We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not worth the Money!”
Review of Langfords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langfords Hotel
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Bedford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really not worth the Money!”
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the hotel for a night in may. We arrived at the hotel and was told to pay the bill upfront! which we didnt think much of at the time. we paid 105 pounds for a double room for the night which we thought costing that much would at least include breakfast! we were wrong! we were told breakfast was a further 7.95 a head if we wanted it. Our room was very very dated and tired looking. The ammenities were very basic and the bed linen was in a sorry state! we didnt dare use 2 of the pillows because they were brown and stained! the room was cold and very small for a double.Some members of staff were very polite and cheerful, when we checked out the lady behind the counter simply said 'theres nothing else to pay" and that was it! no thankyou or even eye contact. Overall the hotel was poor and i wouldnt stay there again! the location is not great with it being a 20min walk at least from the pier/town center. My advice is book elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R311985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    157
    95
    63
    94
See reviews for
98
151
34
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Just spent a weekend at The Langfords for a friends hen weekend, we had 3 large family rooms as there were 11 of us in total, located all over the hotel, 2 of the rooms were in the slightly less decaying side of the hotel and the other (ours!) was in the very decayed side! I actually stayed here a couple of years ago and was happy with it, it has REALLy gone down hill since....
There were 4 girls in our room, we weren't all in the same room but had what can only be described as a 'cell' adjoining it with its own sink, wardrobe etc. These rooms on this side of the building are awful, cracks in the ceiling, carpet not very clean, really old fashioned and watch the doors as they have the old fashioned twist knobs on them which i really hurt my hand on.... The other rooms on the other side aren't too bad, very spacious and clean, but still really old fashioned.

Most of the staff seem okay with the exception of the lady who does the breakfast....she is blatenty RUDE! she doesn't give you a minute to look at the menu and snaps at you if you ask to be given a few minutes to look. Saying that though the breakfast was very nice, probably the saving grace of this hotel, I dont think grumpy lady cooks it though :)

Location wise, its just outside Brighton (3 miles to walk!) which takes a good half hour, maybe more if you walk slower, taxi's are about £6 into town, personally i would find a hotel nearer to town as this is a bit of a trek!

Overall we had a really good weekend, Brighton is great and once they pull their figer out and give this hotel the good refurb it needs (and get rid of the rude breakfast lady) then this could be a really nice hotel as rooms are large which means its ideal for larger parties.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacesl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

SE LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

What a Dump!
We spent 2 nights here, nothing like its pictures - dirty room, filthy bathroom, wallpaper hanging off but sellotaped back up!! Reception is very pretty but the rest is disgusting - Graffitti all over the lift walls. Dark Dingy hallways. I feel sorry for anyone who has their wedding there! Mind you the breakfast was okay - just. We weren't even allowed to take our keys out with us, we had to leave them at reception.
.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We and another couple stayed at Langfords Hotel for Valentines weekend this year, and the service provided by the hotel was excellent. The hotel is located right by the sea and very close to the shops and restaurants in Brighton.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Robbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

I spent my hen weekend in this hotel in mid June 2007 with five girlfriends. As most Brighton hotels make you stay a minimum of two nights at weekends, it was a relief to find out that Langford’s were ok for us to stay only on a Saturday. I booked about a month in advance and found the staff very helpful with the constant changes to the booking due to the fact that our number was confirmed last minute. We really had a great time in Brighton and it was partly because the hotel was not right in the noisy centre. I left my car at the hotel (ask for parking permits once you arrive), which was really cheap and we either walked (about15-20 minutes) to Brighton centre or took a taxi. The hotel had a nice rustic feel without being too dated. We had a great twin room looking at the garden. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was recently decorated and VERY clean, sparkling white! Furniture was nice and new and I think the hotel will soon refurbish more sections.

  • Liked — quiet location in proximity of Brighton, nice spacious clean room with en-suite bathroom
  • Disliked — maids were a bit noisy in the morning
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FHEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2007

This hotel was booked for a conference, and on arrival the tatty exterior (in desperate need of a paint job) made me want to turn around and leave. On arrival however the front of house were pleasant
and helpful, and my room- apart from needing new wallpaper, was clean and large.

We were well stocked with coffee and tea and sweets for the conference, and despite feeling like we were in a dark basement converted into a conference room, it was fine and what we needed.

Food/Service- not so great- i'm not sure what was worse- the very grumpy waitress who, when i asked if the pecan pie came with cream, said with such a sigh "Well i guess we could get you some" like i'd asked her to specially prepare my desert there and then in front of me whilst dancing a jig! Or the food- the main course was luke warm, and to be honest breakfast and lunch were a bit lack lustre too. My milk for tea in the morning breakfast was off, which was a small improvement on the coffee with our evening meal where i had to search out milk myself!!

I think i was dissapointed by our one waitress' attitude really - like we were causing her trouble by giving her business and paying to eat her lukewarm food. On our second day we went to take our lunch outside into the lovely sunshine, as was permitted on the first day, only to literally be shouted at to return indoors- nice way to treat your guests!

I think this place needs a lick of paint and a service standards overhaul, and would really only recommend it for a one night stop over, and to eat elsewhere.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — service in restaurant
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 March 2006

stayed at the langfords hotel with some friends, but i am sorry to say that the recomondations that i recived for this hotel did not live to its billing . the reception area was very nice on arrival but the room i was given , when on entering the room the bed spread had a rip in . on entering the bathroom found that is smelt of sewage and the tiles on the floor of the bathroom were very slippy and that was when the floor was dry , so hate to think what it would be like when wet,the breakfast in the morning was very very sub standard, this was not a very pleasant hotel to stay in .and i have been in the hotel and liesure trade for 20 years and will never go back to the langfords hotel to stay im very sorry about this but it is the truth, and will be coming back to brighton soon for a new visit but will find some wherte else to stay

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
471 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Property: Langfords Hotel
Address: 8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing