We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel with a flawless location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel with a flawless location”
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We booked at the last minute so were unable to get a seaview room. However, despite my fears the city view room was still very nice. With modern design and functional, clean lines it was great to spend time in the room. Everything we could reasonably expect was provided and it was deceptively spacious and very comfortable. The location is outstanding and a very easy walk to the lanes etc. The staff were polite and welcoming. The cocktail bar was great for a pre-dinner drink. My only issue was that the wifi didnt work in my room (my ipad could pick it up but sould not connect).I will definately be returning, but next time will book ahead and get a sea view room!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wuffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    248
    98
    33
    23
See reviews for
56
659
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed at drakes with my boyfriend recently for a bit of a treat to surprise him for his birthday. Had the most amazing time the staff were SO welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant which was out of this world ,definatley the best place to eat in Brighton .
The only problem is that we enjoyed it so much we didn't want to leave !
Our room was great and spacious we had such a good view out over the sea and it's was spotless.
You've never had a bath till you've had a bath at drakes !

Although there are a lot of stairs so be prepared for a bit of work out . Once you get up there you don't want to come down anyway !

Room Tip: The sea facing attic room with bath, best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Drakes. The room was spacious with a tub (with city views) and a wet-room. Enjoyed a cocktail at check-in and later came back for more. The breakfast was a bit expensive, but served in bed, which made up for the price tag.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Drakes, though when booking do bear in mind that there is no lift in the hotel and quite a few stairs.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingwithinfant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My boyfriend and I have stayed at Drakes many times and the reason for this is because it is the best hotel in Brighton!

We have stayed in the city facing attic room with free standing bath (room 403) at least three times, and this is our favourite room in the hotel! It is cosy and secluded and the bath is perfectly positioned to watch a dvd whilst soaking in the tub! We have also stayed in the feature room which is much larger with wonderful views of the sea and Brighton pier. You can lie in the bath whilst looking out at the night sky. Both rooms have wonderfully comfortable beds with the best quality linen and great wet rooms.

The reason we keep returning to Drakes is not just because of the hotel rooms. The hotel itself is welcoming and homely. The staff are always happy to help and the service is second to none.

Another thing we love about this hotel is the wonderful breakfast they will bring up to your room. You can opt for a simple porridge to a full english breakfast or a tasty scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Best of all is a morning mimosa and fresh black coffee! The restaurant at Drakes is also worth a visit for dinner. Delicious food and attentive service. You must have a drink in the bar too, or why not choose a dvd from the library and order a bottle of wine to take up to your room.

Lastly, the location is perfect. Just a short walk away from the pier and a stroll into town. The hotel is only a few minutes taxi ride from the train station or you can park your car directly outside in one of the hotels car parking spaces.

We hope to be returning to Drakes again soon and we would recommend this wondeful place to anyone seeking a thoroughly relaxing stay in a luxury boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AG1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Stayed here reecently on a loung weeekend trip to Brighton. Room was excellent, byt the best bit was the the food - exsquisite! Would def recommend it 2 any1!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

the room was very clean and comfotable with great views and had everything we needed for a weekend break, the bath in the bay window was a very good touch, the hotel service from all the staff was excellent and the restaurant was very good, the hotel is also in a very good location for everything in Brighton and we will definatley be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: the room we booked was the circular room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfa155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

What a really superb hotel ...... a definite must if staying in Brighton. Staff are really friendly, helpful, well trained and efficient. Our sea view room with wet room, free standing bath and super king size bed was a dream. Other reviewers have mentioned road noise but this certainly was not a problem as there are shutters on all the windows which are very effective. The food was amazing, and service equally as good.. Everything has been thought of in this hotel; top quality toiletries, fluffy towels, great cocktails, easy parking, fantastic cooked to order breakfast ...... Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,032 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing