We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all, but not what we imagined”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not bad at all, but not what we imagined”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Ok, so it's a pretty swanky place right on the sea front - however - it's a little tired, and not really wort the high price tag.

We paid a fee to have a sea facing room, which was great - the view out to the Pier was top notch, however, the room was rather tired.
Scuff marks all along the wall, dust, literally everywhere (over the telephone, radio, light boxes) and slight black mold around the sink. You could see this room was great once, but it really needed a quick 'once over'

Looking under the bed was a large magazine wrapper, which went to show the room had not been cleaned properly for our arrival. The bed was also slightly on the small side.

The freestanding bath in the room was a nice feature, but in a room so small, not overly needed.

The wet room was literally just that. everything got wet - toilet roll included. Also very small, and water leaked out and across the floor of the bedroom area.

The staff were very pleasant, and we couldn't fault them. We didn't try the restaurant, but at £50 a head for a 3 course meal, we heard it as very good!

Not trying to paint a negative picture of Drakes, but we definitely think a quick paint job a tidy up is in order.

The hotel did smell nice at all times, and The White Company amenities left in the room were a nice touch.

Would stay again, but wouldn't want to pay full rates until the few little niggles had been ironed out.

Room Tip: Go for sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    248
    98
    32
    23
See reviews for
53
653
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during a June weekend, checking was quick simple, shown to our room with has a 'city view' this meant keeping our hotel blind down, as the room looked into someone's kitchen. So for our privacy, we kept the blind down, which is a shame in the summer.

Our bath room was cosy, but was ideal for a short break.

Location is great only 4/5 mins walk to the pier, and 10mins into the lanes of Brighton.

Didn't eat at the hotel or use the bar, so can't comment.

Hotel was clean, rooms were well serviced and good look knowledge from the staff.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank City H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a lovely-looking, boutique hotel with a great location across from the ocean, so the views from the upstairs rooms are fantastic. Our room had a panoramic view with large windows; it was glorious to look out at the ocean and see the "Brighton Eye" lit up at night. The staff was very cheerful, too. However...the lift was broken so we had to carry our suitcases up 3 flights of steep, winding stairs. In addition, the extremely large tv was programmed to odd stations, rather than the expected BBC, ITV, etc. And no one could figure out how to fix it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wende S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed for one night midweek. We were lucky to get an upgrade from an attic room to a sea view room. The room itself was lovely. Nicely furnished and had a bath overlooking the sea.

There was also a lovely wet room.

A great location too, a few minutes walk into the town and to the shops.

The only downside was the noise from the road outside. Myself and husband didn't sleep well, and he normally sleeps through most noise!

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as they were fully booked. We also ate out for breakfast as this wasn't included in the room rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Staff very friendly and location easy to get to on seafront but needs a refurb. Bath chipped and bathroom seen better days. Room was city view on two levels but even in sept was cold with wind through the window frames. Know it's an old hotel but did expect more for the price. Bar small and restaurant in basement.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel is situated in between the piers and the rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the sea. The hotel has a modern classy look, with a comfortable, stylish bar with an amazing selection of cocktails.
The room was modern and luxurious with a really comfy bed. The bathroom was fantastic, the lighting in the bathroom was really cool and the shower was very fancy. Before dinner I tried to have a shower and realised that the water was not working (it was the while street and not just the hotel) and so we phoned reception who were very apologetic and said that it would be rectified within the hour.
The room service was great and the wine selection reasonable.
We decided to have dinner in the hotel as we had a long journey and were shocked at how amazing the restaurant was. It was genuinely the best meal that I have ever eaten! We were given a complimentary bottle of Champagne as the water in the bathroom hadn't worked briefly which was really nice of the staff. We will definitely be going back to Drakes as it is amazing!

Room Tip: When I stay again I will request a room at the front of the hotel to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly_Anne120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the beginning of September.While staff were generally nice it is not a 4 star

Here are the pros:
Location is pretty good and bed is comfortable. Bedroom a decent enough size, Staff fairly friendly.

Things to consider

Stayed in a larger room with city view (i.e. views of backyards and roof tops). There is no closet...just some hooks and then a weird contraption that has curtains cover it up so it is a make-shift closet? Bathroom was on the floor below - it was grotty, the sink was not very functional, and the motion detector lighting that lights up the staWhen asked for a map of the city they had none.They charge for parking on top of an already high rate.

Have nothing to compare with other hotels in Brighton but it was just "meh" ...if I had paid 50 pounds less then I think that would have been the right price level for the state of the room and ameneties offered.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank statters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,886 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing