We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good times!”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Drakes is the perfect mix of luxury and comfort, which makes you feel that you've stayed somewhere special. My husband and I love this place, especially the room on the top floor with the sea view! The bed and shower (our two Most Importants) are both excellent. One wintry stay the lovely bar team brought Irish Coffees (not on the menu) up to our room. There are also books and DVDs to borrow in case you feel the need to stay in bed all day!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    249
    99
    33
    23
See reviews for
57
664
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Whilst this was a bit expensive, it was certainly better than a birthday present of yet more clothes that would end up hanging, unworn, in the wardrobe! Instead, I bought some wonderful memories and spent time in a glorious room where the bath in the front window was filled with bubbly water on arrival! Looking straight out onto the beach, Brighton pier and the sea in a double ended bath with my sweetie was almost as gorgeous as the Pornstar Passion cocktail recommended by the delightful receptionist! It certainly kicked off the Brighton experience in a quite delicious way! A massive and comfortable bed with huge plump pillows was decadence indeed. A personally written birthday card left in the room for my husband was a wonderfully personal touch too. Whilst breakfast was extra, we threw caution to the wind and hubby had a high quality cooked breakfast in bed, whilst I had the continental which was glorious. We left reluctantly at the very last moment having enjoyed superb and friendly service and a fabulous and luxurious treat which will be reminisced about for many years to come. Thank you lovely ladies!

Room Tip: The round rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillyathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Had a wonderful 4 days, staff were wonderful. The accommodation lovely, although it's not a good idea to be on the top floor after a few cocktails, as there are no lifts!! Had a lovely roll top bath overlooking the sea. Had Sunday lunch in restaurant which also was very nice. Perfect location, within walking distance to the lanes and restaurants. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvvinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

After hours of trawling through various hotel websites and Trip Advisor I finally settled on Drakes, and I wasn't disappointed. It's not cheap at £200 for the one of the kingsize city facing rooms but I fell in love with the place. The room was massive, had everything you needed and was spotless with a very comfy bed, the only negative to the room was the blind wasn't great at keeping out the light in the morning. We barely heard any noise coming from the other rooms/rest of the hotel, even in the morning. The bathroom (which is down some stairs!) had a heated floor and amazing shower. We didn't eat in the restaurant as wanted to get out and about. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Only downside was the £12.50 parking charge, however the staff very kindly let us stay parked there for several hours after we'd checked out which saved trying to hunt down a space in one of the city car parks on a Saturday! We will definitely be staying here again, I'd be tempted to try one of the rooms with the free standing bath next time! This is definitely a hotel perfect for couples.

Room Tip: The website has excellent descriptions (and 360 views) of each room to help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at the hotel on a Friday night for a Valentine surprise. On arrival at the hotel we were allocated a parking space next door to the hotel. We then checked in and had a drink at the bar - very smooth process and the staff were extremly polite and helpful. We had the ground floor sea facing room. The decor was lovely but to be fair the room and bathroom could have done with a very good clean, the bathroom had mould around the sink and the toilet had not been cleaned properly for a good while - at £175.00 for one night I would expect that basic cleanliness to be at the top of the agenda. The breakfast was excellent and could not be faulted in anyway - the waitress was so polite. All in all i would recommend this hotel but could do with a bit of TLC with the cleaning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We came to Drakes to celebrate very special occasion for us - I was in touch with the hotel before hand - and must admit that everything was organised absolutely perfectly and as planned.
What was really touching that staff knew that is special time for us and made our stay really exceptional. Really nice was also the card signed by the staff and left in our room! Great moments, great hotel, absolutely great stay! Thank You.

Room Tip: We stayed in 101 - great bath, fab views - only disadvantage - that relatively loud during the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ender_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This friendly, modern hotel is right on the sea front at Brighton. Our room (203) was lavishly appointed, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Its integral bathroom was down a flight of eight stairs which should have been lit by footlights but these would not work and could not be fixed because the maintenance man had gone home. The staff were very concerned about our safety when going to the bathroom in the night and offered us another room but we did not feel like moving as the room we had was so good. Never mind, we were compensated by pre-dinner drinks on the house from the best stocked bar I have ever seen and served by friendly and apologetic staff. This was an encouraging prelude to a fantastic dinner deserving of a Michelin star. The accompanying wine was just perfect. After an excellent night's sleep, breakfast was beautifully presented and had a very good choice.
So were there any downsides to this splendid establishment. Well, one or two. Firstly parking was on the forecourt of an adjoining property over the road. It was very tight, not easy to access and with very little room to manoeuvre and we were charged £12.50 for the privilege. Most of the bedrooms are on the second and third floors, there is no lift and the stairs are steep and winding which may be difficult for anyone with mobility problems but would be no difficulty for fit young romantics for whom this hotel specially caters. We booked on an inclusive dinner, bed and breakfast basis and we were a little surprised to find that the dinner part was for only a two course meal. We happily paid for an excellent third course but a two course dinner on an inclusive package seemed just a little parsimonious. Having said that the whole dining experience was pleasurably unforgettable.
In spite of Drakes being on the pricey side we would certainly stay there again if we have reason to visit Brighton.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a free standing bath in the room, all have lavish bathing facilities. Ask exactly to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erithacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing