We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold, dusty & run down”
Review of Langfords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langfords Hotel
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cold, dusty & run down”
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I unfortunately stayed at this hotel - thank God it was only one night.

The lobby is a real giveaway for how old and in need of updating this hotel is. Our bedroom was blue...everything in it was blue! The room was cold, the heating didn't work, there weren't enough blankets, the bed and pillows were uncomfortable, the room was so dusty I couldn't sleep as it set off my allergies (and I have a strong resistance to dust) so I spent most of the night watching late-night re-runs of X factor on the tiny TV or playing my Nintendo DS.

In the morning a mediocre English breakfast was provided by staff who couldn't care less. The state of the dining room was also very run-down and sorry looking.

The only good points about this hotel are room size and location, but they're not enough to get me to stay here again.

I would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tuthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    147
    82
    59
    85
See reviews for
83
137
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We were repeatedly woken up through the night by other guests staying at the hotel. There was a group of at least 4 that were by the main entrance who were very loud and must have been outside between 2am & 5am. It is apparently fine for guests to 'smoke' by the main entrance and stay out there for hours making as much noise as they like. We were also woken again at 8am by a telephone wake up call that was never ordered.

The next day we were told the manager would have to deal with this but she never contacted us or replied to our email and phone call.

There is also no air-con so sleeping with the windows open is the only option. The rooms are tacky with a bathroom from the 70's.

We found the Langford's not value for money and not somewhere to stay if you want a quiet night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phatmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Lets get one thing straight: This is not a 'nice' hotel. It's shabby, small, the bathrooms are moldy, and the beds are so rigid you could bounce a tennis ball off them. A 2-star at best. But it's probably one of the cheapest in central Brighton, and because of the location, you'll end up paying far more for accomodation than you will if it were somewhere else (even the travelodge is over £100 a night).

If you book this place because it's cheap, be under no illusion that you're just getting a place to stay, not a nice hotel experience. I stayed here while attending a stag weekend, and I can tell you that it was a hell of a lot better than checking into a hostel, and a hell of a lot cheaper than paying for a nice hotel. For £65 a night you're unlikely to find anything better.

If you're taking your beloved for a romantic weekend away - dont stay here. It'll just give you something to complain about. Accept that you'll need to spend a bit more than usual to stay somewhere nice; you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyBoy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Lomond
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

This is a tired and tatty hotel. Reception staff try to be helpful but they don't have much to work with. Bar staff are pleasant and welcoming, but drinks are very highly priced!
Dark and disappointing rooms that need more time and money spent on them. But the worst part of this hotel by far is the dreadful breakfasts matched only by the miserable and bad tempered dining room staff. Food is poor quality and served cold, service is non existant, rude unpleasant staff who behave like they are doing the paying guests a favour by being there at all. A new chef, new serving staff and a little attention to detail would improve things a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank softwysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I stayed with my partner for a weekend and was really pleased we had picked this hotel. Perfect position just off the seafront and a 20 minute walk from the town centre along the beach. Parking is easy and on check in staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was lovely with a balcony, flat screen TV, en suite and very clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and make you feel so welcome. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Brighton and we will definately be going back ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

You'll find a cozy atmosphere in this hotel. The staffs are quite good and helpful and so is the caretaker Shakti.
But the hotel is not close to the sea beach. You need to walk quite a bit to get onto the sea shore.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank deepanjan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Fantastic hotel if you are a lover of cold showers. No hot water in our two rooms, reception desk were unable to help, and letters to management went unanswered claiming that the 'hotel manager is on holiday'. I hope she is staying at a better hotel than this one.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MisterReasonable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#33 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Property: Langfords Hotel
Address: 8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing