We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful”
Review of The Lanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lanes Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
hong kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very friendly and helpful”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A basic hotel at Brighton seafront. Super 180 degree seaview. Some 8 minutes walk from Brighton Pier. Short walk to bus stops. Reception area was well attended by hotel staff round the clock. People there were very helpful. Thanks very much again to Mardina for the help, patience, and different options to help us get easiest transportation means. We had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Book early is always advisable. My stay coincided with the Labour Conference and all hotels were ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leungyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    109
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
50
112
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

could not fault the hotel at all, had a sea view, what more could you ask for, waking up on a sunny morning looking out over Brighton, staff were nice, location is fantastic, only a short walk to the pier and the town, where you can visit all the nice bars and shops, and if you go left and walk to the Marina you can go in the bars, well worth a visit

Room Tip: Just a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for Gay pride weekend in August this year, absolutely loved it!
Location is brilliant and Rooms were a great size, we had a room with a side view of the sea and pier! Loved sitting down in the big comfy chair cigarette in hand, watching the sea!
The dining area is very modern and clean, breakfast is great!
All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful, there is on site parking which is free and that is a rare find in Brighton these days!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alarna28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Through the years I've stayed many times at the Lanes Hotel on Brighton's Seafront.

Great location, great Staff and great value for money.

Checked in on Sunday 19 August and stayed in room 114 for four nights.
The room was comfortable, spotless, with side sea view, overall - a delightful room.

The Staff are a huge asset to this Hotel.
I worked in Hotels for over 42 years and appreciate a warm welcome, plus helpful, efficient service delivered by friendly staff.
On check in, the lift was out of order and as I had a bad foot and unable to climb the stairs to the forth floor so Medina kindly allocated room 114 for my stay. In fact this room was better than my requested room 402.

It's nice to be remembered and was greeted by Lucy at breakfast most days of my stay.

Breakfast is European, lots of variety, hot & cold dishes, pastries, croissants and lots of hot toast and very good tea.

The remote control stopped working late one night and the Receptionist kindly got me another without any problem.

I've stayed at other hotels in Brighton but it's always a pleasure to return to Lanes Hotel.
I plan to visit again later this year.

TF Drohan.

Room Tip: If your budget will not cover 'front hotel sea view room' suggest you request 'side sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Lanes Hotel this weekend for 1 night. The hotel was adequate for our needs, clean, good shower, clean towels, coffee & tea facilities, hairdryer, trouser press. It could do with updating and is quite noisy, banging doors etc... but not bad for a short stay. The breakfast was great, lots of selection and the staff very polite. Don't think we will stay again but overall not a bad experience.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAMStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect, the staff are so nice and the breakfast does the job. But this hotel is so old and in need to an urgent touch up, the carpets where filthy and our room was in the basement. I was on my hen do so we reali just just it at night to sleep and i suppose for that - it does the job.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have stayed at The Lanes Hotel on my hen party weekend. The service we received was first class, we had a great experience from the moment we arrived to check in to the moment we checked out. We were specially pleased with the SPA treatments we received ( including sugar scrubs, full body massages and beauty treatments such as eye lash extensions, make up, hair styling ). Matthew Parr from the Spa really made sure our stay was as pleasant as possible and he went the extra mile to make my hen do weekend special. I highly recommend the hotel and the SPA.
Teodora

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teodora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#15 of 44 in Brighton
1,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanes Hotel

Property: The Lanes Hotel
Address: 70-72 Marine Parade | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lanes Hotel is a Grade 1 Listed building centrally situated on Brighton’s seafront, and offers free limited car parking and wi-fi. Located moments from central Brighton, The Royal Sussex County Hospital and the lively Brighton Marina.All bedrooms are en-suite and range from Standard Doubles, to 4-Posters, Balcony rooms, Family rooms and Group rooms. Public areas include the Reception, Licensed Bar and Sun Terrace, Sea Facing TV Lounge and Breakfast Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanes Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing