We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always feels like home”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd or 4th stay at this hotel, always first choice when coming to Brighton.
Great hotel
Lovely room, all you need.
Great sea view.
Sky tv if needed
Staff very friendly and feels like they enjoy their jobs.
Nice card in room when we arrived which was very nice.
Amazing cocktails
Well done to the team

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    248
    98
    33
    23
See reviews for
56
659
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The bar was also the reception where we checked in.

Room: we got the circular room with sea view. It's gorgeous with the tub right in the middle of the room overlooking the sea and pier. The only downside is that there's no elevator and the room was on the third floor so it was quite the exercise.

Service: the staff were really friendly and tried to accommodate all of our needs.

Location: the hotel was right by the pier. It's the perfect location with lots of restaurants and bars near by.

Recommendation: out of the hotels in Brighton, I highly recommend this one. It's trendy, clean and comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RARazzaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Drakes is not a 5 star hotel and should not be judged as such. It is well located. The rooms are comfortable, if a little tired and the reception areas are small, but in three respects this boutique hotel is outstanding. The first is the people and the service they provide. Friendly, attentive and knowledgeable, they were a match for any 5 star hotel. The second is the food in the restaurant. The full English breakfast was perfect and the dinner we had was exceptional. From an amuse-bouche of beautifully flavoured tomato consomme, to giant scallops, summer truffle ravioli and cod loin - this has to be one of best restaurants on the south coast. And thirdly, the cocktail bar. What a wonderful surprise with a great list and super professional cocktail barman, which added an extra twist to a special weekend. My wife and I would strongly recommend Drakes and wouldn't hesitate to book again when next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toby888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Came down for the midweek horse racing as a last minute decision and booked by phone the day before. They were able to offer a substantial discount on their online prices (approx £40) so it's well worth a call to see what they can do.
The room was beautifully decorated and spotless as was the bathroom.
It was however a hike to the attic rooms and showed how out of condition I am. I will be coming back but shall ensure that I book a lower floor room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Was not disappointed with our visit to drakes of Brighton ! Everything was made really personable by the staff and the room was amazing too! Stylish , modern and comfortable . Not a 100% sure on the wet room as was a little small but the bath tub and the view made up for that . Delicious cocktails to round everything off nicely . Defo be back sometime soon

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zoeheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just a one night stop, after an overnight flight in from New York. Lovely (if small) room, facing the sea and the pier. Interesting shower arrangement (with the toilet and sink in the same space) but worked very well. Big enough for two (allegedly). Just don't make the mistake of turning on the shower when all you want to do is wash your hands! Very peaceful stay...great service. I've tried a few "top" hotels in Brighton, and this stands out as being the best we've been to (so far). Well modernised, with great boutique hotel flair, and simple but effective services like free wi-fi. Also very convenient for the town, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: No lift = stairs. We stayed on the second floor which gives great views and doesn't require too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonwt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were staying for one night, so i booked the cheapest room on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The room (304) was great. I was expecting a tiny room at the back, but it was on the top floor with a sea view. The bathroom was a good size with a bath, not just a shower. Bed was really comfy. We ordered martinis in our room on arrival, then sauntered down to dinner for the most amazing steak. Perfect stay. All the staff were wonderful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor would be good away from traffic noise and great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing