We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad and The Ugly!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Henley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The Good, The Bad and The Ugly!!”
Reviewed 2 March 2007

We also stayed in the much vaunted circular room with the sea view-did Kylie really stay here?? I doubt it!
Starting with the good;our reception was friendly and helpful, this is a very difficult hotel to park at and if there is a space you get stung for £12.50 and it is tiny.We also hade a very nice meal in their resteraunt although it is very cramped, you get to know your fellow guests whether you want to or not.
The room is well equipped but small, the wet room will not suit everyone but it was ok.Shutters in the room insufficient to keep out the lights outside the hotel which did not go off until after midnight.It was also freezing, the underfloor heating was poor so they had put in a tiny heater which helped but it was all very heath robinsonish for this price.
The bar service was very amateurish and the seats were not clean, nuts and debris all over the place.
Breakfast was shambolic, in fact we walked out.We were eventually shown to a tiny table (after being ignored) squeezed between some rather large guests,We were then ignored for a further 10 mins at which point we decided to call it a day.When we were asked about our stay on checkout I obviously mentioned breakfast, nobody seemed that bothered.
Pity, could be a really nice place to stay but needs more experienced staff and less covers in the resteraunt.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cramped resteraunt
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank brummyboy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    248
    99
    33
    23
See reviews for
57
664
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2007

We stayed at Drakes hotel just for one night to get away from it all and have a well earned rest.

The hotel was great, friendly staff who could not do enough to help us. We were also upgraded to the sea facing circular room,which we were told is the room kylie stayed in!!-an added bonus. The room was excellent- big comfy bed, luxurious free standing bath and great wet room. I would highly recomend this hotel, it is the best place i have ever stayed in by a mile having lots of extra touches like bathrobe and slippers and nice smellies

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank superspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London W1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2007

The room (circular sea view) was lovely. The sea view was great. Only downside was a bit of traffic noise but it wasn't too bad (and I am generally very fussy about noise!). The service was efficient and unobtrusive. I have booked my next visit.

  • Liked — The views and the design
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AVeryFussyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
197 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2007

During the first week of January, we were able to get a last-minute special through Drakes's own website: 99 pounds, compared to the regular rate of 199, bed and breakfast. (You can also check laterooms.com for similar discounts.)

Because we got such a great rate, I'm inclined to give Drakes a very positive review. First, the location is outstanding. It's right on the seafront, with a wonderful view of Brighton Pier. Drakes is in Kemp Town, a little bit away from the noisy, tatty part of the seafront , although you can easily walk to those places if you want to.

We didn't get a sea-facing room. Instead, we got a duplex that faced the back, but we didn't mind because it was so quiet. The room was on the first floor of this former townhouse, so it had relatively high ceilings and felt spacious. Toiletries from the White Company came in a gift box. The linens were so sumptuous I made a note of the maker (Beltrami) so I can get them for my own home.

The bathroom, accessed down a short stairway in the room, looked great but it didn't function very well. There was no counter space to put your things, and the vessel sink (those things should be banned!) was too high. A previous reviewer posted pictures of this room, so you can see for yourself.

Gingerman, the hotel restaurant, has gotten a lot of positive reviews. We didn't try it for dinner, choosing instead to go to Hotel du Vin (excellent.) Gingerman is located in the basement, and they also serve breakfast there. It's probably lit nicely for dinner, but in the morning it looked drab and lifeless.

Drakes has become our favorite hotel in Brighton. We'll definitely use it again, with or without a last minute special.

  • Liked — Location, room
  • Disliked — Bathrooom could have functioned better
  • Tips/Secrets — Check for last minute deals
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2006

A relaxing stay and great retreat by train from London for a long weekend. Located in Kemptown of Brighton right on the sea across from a busy street with spectacular views of the Pier. We stayed in the circular sea-facing room on the second floor which was fabulous. Roomy with striking contemporary decor, wonderful rounded vintage windows with charming shutters for privacy, flat screen TV, amazingly comfortable bed with high thread count linens gazing to the sea. Rather small bathroom with signature soaking tub near the bed area. Difficult to contain water from the open shower concept in the bathroom. Quiet room with minimal traffic noise. No elevator but staff willingly took bags to the room. Staff were helpful and professional , providing great dining tips. Did not eat at the hotel as there are many excellent choices in Brighton that should not be missed. This is a pricey hotel with a sophisticated, adult feeling and special touches which are rather hip. Suggest getting the best value and experience with a larger sea-facing room on the lower floor.

  • Liked — Stylish and sophisticated, fabulous views
  • Disliked — Pricey and small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay more for the larger sea-facing rooms on lower floor to get the best experience
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leisureboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2006

Just got back from 2 nights at drakes in Brighton. First visit to Brighton and the hotel looked fab on the website.

Now lets get a few things right, the hotel is lovely with great views, we booked a sea facing room in the attic for £195 per night room only. We got there, checked in, we had two overnight bags, mine very heavy, after all I am a girl and we need a lot more gear than you guys when we go away.

Our room was four flights up, hey no problem you think, the views are gonna be great, but Drakes to not have a lift!! So after climbing the three flights of curving stairs, getting altitude sickness on the way up we get to the final flight of stairs, which are very steep and very narrow. At this point we are need of oxygen, we puff and pant into the room. Lovely room, small though for £195.00 per night. Lovely chunky bed with fresh cotton sheets on, bathrobes and slippers (nice touch) until you get into bed and bash your knee on the side of the extremely nice looking, but very vicious chunky bed. There was a bath in the room, free standing, and a ensuite cupboard which passed as a wet room, shower, come toilet, come sink, great except for when you have a shower you then need to wipe the toilet down with a towel because its sopping wet (Very clean, not!).

If you are new into a relantionship, don't even think about it you can hear and see everything whilst in the loo! Very romantic, just don't have the beans for breakfast!

We ate the first night in the Gingerman restuarant, very good food, good service, but crumbs on the suede booth style seating, nice touch for £80+ (this is bill excluding wine or desserts). Just a little thing but hey you are paying for above average accommadation and service, and just not getting it.

Missed breakfast the next day, was up to late, breakfast finishes at 10am, which is early for a weekend. So we goes out in search of a fry up and got one for £10 including coffee for the 2 of us, in Time Out cafe, been going for 20 years, very shabby chic but good value for money.

We made the mistake of getting up the next day earlier and going to for breakfast, £12.50 for a bowl of porridge and maple syrup? My husband ordered kippers with toast (you only get one slice) also £12.50! I think the Catherine Tate sketch comes into mind about the northerners dirty robbing B******!

If you have money to burn then go, and you can look very swanky coming out and saying you stopped at Drakes "Boutique" Hotel. But if youv'e got the money ,one thing I can't stand is getting ripped off and thats how I feel about this place. £500 plus for 2 nights, could have stopped in a very nice hotel for half the price and felt that you got value for money, thats is Drakes problem, exploit the rich and rip em off. Not for us next time.

Small note, don't have too much to eat, you'll never get up them stairs you'll need an ambulance man of hand to give mouth to mouth!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the biill!
  • Tips/Secrets — don't do it
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank llarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2006

The hotel is centrally located in Kemptown and is close to all other sections of the city. When I checked in the staff were very helpful. When I entered my room I was disappointed that the entire room was smaller than my home shower. The bed was comfortable. I had an attic seaview room. The view was very nice. The bathtub was a good soaker.

The hotel attracts couples and I felt like an intruder sometimes as I was travelling alone. The hotel ended up being very close to all of Brighton's restaurants and entertainment districts.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — No elevator. I had broken my foot before the trip and had to navigate four flights of stairs/
  • Tips/Secrets — Best for romantic weekend.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Shanehoustonlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing