We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just my favorite kind of hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lanes Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just my favorite kind of hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed here in mid January. Booked by means of a friendly phone-call with a real person. Helpful, friendly staff. Old fashioned hotel and a bit dilapidated -just the way we like it! The room wasn't very big, and the "bathroom" pokey, and without a bidet; but the view was spectacular. Breakfast was unsurprising, but in my view, a missed opportunity for delighting guests, the standard offering of bacon, scrambled egg, baked beans etc kept warm in electric bains-marie. Had it not been the first week in January there'd have been more turnover and the toast may have been fresher, but the charming Rusisan waitress did bring us fresh toast and surprisingly good coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view (of course)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zen0zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    108
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
49
110
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Good location to everything, beach and pier right opposite and easy walking distance into the Town and Lanes which have some lovely shops, eating establishments and nice atmosphere pubs to try.
The hotel itself is a bit outdated but clean with friendly staff to offer advice, also a small bar although didn't get to try it myself. One big bonus as parking in Brighton isn't cheap is on a first come first serve basis has parking out front for at least 6 average cars if parked up knowing your likely to get blocked in.
For somewhere to lay your head with ease of parking would recommend, breakfast very basic and without being fussy would be nice to have a choice of slightly healthier bread than white.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaz328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a rather old fashioned Hotel on the sea front, however, the bed rooms are very comfortable with large beds and lovely sheets and pillows, buffet breakfast is provided and there is a downstairs lounge for meeting friend or just relaxing. A late night bar is available to end the evening. Sea view from some rooms, but all are excellent. Friendly staff and a come again atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trish a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very nice Hotel with very limited onsite parking ( although mentioned in any booking site you can use ). The room we had ( Sea view and a balcony ) was nice although a tiny little bit dated. A bit over priced for what you get and the be honest, the Breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had. Nice location, nice staff and easy access to town and the marina both being a about a 10 min walk. Overall 7/10.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for my 20th birthday, we had a room on the 4th floor which was a family room with 3 double beds.
The staff are absolutely amazing the lady behind the front desk can't remember her name was so helpful she knew all the best places to go gave us advise and so on.. Hotel was very clean, lift is dodgy thought I was going to get stuck but that's just minor.. The hotel is a smoking hotel to our surprise but worked out brilliant for us as we are all smokers but did not at all smell of stale smoke.. Location is good it's pretty much opposite the Brighton pier but not to close, nightlife I would recommend getting a cab there and back as We walked it home and it was around half an hour walk.. Breakfast in the morning is awful but what do you expect for a b&b! Overall was very pleased with this hotel and staff would definitely go back there on my next visit to Brighton!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiep76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed as a party of 15 on a Hen weekend and the location and facilities at The Lanes was excellent for what we needed. Four of us stayed in one of the family rooms which had a fantastic sea view ( a real wow factor when we walked in) via 3 large windows. The room was comfortable and clean and we slept well in the beds which had lovely crisp white linen. The staff are friendly and very helpful and went out of their way to ensure we all got free parking at the front of the hotel, which was appreciated as it's expensive to pay to park nearby. The hotel is only a short walk to the pier and all the nightlife so in an excellent position.
We did think the breakfast was a little basic, but there was sufficient choice. I would definitely return to the hotel if visiting Brighton again for a short break as it's good value for money.

Room Tip: Family room (202) - stunning sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

A basic hotel at Brighton seafront. Super 180 degree seaview. Some 8 minutes walk from Brighton Pier. Short walk to bus stops. Reception area was well attended by hotel staff round the clock. People there were very helpful. Thanks very much again to Mardina for the help, patience, and different options to help us get easiest transportation means. We had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Book early is always advisable. My stay coincided with the Labour Conference and all hotels were ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leungyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanes Hotel

Property: The Lanes Hotel
Address: 70-72 Marine Parade | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lanes Hotel is a Grade 1 Listed building centrally situated on Brighton’s seafront, and offers free limited car parking and wi-fi. Located moments from central Brighton, The Royal Sussex County Hospital and the lively Brighton Marina.All bedrooms are en-suite and range from Standard Doubles, to 4-Posters, Balcony rooms, Family rooms and Group rooms. Public areas include the Reception, Licensed Bar and Sun Terrace, Sea Facing TV Lounge and Breakfast Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanes Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing