We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at Drakes for a couple of nights in the sea facing yin yang room. All staff were very helpful and attentive. The meal in the restaurant was superb and my partner was presented with a dessert treat for his birthday. Unfortunately there was a lot of disruption during our first night due to a burst water main directly outside the hotel however the hotel staff made everyone aware of the problems. Apart from the disruption which was not the fault of Drakes the whole stay was very good.
Linda

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda_stephen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had such a great time staying at Drakes. The extremetly friendly and attentive staff made our stay very enjoyable and relaxing. The 5 course meal, wine and service in the restaurant was excelent. I would highly reccomenend Drakes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My partner and I stayed at Drakes in the sea-facing yin yang double room. Although an epic fog obscured the view for most of our stay, when it finally lifted we were rewarded with an incredible seaview, including the iconic pier. The room itself was lovely; comfortable and stylish. The bathtub was absolutely a highlight (scrupulously clean too). The little extras (white company toiletries, full bathrobes, slippers) made us feel very spoiled.
As lovely as the room was, what absolutely made our stay was the incredible food. Eating in the restaurant was an experience second to none - exquiste food, fantastic service, beautiful wine.
It may not be the cheapest hotel in Brighton, but we felt we got much more than what we paid for in terms of elegant luxury. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful too. A brilliant experience all told, we had no complaints.

Room Tip: The sea view is truly spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archaeologue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stunning sea views from a deep double bath in an exceptional location. Absolutely incredible food in the restaurant with a delicious 24 Hr cocktail service. Very attentive and welcoming staff. Most luxurious bed imaginable. An ideal night for a taste of paradise.

Room Tip: Outstanding sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

after reading the great reviews on this hotel we were so looking forward to a two night stay. On arrival we were greeted and quickly checked in and we ordered sandwiches which were bought to our room. Our room was a circular king with sea view. On first impressions looked nice. However the weather outside was terrible and the draught through the windows was horrendous. So much so the heating was on full for the rest of that day and night. Cannot understand why there are no drapes or blinds at the windows as to shut the shutters is a bit of a pain. I personally find it hard to sleep with daylight streaming through. The noise was also unbearable. The little extras ie water coffee, tea toiletries are great. But no where really to hang clothes or put shoes. Also not very keen on the wet room - no real privacy. Sky package great and cannot fault the restaurant or room service. However I would not return and feel it a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We took advantage of the '2 Course Dinner Bed and Breakfast package' to stay for one night after visiting the Brighton Pavilion and Turner exhibition. My wife is disabled and the staff were very understanding and helpful. We stayed in rooom 1 --just 2 steps from reception. The bathroom was magnificent with a large wetroom. The view of the pier and wheel from the bedroom was great. Being right on Marine Parade, I took the precaution of taking some earplugs and had an excellent night's sleep! The room had a good Sky TV pacakge with sports coverage.
The evening before arriving, the hotel contacted us to confirm arrangements and make some specific arrangements for my wife.
I fancied a preprandial stroll and the hotel staff recommended visiting Brighton Rock and the Black Dove --both within 200 yards. I added the Camelford Arms to complete a short circuit before the heavy rain and wind started.
The dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast.
The standard of decoration in the hotel was very good.
We will definitely add Drakes to our list of hotels to visit again.

Room Tip: Take some earplugs for room 1 and enjoy a long shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeB097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two day stay. It's not the cheapest hotel in Brighton but is head an shoulders above some of the large hotels usually associated with the town and you are unlikely to be disturbed by a stag/hen party returning in the early hours after a 12 hour drinking marathon. The restaurant is fantastic and heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essex_Riviera_Player
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £99 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard for quality, service and luxury in the city, winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing