We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great atmosphere”
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at The Twenty One in Brighton for two nights. Matt and Andy are hosting a fabulous B&B because of their hospitality, good service and delicious breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miasjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,425 - 1,431 of 2,182 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

We booked the Twenty One because of the reviews we'd seen. We were not disappointed. We were greeted on arrival with a cup of tea and biscuits and our bags were taken up to our room. We were then given a detailed "virtual" tour of Brighton with all the best restaurants and places of interest marked out on a map. On entering our room we found a veritable feast of snacks, including a plate of muffins and there was a mini fridge containing complimentary bottled water. The room was absolutely immaculate and fully stocked with all toiletries needed, including bath robes and slippers! The breakfast was absolutely brilliant and there were complimentary drinks available including wine and beer for guests to enjoy after a busy day out exploring Brighton. Matt and Andy clearly know how to make their guests feel welcome and showed a real interest in what we had done each day. We would welcome the Twenty One without hesitation.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 (double). Perfect for a short break and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We were blown away by the hospitality, quality and facilities of this B&B in Brighton. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated. It most certainly lived up to it's 2011 Tripadvisor rating. The Hosts never left a stone unturned and were totally aware of our needs, almost before we were.

Thank you Matt and Andy, we would most certainly recommend your B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Well what can we say other than what a magnificent stay we had at the "21", from the moment we arrived and were greeted by Andy, to seeing our room and enjoying the fabulous breakfast with our lovely Matt, we knew we had made the right choice in picking the "21" for our birthday breakaway.
If you wish to have excellent hosts, superb accomodation, well stocked complimentary tray, very detailed where to eat and what to see in Brighton then you can't get any better than visiting the "21".
Whilst we were there my wife had her very special birthday no numbers mentioned LOL and I had taken all her cards with us, she placed the family ones around the room and when we came back from our day out Matt & Andy had got her a card and a box of chocolates which went down well with her so well done lads you played a blinder!
We will definitely visit again and have mentioned it to all our friends and work colleagues.
THANK YOU MATT & ANDY

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robjay-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

After struggling through the Oxfam Trailwalker, The Twenty One provided the perfect haven of luxury for some serious R&R! Well-located, beautifully presented and wonderfully friendly, Matt and Andy have successfully created a wonderful relaxed, familiar and comfortable atmosphere. The little touches - freshly baked treats in the room, complimentary bottled water, genuinely interested conversation - all add to the enjoyment of The Twenty One and ensure that your stay is personal, enjoyable and stress free. It was our first time in Brighton and despite our weakened state, we were keen to sample the food, drink and the sights and here, yet again, Matt and Andy's local knowledge and recommendations were invaluable - and spot on. Whilst we won't necessarily be rushing back to complete the 100km Trailwalker again, we will be back in Brighton and, if there's space, we'll be staying at The Twenty One.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are great - but the roll top bath in Room 3 works wonders for tired limbs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unkleden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The room are small and well designed. The breakfats are generous and delicious. The hosts are so nice and welcoming. It is near the beach and close to the center of interest of Brighton. I would go there again and I strongly recommend the Twenty One.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvain051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Had a great night stay in The 21 and made to feel really welcome by Matt and Andy, highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,231 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £78 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing