We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
chalfont st peter
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This should have been a much better review !! Very helpful and friendly staff and I cannot fault the service. Good location. The beds are comfortable . The food in the restaurant was excellent . Now for the downside. Due to it's location, it is extremely noisy outside with student beach paties and traffic noise being the worst culprits which means you cannot leave your windows open at night and the room gets stuffy. The room although looking spotlessly clean wasn't, my wife got a piece of broken glass stuck in her foot. The wet room is just that...wet. So don't expect to use the toilet roll again . Parking is an extra cost, and although they do advertise a first come basis for the free spots, why not charge everyone a small fee to park We stayed on the second floor and I believe a nocturnal elephant was residing above us as he seemed to stomp around during the night , not the hotels fault, just pointing out that because it is an old hotel, you can hear other rooms. I do recommend this place, as the staff and location are great, but it's a bit pricey for what I got.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    257
    100
    33
    23
See reviews for
64
679
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked in here for two nights whilst working in Brighton. There is a lot of choices of hotels across the seaside coast and I have stayed in a few before whilst on business, however I was recommended here by a colleague. I was not disappointed. The hotel actually has the ability of seeming rather grand and royal even though it holds quite a quaint feeling and boutique style. The rooms are top standard. Super clean, I had electric or toe controlled curtains that opened to reveal a wardrobe. My room boasted double doors that opened to my own trendy and mint conditioned downstairs bathroom that added a sort of apartment style feeling to the room. Just quality. It's clear to see they have set their standard to certain level and obvious to see that level is the to be the best. The rooms have sky tv with every channel and huge comfortable pillows on the bed, with complimentary white stuff products for you to use as well. Hard to pick a fault. There were non for me. The staff were so friendly and sincere which always contributes. I ordered a cocktail in the evening a and lovely gentleman with exceptional manners created it for me a brought it to my room. Top marks to Drakes. I will,be returning and I will be recommending this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Brighton! Enjoy! P.s DONT FORGET TO ORDER A COCKTAIL!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel was the venue for our wedding, when you have a wedding here they take away the stress of your big day and listen to all of your wants and needs to make your day perfect for you. In taking over the whole hotel you have all of your loved ones near and no unwanted members of the public. Having visited each and every room they are all beautiful but for us and many of our guests the bath in the window over looking the sea in the build up to the wedding is a must. All of the staff at Drakes from the first meeting with Carla (Sales and Marketing manager), to the impromptu meeting with Richard (General manager) and Andy (Head chef) have been amazing we couldn't have been better looked after us and ALL of our guests said it was perfect. Malcolm (Night Porter) giving little touches and Radka (Restaurant manager) was outstanding, personalising menus for each guest and making the dinning room look even more fabulous than normal. The food was all amazing and all even though a small venue it really does work.

Room Tip: **Sorry I made a mistake there is no pool or fitness centre** It really does depend on what is impo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff were great really friendly , cocktails were to die for ( the sort of piña colada was fantastic ) the rooms were a bit on small side , but that didn't really matter as you had the sea view & could have a bath whilst looking out to sea.Bed was comfy, & the white stuff products were a nice touch.we will be coming back to stay .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel a few times because the rooms are great. I recommend the Seaview attic room with freestanding bath, if you can handle the stairs. Breakfast was not particularly nice, that said after a polite conversation with the staff they apologised and did not charge us for breakfast. I will certainly go back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

First impressions are great: the hotel facade, reception and welcome from the staff are excellent. I injured myself recently and the staff immediately clocked my crutch and offered to move me to a ground floor room with more convenient bathroom facilities. Bags were in my room before I'd finished the first class checking in process.

The only opportunity for improvement is that some maintenance is needed on the room. A dimmer switch with no cap, a downlighter hanging out in the bathroom and no aerial on the radio (although the full Sky TV system was great and beats any in-house hotel system I've experienced).

Summary: friendly boutique hotel that I would definitely visit again.

Useful tip: get a sea view room but not on the ground floor unless you want to spend most of the time with the blinds down (according to my colleague).

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Friends, Romans, Countrymen, Lend me your ears,

I'm actually sat in this hotel right now. I could have waited until I checked out to write this review, but if sweet jesus takes my life in my sleep and I miss the opportunity to share my experience, I'll roam the world as an incomplete soul and I'm not having it folks. I just ain't.

Where do I start? In every dimension by which I judge a hotel, this places scores an 11 out of a scale of 1-10, where 1 is terrible and 10 is the big dogs danglies. Lets go through each, shall we? Come on this journey with me.

A. Cocktails. The day started with a cocktail called the p0rnstar martini. Any place that can fit in a drink named after p0rn is ok in my book.

B. Beer. My beer had a viking on it. Did your beer have a viking on it? No, then shut your mouth.

C. Food - Had a steak that tasted like pink, buttery heaven. I didn't even know meat could taste that good. I hardly eat it because my girlfriend doesn't and now I may have to kick her out of the house.

D. People - these people are Quaker level friendly. Whatever you need, they're on it like white on rice.

E. The bathroom. They have these sweet wet rooms for bathrooms. Do you know what that means? It means I can shower, shave and take a dump at the same time and not be judged on it. If i could eat in there, I'd never leave.

So what else do you need to know. Its a "boutique" hotel. "Boutique" is the French word for awesome and this place lives up to the name.

Peace-out

Room Tip: If you choose room 001 you dance in the window for passing strangers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoldenBurrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,186 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 43 in Brighton
7,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard for quality, service and luxury in the city, winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing