We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay”
Review of Lichfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lichfield House
Ranked #83 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Given the outrageously expensive prices around Brighton, this is a good option for a short stay. It is centric and close to the beach. The staff were very helpful to us as we had a lot of luggage, and although we had to arrive earlier and leave late they were understanding.

You have to be aware that this place has no reception, so you will have to have received an email with door code and instructions.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anduin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is an easy check in, you receive by email the code for the door and the name of your room. Your key is waiting for you in the room. We stayed in the Eaton room, at £62 it was good enough for the 1 night stay. It could have been much cleaner, wasn't so sure about the shower and cobwebs and the very low bed. Pretty exhausting trip so all we wanted was just to sleep, so we didn't mind so much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights on a trip away to visit friends and family. Its a self check in so the key is on your bed and you leave it there when you go, no faffing around which was nice. Polite lady cleaned our room every day and left fresh towels, would of been nice if she replenished the milk and tea but never mind. We paid 62 a night which is very reasonable for the location. Room was a good size and bed very comfy with a nice functional tv. My only faults are the ironing board which was a table top one but legs didn't stand up so had to use it flat on the dresser which to be honest isn't great to have it on anyway and was difficult to get clothes to stay in one place when ironing! Also the bathroom is incredibly tiny and the door doesn't even open fully because the toilet is there so had to squirm my way round which wasn't great and I did hit my head a few times! Dressing gowns were provided which was a nice touch although they were very rough and towel like so I would say scrap them or buy soft ones! Overall though I was happy with my stay and it was very clean and convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I spent 3 lovely nights @ this guest house. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was lovely and quiet with good facilities and a comfortable bed. I would defiantly stay @ Lichfield house again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The rooms were okay, clean and good size. We lived in the Patcham room, which was very close to entrance so we could hear very well when others walked in. There was an easy check-in- and out as we got a code from them for the main door and our room key was in the room and we just left the key on a table when we left. The location was good, only a couple of minutes walk from the main street with all the shops and you could see the ocean down the street outside of the hotel. No breakfast but a 20% discount at a café a minute away. No parking but you could stay out on the streets for free during the night. Overall good, but we will probably not choose this hotel in the first hand next time.

Room Tip: The rooms with a bay window have a good view but can be a bit noisy as they are by the street. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Currently staying in the Adalaid room on the ground floor. Good job we didn't bring a cat, definitely wouldn't have been able to swing it anywhere.

Walls are paper thin, I can hear next door flushing and showering. Our shower is luke warm and be careful when plugging into the wall on the right side of the bed, the socket has started coming out of the wall.

Does the job however, it's basic, it's small, it has a bed. That's it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed in this B&B on a week night and as we were unable to arrive before 6pm to check in we were emailed a code number for the main door. Before we arrived we received a call from a member of staff making sure we knew how to get in, the lady on the phone was very helpful and polite.

We arrived at the B&B, the code worked correctly and we were very happy with our room. It was very clean, tidy and comfortable. The stay was only overnight but it was everything it was advertised to be, a low cost comfortable room with no breakfast.

I would definately recommend this B&B. I have since tried to book the room again for another stay but have discovered they are fully booked. Not sure where all the low ratings/reviews are coming from for a buisness that would appear very popular!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifeinthemumlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,458 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lichfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lichfield House

Address: 30 Waterloo Street | Hove, Brighton BN3 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Hotel Class:4 star — Lichfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lichfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lichfield House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing