn out and the beds were a bit worn out also! The room could do with some TLC... Saying this it was cheap compared to a lot of alternatives and for a one night stay was adequate. All in all an ok hotel but does need work

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katswan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
In thanking you and your friends for choosing the Langfords, I find myself grateful for the candid spirit of your review

We strive to provide value for money and as you may have sensed, we are working hard to upgrade both the rooms and 'common parts' of the hotel

When you next visit from Suffolk we are confident that you will see further improvements

Thank you again for your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 44 in Brighton
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#33 of 44 in Brighton
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
1.7 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Property: Langfords Hotel
Address: 8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing