We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Brighton!”
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The Twenty One is by far, the best hotel we've stayed at in Brighton! Matt & Andy were so welcoming and really went out of their way to make us feel at home! Our room (number 7) was immaculate and the tray of teas and nibbles was very generous! We were so touched to come back on our 2nd day and find chocolate covered strawberries and homemade rum chocolates in our mini fridge. Personal touches like these made this a perfect weekend break. The breakfast is not to be missed!... Fresh fruit & Full cooked breakfast was delicious and they cater to every need without any problem!
Matt & Andy have an amazing little gem of a hotel and we wouldnt stay anywhere else next time were in Brighton!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahlia-Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,471 - 1,477 of 2,151 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

The stand-out feature of the Twenty One is Matt and Andy's flawless service. From the first day when they sit you down with a cold drink to welcome you and give you lots of great advice on places to go/eat in Brighton (Pomegranate restaurant is a must!), every possible convenience or comfort has been thought of - down to home made chocolate truffles in our room as a treat over easter! The breakfast is delicious with lots of choices both healthy and less so, and each room is kitted out with DVD player and a fridge (complete with bottle opener and wine glasses) should you want a night in. Everything is spotlessly clean and, although some rooms are not the largest you will ever stay in (we were in room 7), they are full of character and very comfortable indeed. Highly recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

After a long bank holiday drive from Oxford we were met by one of the owners, Andy, who took our luggage and swiftly organized our parking permits for the entire Easter weekend. Once inside, co-owner Matt settled us down with welcoming drinks, maps and lots of information about the wonderful city of Brighton. Our room on the first floor, was everything we expected; tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean and full of lovely surprises; a Lindt Easter egg on the pillow, goodies and water in the mini-fridge and free wifi. The location is perfect; a few minutes from the iconic Brighton pier and in Kemp Town with lovely restaurants and bars within walking distance. At least 3 of the local restaurants give 10% discount to those staying in the Twenty One and we took advantage of this several times. Breakfast is a delight; an array of at least 20 cereals, fruit, juices, and if you are able for it, freshly cooked full breakfasts that will keep you going all day! Brighton is such an under-rated city, really worth a visit; urban chic with a sea breeze, or London by the sea if you prefer. Wacky shops, funky galleries, designer clothes go hand in hand with the traditional stick of rock and the delicious aromas from the seaside food vendors' stalls. Our 3-night stay was far too short; as well as this interesting city there are numerous places nearby worth investigating. We'll be back and when we do, it'll be to the Twenty One!

Room Tip: Wi-fi best on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robnliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Matt and Andy made a special day a million times better. The room and setting were lovely - you could not ask for more fantastic hosts. I was devasted to have cut short our stay due to the sickness of our sitter. This B and B is pure 5* - breakfast was to die for - am determined to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yummymummy43040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This was our second visit and it was as wonderful as the first. Matt and Andy were perfect hosts, loved the room - so comfortable and easy to totally relax. Great breakfasts and hotel is in a great location, we love Kemp Town, it has everything you need. We would recommend the Twenty One to anyone who wants to get away for a stress free break in Brighton - our stay was at Easter so Matt and Andy went that extra mile and we were spoilt rotten with chocolate goodies and cakes!

Room Tip: Sea views in romms 3 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This was our third stay at the Twenty One and it won't be our last. We were greeted like old friends and offered wine and beer while our luggage was whisked away to our room. We stayed in room 8 this time and I think it's our favourite so far, lovely new bathroom and a huge comfortable bed with lovely views of the sea. Matt & Andy are superb hosts and have thought of absolutely everything. We loved coming back from a day out to find little treats waiting for us in the room. The breakfasts were superb as ever - the bacon was the best I've ever tasted! All in all another great stay and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I booked the 21 as a place to stay for my birthday this year. I specifically wanted to stay in Brighton due to the veggie food choice and staying over meant I wouldn't have to worry about getting the very early last train home ! .
We had a wonderful welcome on arrival with our bag beng whisked up to our room , we were offered refreshments before we indulged in shopping and provided with a useful map of the area.
The room was lovely - there wasn't anything more to wish for .. huge comfy bed , lovely window boxes and view of the sea, a birthday card from Matt and Andy to make me feel like a true birthday girl !!
After time out at the shops we relaxed with champagne in our room before heading out to meet friends for food and drinks ..I would say that we were close enough to everything that we could walk everywehere we wanted to .. but on our return at night we were well away from any noisy clubs and bars .
Breakfast was fantastic .. in the self serve area they had my favourite muselis !! and my partner enjoyed his full English.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone and will certainly book again next time I want to stay in Brighton.
Thank Matt and Andy for making my birthday that little bit extra special :-)
looloo

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looloo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,215 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,827 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
835 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £78 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing