We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb boutique hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I shared a mid-week escape from London with my partner at Drakes and our stay was nothing short of fantastic. The roof top balcony view of the pier was stunning. Staff were exceptional. Our room was absolutely wonderful and the bath by the window capped off our perfect night away. We also ate at the restaurant which lived up to our expectations.

Highly recommend for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeroguyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    248
    98
    33
    23
See reviews for
55
659
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I booked few days in Drakes hotel for my boyfriend birthday.
When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly receptionist with a shining smile.
I payed in total 315£ for two night with breakfast included: the room was absolutely tidy and clean, the breakfast was abundant and it was a pleasure to find the newspaper every morning. The price was reasonable and not too much for excellent service.
I also booked a dinner for my boyfriend birthday in the Drakes's restaurant and I ordered a special birthday cake for him: everything was so fresh and delicious!!!! Dinner's cost 116£: I was expecting to pay much more for what I had.
I'm a supervisor in a famous two Michelin star restaurant in London and I can confirm: the service was just perfect and all staff was very kind and charming. I'll happy to back in Drakes hotel (and restaurant) the next time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed one night for our wedding anniversary and had the 5 course chef's tasting menu.
We booked a top floor room with access to a private rooftop balcony overlooking the sea which had great views over the sea and Brighton pier. The best part was the wonderful friendly service from everyone we met during our stay. The added touch of the Happy Anniversary card and pamper gifts was lovely and made our stay even more special. As for the meal, I can safely say that was the best meal we have ever had! Amazing!!
We had a really special anniversary and will definitely come back again sometime.

Room Tip: Top floor means a lot of stairs but it's worth it for the rooftop terrace. Be warned you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalfont st peter
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This should have been a much better review !! Very helpful and friendly staff and I cannot fault the service. Good location. The beds are comfortable . The food in the restaurant was excellent . Now for the downside. Due to it's location, it is extremely noisy outside with student beach paties and traffic noise being the worst culprits which means you cannot leave your windows open at night and the room gets stuffy. The room although looking spotlessly clean wasn't, my wife got a piece of broken glass stuck in her foot. The wet room is just that...wet. So don't expect to use the toilet roll again . Parking is an extra cost, and although they do advertise a first come basis for the free spots, why not charge everyone a small fee to park We stayed on the second floor and I believe a nocturnal elephant was residing above us as he seemed to stomp around during the night , not the hotels fault, just pointing out that because it is an old hotel, you can hear other rooms. I do recommend this place, as the staff and location are great, but it's a bit pricey for what I got.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked in here for two nights whilst working in Brighton. There is a lot of choices of hotels across the seaside coast and I have stayed in a few before whilst on business, however I was recommended here by a colleague. I was not disappointed. The hotel actually has the ability of seeming rather grand and royal even though it holds quite a quaint feeling and boutique style. The rooms are top standard. Super clean, I had electric or toe controlled curtains that opened to reveal a wardrobe. My room boasted double doors that opened to my own trendy and mint conditioned downstairs bathroom that added a sort of apartment style feeling to the room. Just quality. It's clear to see they have set their standard to certain level and obvious to see that level is the to be the best. The rooms have sky tv with every channel and huge comfortable pillows on the bed, with complimentary white stuff products for you to use as well. Hard to pick a fault. There were non for me. The staff were so friendly and sincere which always contributes. I ordered a cocktail in the evening a and lovely gentleman with exceptional manners created it for me a brought it to my room. Top marks to Drakes. I will,be returning and I will be recommending this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Brighton! Enjoy! P.s DONT FORGET TO ORDER A COCKTAIL!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel was the venue for our wedding, when you have a wedding here they take away the stress of your big day and listen to all of your wants and needs to make your day perfect for you. In taking over the whole hotel you have all of your loved ones near and no unwanted members of the public. Having visited each and every room they are all beautiful but for us and many of our guests the bath in the window over looking the sea in the build up to the wedding is a must. All of the staff at Drakes from the first meeting with Carla (Sales and Marketing manager), to the impromptu meeting with Richard (General manager) and Andy (Head chef) have been amazing we couldn't have been better looked after us and ALL of our guests said it was perfect. Malcolm (Night Porter) giving little touches and Radka (Restaurant manager) was outstanding, personalising menus for each guest and making the dinning room look even more fabulous than normal. The food was all amazing and all even though a small venue it really does work.

Room Tip: **Sorry I made a mistake there is no pool or fitness centre** It really does depend on what is impo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff were great really friendly , cocktails were to die for ( the sort of piña colada was fantastic ) the rooms were a bit on small side , but that didn't really matter as you had the sea view & could have a bath whilst looking out to sea.Bed was comfy, & the white stuff products were a nice touch.we will be coming back to stay .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,029 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing