We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a dump”
Review of Langfords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langfords Hotel
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Oxfordshire England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“what a dump”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

we booked in for 4 nights, the reception area is misleading, it looks nice and clean, if only the rooms were the same, wallpaper in bad way, bathroom disgusting, and the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept in,i had to get the cleaner to remove the cobwebs that were hanging down from the coving, ughhh!!! i had a shower and then found that there was no hair dryer in the room, i rang reception, said to the guy that i had never stayed in a hotel room that didnt have a hair dryer and the reply was `welcome to the Langford, they grab your money up front which is unusual, as most hotels just take a credit card number, but when getting to the room we could see why, the lady taking the breakfast orders really didnt want to be there, she was not the politest person in the world, a smile would have helped, the whole place needs to either have a drastic makeover or be down graded to a 1 star. we left 1 day early, we were told we could not have a refund, didnt mind that, just had to get out of there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimmus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    152
    84
    60
    88
See reviews for
87
143
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Thge webiste deceives its customers...we stayed in rooj 506 - the so call family room at £130 a night, It was like being back in 1970's.....the Hotel Inspector needs to visit this place..i don't know what'sa worse having a shower and being greatful that i can't see well without my glasses or knowing that i had to shower in a unclean hotel that rips its customers off!!

They must be laughing at its paid customers!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumpingbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Bedford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the hotel for a night in may. We arrived at the hotel and was told to pay the bill upfront! which we didnt think much of at the time. we paid 105 pounds for a double room for the night which we thought costing that much would at least include breakfast! we were wrong! we were told breakfast was a further 7.95 a head if we wanted it. Our room was very very dated and tired looking. The ammenities were very basic and the bed linen was in a sorry state! we didnt dare use 2 of the pillows because they were brown and stained! the room was cold and very small for a double.Some members of staff were very polite and cheerful, when we checked out the lady behind the counter simply said 'theres nothing else to pay" and that was it! no thankyou or even eye contact. Overall the hotel was poor and i wouldnt stay there again! the location is not great with it being a 20min walk at least from the pier/town center. My advice is book elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R311985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Just spent a weekend at The Langfords for a friends hen weekend, we had 3 large family rooms as there were 11 of us in total, located all over the hotel, 2 of the rooms were in the slightly less decaying side of the hotel and the other (ours!) was in the very decayed side! I actually stayed here a couple of years ago and was happy with it, it has REALLy gone down hill since....
There were 4 girls in our room, we weren't all in the same room but had what can only be described as a 'cell' adjoining it with its own sink, wardrobe etc. These rooms on this side of the building are awful, cracks in the ceiling, carpet not very clean, really old fashioned and watch the doors as they have the old fashioned twist knobs on them which i really hurt my hand on.... The other rooms on the other side aren't too bad, very spacious and clean, but still really old fashioned.

Most of the staff seem okay with the exception of the lady who does the breakfast....she is blatenty RUDE! she doesn't give you a minute to look at the menu and snaps at you if you ask to be given a few minutes to look. Saying that though the breakfast was very nice, probably the saving grace of this hotel, I dont think grumpy lady cooks it though :)

Location wise, its just outside Brighton (3 miles to walk!) which takes a good half hour, maybe more if you walk slower, taxi's are about £6 into town, personally i would find a hotel nearer to town as this is a bit of a trek!

Overall we had a really good weekend, Brighton is great and once they pull their figer out and give this hotel the good refurb it needs (and get rid of the rude breakfast lady) then this could be a really nice hotel as rooms are large which means its ideal for larger parties.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacesl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

What a Dump!
We spent 2 nights here, nothing like its pictures - dirty room, filthy bathroom, wallpaper hanging off but sellotaped back up!! Reception is very pretty but the rest is disgusting - Graffitti all over the lift walls. Dark Dingy hallways. I feel sorry for anyone who has their wedding there! Mind you the breakfast was okay - just. We weren't even allowed to take our keys out with us, we had to leave them at reception.
.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We and another couple stayed at Langfords Hotel for Valentines weekend this year, and the service provided by the hotel was excellent. The hotel is located right by the sea and very close to the shops and restaurants in Brighton.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Robbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

I spent my hen weekend in this hotel in mid June 2007 with five girlfriends. As most Brighton hotels make you stay a minimum of two nights at weekends, it was a relief to find out that Langford’s were ok for us to stay only on a Saturday. I booked about a month in advance and found the staff very helpful with the constant changes to the booking due to the fact that our number was confirmed last minute. We really had a great time in Brighton and it was partly because the hotel was not right in the noisy centre. I left my car at the hotel (ask for parking permits once you arrive), which was really cheap and we either walked (about15-20 minutes) to Brighton centre or took a taxi. The hotel had a nice rustic feel without being too dated. We had a great twin room looking at the garden. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was recently decorated and VERY clean, sparkling white! Furniture was nice and new and I think the hotel will soon refurbish more sections.

  • Liked — quiet location in proximity of Brighton, nice spacious clean room with en-suite bathroom
  • Disliked — maids were a bit noisy in the morning
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FHEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
470 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#35 of 44 in Brighton
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Property: Langfords Hotel
Address: 8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing