We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
1 review
“Special break”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a two night break at Drakes and I have no hesitation in recommending it. The staff are very attentive, rooms lovely if a little small but they are very well presented and the bed comfortable. I can also recommend the attached restaurant, excellent food and service. If you are looking for a hotel in a prime location to stay at in Brighton, Drakes is well worth a look.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    248
    98
    33
    23
See reviews for
56
659
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Ahhh, I feel very affectionate towards this hotel: we stayed an extra night in Brighton, unexpectedly, and Drakes fitted us in at the last minute in 2 rooms for me and my children.

The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and accommodating, even finding somewhere to buy wellies for my 9 year old daughter. (She had packed ballerina flats which were very pretty but, as it was raining, not the most practical. Aston Bourne in The Lanes sell Hunters, if you find yourself in a similar position).

The location, overlooking the beach, is great, with a view to die for in the sea facing rooms and The White Company toiletries are gorgeous, as are the huge beds and feather down duvets. It is slightly noisy but I think most sea view rooms in Brighton probably are, so that's just the way it is, unless the council ever pedestrianise the sea front.

Although the restaurant is grown up and elegant they really kindly cooked something special for my daughter and gave us some stunning service: efficient and friendly without being obtrusive which isn't always an easy balance.

They also have DVDS to borrow at reception, a good selection of cocktails and a 24 hour bar (not that we used it)

My only point of constructive criticism is that the doors between the bedrooms and bathrooms are frosted glass with a gap between them. It looks great, very pretty, but from a romance point of view, well, sometimes it's nicer to draw a veil (or a thick door) over some things. Had it been me, my husband, one bedroom and a weekend for romance...

I really liked this hotel and if we go to Brighton again, this is where we'll stay. The bill for 2 rooms, including a 5 course tasting menu for 2 (plus accompanying wine), plus dinner for 2, plus breakfast for 4, was about £600. But you could get away with a lot less if you a) only needed one room and b) drank less wine than we did, which would be easily done.

We all loved it and I'd recommend this hotel, the fabulous service means you'll have a great overall customer experience,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedwaterwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

2 nights in this luxury seafront hotel lived up to past reviews and expectations.

Staff were really friendly, couldnt do enough for us, even remembered our names! Clean and well presented hotel. We stayed in the Bijou Cty Double, which had the added luxury of a free standing roll top bath, perfect filed with bubbles and with a glass of wine/champagne. Also comed with a wetroom with shower so if a bath isnt your thing then there is an alternative. Fresh white towels, changed twice a day if you require, Quality 'White Company' Products, a daily newspaper and Fresh ground coffee and Tea Selection in each room make it a comfortable stay.
The Cocktails here were probably the best i have ever tasted, such an extensive menu, a tasty treat worth sampling. I wil definatly stay here again, hopefully for a little longer and i would make a booking in drakes restaurant too as this is ranked in the top 5 in Brighton. Highly recommended...5*

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night, we had one of the rooms with the freestanding bath at the bottom of the bed. The hotel was nice enough.... the rooms were a bit small for the price charged. however the little luxury's make up for the size e.g. wash kit from the white company. besides the size of the room (which the hotel can obviously change at ease...) another negative was the shower/ toilet room, the shower head is above the toilet so if you want to shower you have to sit on the toilet seat and hope the shower water doesn't make the toilet over flow. The bed was very comfy :)
its defiantly worth a stay but I do strongly believe it is over priced

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMAabouttheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The sea view room with roll-top bath was amazing. Huge amount of attention to detail. Bed was huge and really comfortable. Excellent location for the beach, shops and sights. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The meal and breakfast in the restaurant were delicious - a great choice of food and all perfectly cooked. We will definitely return and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I've stayed a few times. The sea view rooms are great for a bath with a view, but a little noisy. The smaller rooms are very small. The restaurant completes the package with excellent food and service. Still my Brighton favourite.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximilian_Stryker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

The room: fab! Bed was really comfortable; great use of space with the drop leaf side table; fantastic views of the sea from our window; only thing was, couldn't see the view from the bath which was in the middle of the room...but ok, maybe I was expecting too much!
Bathroom: fab! Good water pressure in the shower and lots of space for toiletries.
Breakfast: fab! Didn't have a chance to try dinner but I heard from friends living in Brighton the food is excellent in the restaurant.
Didn't like: the artwork in the reception/lobby area - maybe better to have suitable permanent artwork there instead of works for sale...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing