We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about the attention to detail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's all about the attention to detail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Had a lovely stay at the Twenty-One. Matt and Andy were excellent hosts and happy to give us their time (over a glass of wine) to suggest shops and restaurants to visit.

The B&B is spotlessly clean and the rooms very comfortable.

The thing that took it from 'very, very good' to 'excellent' was the attention to detail. When we booked 6 months ago, Andy called me to check a couple of details and I let slip that our visit was for our wedding anniversary. When we arrived there was a balloon, a card and some chocolates from Matt and Andy to wish us a happy anniversary. What a great example of making guests feel special!

We will certainly return and will recommend the Twenty-One to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GudgeITFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,022
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
177
1,380
131
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Twenty One for one night of our recent honeymoon and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Matt and Andy greeted us with a drink and a talk through the neighbourhood including recommendations for dinner and drinks, a number of which we checked out and were very impressed with. They have arranged discounts with some of the better local restaurants and after a nice sunday roast we were delighted to receive 10% off the whole bill, including drinks on showing our booking details.

All the details were just right - from the complimentary drinks in the fridge up until the evening, the wonderful breakfast, the spotless cleanliness, the DVD Library (with some good films rather than the usual tripe found in similar offerings at other hotels!) and the chocolates and card left on our bed to congratulate us on our marriage.

Our room was small but we knew we had chosen one of the smallest rooms when we booked so cannot complain about this!

As with the other reviewers, it is very difficult to find anything that wasn't fantastic about this place. Living in Australia now we don't get the chance to visit the UK as much as we would like, but we love Brighton and in any future visits we would book back at the Twenty One in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenDonna36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stay here & you wont be disappointed! Such a friendly welcome from Matt & Andy, parking space saved for us right outside the door, a cup of tea & a beer on arrival & a lovely chat about the restaurants & pubs in the area.

The room was IMMACULATE! HUGE bed, everything we could need... inlcluding lots a lovely biscuits & chocolate :)

Breakfast was plentfull, fast & delicious!!! Matt & Andy once again couldnt be more pleasant & helpful.

Can not wait to go back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvis4nuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is an excellent B&B. Room is a bit small (has to be in a building close to the seaside) but sufficient. Our suitcases where rushed up the stairs before we could say anything. Excellent service. Was offered a beer for welcome. You can also have wine, soft drinks, or tea....many little cakes, mars bars etc. in the room. Good advice on restaurants. They have a few in which YOU get the discount (no hidden kickback to the B&B).
Parking is on the street (6 pound) or at the seeside (~1 pund / hour, night is free).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex1980_cgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The twenty-one calls itself a BnB more like a very nice boutique hotel. Andy and Matt the proprietors are very welcoming and professional they have built up this business over the last five years and managed to get it in the top 10 in Europe BnBs in the first year and also got mentions in the the NY Times very impressive if you ask me and it's not hard to see why Beautifully presented rooms. excellent facilities .tea coffee fridge. tv plus DVD plus DVD library available in your room. spotlessly clean room and bathroom. honestly not one complaint both Matt and Andy were very helpful with knowledge of the local area places go eat drink shop etc. the breakfast is to die for with a very varied assortment fruit cereal cooked breakfast etc very fresh very clean. I promise if you go once you'll definitely visit again I certainly will.

when you go tell em I sent ya ha ha!

Room Tip: you won't need one pretty sure you'll be happy with any room you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryank1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I've never felt compelled to write a review on tripadvisor before, despite staying in some incredible establishments around the world, that changed after staying at the Twenty One. To say this place lived up to our expectations would be an understatement, it jumped far beyond them and kept on going until it went out of sight.

The reviews we read on here pointed to a place that trades off of excellence, our stay more than confirmed that theory.
From our arrival, where we were greeted by Andy(fellow Essex boy, don't tell him i told you that!) and given a thorough briefing on the best restaurants, shopping spots, sights to see and places to enjoy a good mojito. Right through to our departure our stay was at the very top end of anything you will find in the uk and beyond.

Our room was immaculate and hightended each day with the addition of the little things that take this place beyond the competition.
I was woken at 8.35am the first morning with the smell of bacon in my nose from the sensational breakfast on offer. Everything on the plate is sourced locally and subscribes to an organic ethos. Simply put, beautiful, and no need for lunch.

The guys are great, friendly, genuine, well versed in what they do and take something special and add star dust to it.

I can't reccomend this place highly enough. I can't point to a single fault. Wonderful. Thank you so much guys for a great two nights with my girlfriend. We will definately be back.

Jamie and Tomo

On a broader note, check out Pomegranate for amazing Kurdish food and hospitality and great cocktails at The Black Dove and Havana.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ten10jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We've just returned from a perfect short break in Brighton. The reviews for The Twenty One are all accurate, it really is as good as they say. We had Rm 5 at the back, a very comfy standard room. The facilities were spot on; the shower was easy to use and all the lotions available smelt lovely, tea/coffee making resources with loads of added goodies, waters in fridge, robes and slippers, and extra special home made cakes and cookies. Breakfast was more than enough to set you up for the day, I recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with bagel, whilst my husband was pleased with his sussex breakfast. Matt and Andy are perfect hosts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadySugarfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,886 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
0.2 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Property: The Twenty One
Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twenty One 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing