We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Of Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
“Night Of Excellence”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife & I have found a beautiful oasis of excellence for our night of passion. On arrival parking was sorted directly outside the hotel so no hassle after a long journey. We were greeted with the most friendly of smiles by reception staff who quickly checked us in to our amazing panoramic sea view of Brighton's Iconic Pier stunning.

In time for a sensational three course romantic dinner for two, really recommend the cocktail bar for after dinner drinks the cappuccino martini was delightful & the Mojito did the trick for the Mrs.......oh I do like to be beside the sea side...

Room Tip: Any sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    248
    98
    33
    23
See reviews for
56
659
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this for a 1 night romantic recharge, the room and staff was fantastic. With champagne and roses and chocolates in our room and the bath run and ready to go we couldn't have asked for more. The staff were incredible and very attentive, what ever we wanted we got and nothing seemed to much trouble, can't wait to stay again very very soon

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paultoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had booked this hotel as a treat to ourselves for a 1 night romantic break. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room wasn't ready as we'd arrived shortly after midday so didn't expect it to be, but the receptionist took our bags and stored them until our return and even offered to ring us when the room was ready, which was a very nice personal touch.

When we did check in, we had booked a ying yang double sea view room 305 - The view was amazing and the room spotless, a bit smaller than I expected but very comfortable.
It was good to see quality bath products from the White Company used. it was also good to have full sized versions of these products in the shower as well & a proper hair dryer for which my wife was grateful! The bath tub is a super idea but unfortunately due to my height, both of us couldn’t fit in it. However, the wet room was spacious and superb with appropriate lighting. We had taken note of previous reviews about everything getting wet and therefore removed towels, toilet rolls etc. before using this.

We were booked in on a 2 course dinner, bed and breakfast rate. The food was amazing, the service attentive but not intrusive and the Bellini’s were to die for and can be recommended.
We chose to have breakfast in our room at no extra charge, which again is unusual. We both ordered the smoked salmon and scrambled egg and drinks and were surprised when our individual trays arrived loaded up not just with this but with cereals and milk and other goodies.
The location of the hotel is excellent right near to the pier and the Brighton eye and opposite the volks electric railway. It is within walking distance of all attractions including the north and south laines.
Thanks to all who made our stay special. We are already looking at when we can stay at Drakes again.

Room Tip: choose a sea view room-it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calypsoEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

From arriving the staff were friendly and very helpful. We parked at the front of the hotel (£12 per night). Our room wasn't ready (we'd arrived at 11am so didn't expect it to be) but the receptionist sorted us with a local map & suggestions of where to visit.
Arriving back at Drakes we had booked a circular sea view room 201 - Wow! The view was amazing and the room spotless, spacious and comfortable, a little road noise. The extras of quality bath products, coffee/teas and biscuits are a nice touch. Nice to see full sized products in the shower & a proper hair dryer!
The window bath tub is a super idea & a really relaxing evening pleasure watching the world go by.
We were booked in on a 2 course dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Well worth it the food was amazing (but tiny gripe eating there both nights would have liked to see a different menu & amuse-bouches the following night).
Breakfast was equally lovely, cereals, juices, full English & coffee.
The location of the hotel is excellent right beside the pier, walking distance of all attractions.
Thanks to all who made our stay extra special, if ever we are back in Brighton we are sure to stay at Drakes again.

Room Tip: Circular sea view - well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We chose Drakes as we wanted a relaxing weekend away at the seaside, with good food and somewhere nice to chill out. Drakes was great and ticked almost all of the boxes. Service is impeccable and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and the little touches like no extra charge for breakfast in bed made the stay so relaxing. The bar has great cocktails and the tasting menu in the restaurant was superb for the price. The bath in the room overlooking the seafront and pier was fabulous. The only negative was that the room could possibly do with a little updating; the comfy chairs were a little worn and old fashioned for such a boutiquey hotel and there was a makeup stain on the bottom of the duvet. Overall an excellent stay and would be perfect if the rooms were just brought to the same standard as the service and food!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarahkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for my boyfriend's birthday in one of the circular sea facing rooms. It had a huge bath by the window, stunning views and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. But it really is the service that makes this place extra special. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful we felt like we were staying at a cool friend's place.
A big thank you goes to Richard and the host team for making our stay memorable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missKlapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Ok, so it's a pretty swanky place right on the sea front - however - it's a little tired, and not really wort the high price tag.

We paid a fee to have a sea facing room, which was great - the view out to the Pier was top notch, however, the room was rather tired.
Scuff marks all along the wall, dust, literally everywhere (over the telephone, radio, light boxes) and slight black mold around the sink. You could see this room was great once, but it really needed a quick 'once over'

Looking under the bed was a large magazine wrapper, which went to show the room had not been cleaned properly for our arrival. The bed was also slightly on the small side.

The freestanding bath in the room was a nice feature, but in a room so small, not overly needed.

The wet room was literally just that. everything got wet - toilet roll included. Also very small, and water leaked out and across the floor of the bedroom area.

The staff were very pleasant, and we couldn't fault them. We didn't try the restaurant, but at £50 a head for a 3 course meal, we heard it as very good!

Not trying to paint a negative picture of Drakes, but we definitely think a quick paint job a tidy up is in order.

The hotel did smell nice at all times, and The White Company amenities left in the room were a nice touch.

Would stay again, but wouldn't want to pay full rates until the few little niggles had been ironed out.

Room Tip: Go for sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing