We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lanes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lanes Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
1 review
“Lovely Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

Nice hotel, nothing fancy but in a perfect location as we were in easy walking distance of everything! Rooms could do with updating, however i think this part of it's 'oldy worldy' charm and actually adds the appeal. We had no complaints whatsoever and the breakfast was lovely! Would definitely go back again, ideal for a 2 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollipops1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    104
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
46
107
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed in room 116, a large double room with balcony. There were 2 of us with our little baby. Plenty of room, even with all the baby paraphernalia. Furnishings are not contemporary, but i think that adds to the hotel's charm.
Balcony was big, with chairs and a bench on it, and unspoilt views of the sea and pier.
Staff were lovely, and always made sure we had everything we needed and recommended restaurants etc. Breakfast was cooked to order and great.

Overall, i'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_blondey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

I decide to take my partner to brighton for the weekend, I had decided to go in the middle of the easter holidays, and the prices of most hotels was too much. I managed to get a great rate for a double room at The Lanes Hotel. When we arrived the room was already prepared for us, and it was 11am when we walked through the door! The room was of an average size, but had tea&coffee making facilities, a flat screen television, and a decent size bathroom with a power shower. I was pleases to find a hotel which still had smoking rooms, that was much appreciated. The staff were great, and very helpful. They advised us on the best places to go to and with taxi numbers, one of girls infact bought me up some tea&coffee when I didnt expect it. Breakfast in the morning was inclusive of the room rate, and very good, me and my partner both had a f ry up and a continental breakfast. All in all it was a great stay and I will be returning in the near future.

And they give you sweeties as you check in!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grizzlygrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

Delightful small hotel which retains that friendly personal feel in a great seafront location.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busypersonWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

It was a pleasure staying at this hotel as the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms were slightly on the small side but didn't mind too much as we were out most of the time. It is not far from the Pier which was nice as we could take a stroll down and preferred that to being slap bang in the middle of the pier as it could get rather noisy. This hotel was in an ideal location for us and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Breakfast was great as had the usual fry up as well as many other cereals, yoghurts, etc. We would highly recommended this hotel as it was in a good location. It was also very clean, tidy and the staff were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

We Stayed at The ' Lanes Hotel' Last Saturday . Its location is great being on the seafront and close to the centre shopping area.
We were lucky to get a space in the car park which was free and becuse parking is an issue in Brighton we left our car there and got a taxi into the centre of town which cost £4.
It was lovley and warm everywhere in the hotel which was good considering the freezing weather outside,
There is a small well stocked bar which had pleasant backround music playing quietly,
Our room was a side sea view on the third floor which didnt matter as they have a lift - in other hotels in Brighton that I have stayed in I have had to clim loads of stairs which I found tiring .
The room was very clean ,spacious and comfotable with teasmaking and a flat screen TV .
We had a beautifully tiled bathroom with a very effective powerfull shower and Bath ,
The bed was good and we slepted like logs !
Breakfast is served in a dining room which has antique walnut panels and waitresses in black and white uniforms which I havent seen in years !

The Breakfast was very good ,All the staff were friendly and helpful and the bill was £80 for the night .
This hotel has got a very pleasant feel about it and excellent value for Money ,
I think next Time I would go for one of the front rooms which have balconies,We will certainly be returning .

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geeniegeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

The Lanes Hotel is a mixture of positives and negatives. The location is fantastic, near the pier and a short walk to the beach, it is reasonably priced for the location and the staff are both friendly and helpful. Street parking nearby is £9 per day. Our room was on the small side, but not tiny. However the decor was tired and dated with some unpleasant looking mould in the bathroom, the ceiling light fitting which was dangling by bare wires did not encourage confidence. Te breakfast is OK, but not great, we were advised to come a bit early for breakfast as: "it gets busy and you may have to wait otherwise as everything is cooked to order". There is no way my breakfast was cooked to order, it had clearly been lying in an oven drying out, whilst being kept warm for a fair while. Whilst I appreciate that a busy hotel may well bulk cook things then plate them as required, don't say that things will be cooked to order, when they are clearly not. Overall if you want a cheap place near the sea-front without much luxury, but is clean then this is the place you want, if you're looking to treat someone with a weekend away then it isn't.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claretandbluerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,668 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanes Hotel

Property: The Lanes Hotel
Address: 70-72 Marine Parade | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lanes Hotel is a Grade 1 Listed building centrally situated on Brighton’s seafront, and offers free limited car parking and wi-fi. Located moments from central Brighton, The Royal Sussex County Hospital and the lively Brighton Marina.All bedrooms are en-suite and range from Standard Doubles, to 4-Posters, Balcony rooms, Family rooms and Group rooms. Public areas include the Reception, Licensed Bar and Sun Terrace, Sea Facing TV Lounge and Breakfast Rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lanes Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing