We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is how hospitality is done!”
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just spent a night at this fantastic B&B. Andy and Matt are so welcoming, the room was spotless and you are supplied with snacks galore!
My room (room 3) tastefully decorated and furnished with everything you could need.
Breakfast was also plentyful and of an excellent standard. Shame it was just the one night.
Anyone who runs or is thinking of running a B&B should stay here to see how it is done right!
See you both again very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banjo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

895 - 901 of 2,186 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Well what can I say, what a wonderful place. Everything about this B and B is just perfect. Warm and helpful welcome ,we were able to park just outside, in a blink our bags were taken up to our room without even asking ( tremendous service ) we were shown a map of Brighton given handy tips of where to eat ( 10 percent discount if you mentioned the 21) and given a brief of the area. The 21 is in a great location 5 mins walk from the heart of the city. Our room was great and it had everything in it and I mean everything plus some quirky and Fabulous extras that I have never encountered in a B and B before ( hospitality tray) and an added bonus of 2 delicious chocolate brownies that we gladly pounced on after our long journey. plus it was spotless with the biggest bed ( we stayed at the top of the shop in room 8 ) breakfast was very special what a choice , fresh tasty nothing too much trouble and hosts so warm friendly and interested in their guests. Thank you so much both x and what an achievement x Julie and Owen

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186460Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is the tops.
Its hard to know what to write, that no one else has already added.
But all the reviews are spot on.

Room 3 was beautiful, spotless clean, bedding smelled lovely and fresh, clean towels every day.
So peaceful, I slept much better than i normally do, and it was probably because of the comfort of the bed.
Andy & Matt know just how to hit the spot with comfort and room facilities, we had the best tea tray in the world, the chocolates left by the bed each day were a special treat.
Very sorry to leave such a special hotel this morning, but I shall be back soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterCrudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A big thank you for a wonderful stay at the best BnB we've ever visited. Great location, beautiful room, and a a lot of special touches showing how much the hosts care about their guest - extra plus for the surprise of getting into a room that included a big pink balloon and chocolate to celebrate my birthday!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this delightful B&B and hop skip and a jump from the seafront. Matt and Andy have created the most wonderful environment, welcoming, friendly and beautifully appointed. Our room was just great. Comfortable, immaculate and very tastefully decorated. The attention to detail, was just so! From the lovely chocolate concoction on the bedside table, to the selection of goodies, on the tea tray. The inclusion of an IPad in the room, lovely fluffy bathrobes and slippers, everything has been carefully thought about. And then there is breakfast........Wow! An incredible breakfast menu and beautifully cooked and presented. I simply cannot say enough about this wonderful B&B. We would definitely go back, it is the only place to stay in Brighton. Bravo Matt and Andy, I have run out of accolades

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank confectioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at the Twenty One and what a great place it is. Lovely room, great hosts, great breakfast and one of the best tea trays we have ever seen. No stone was left unturned to make this a 5 star experience. We loved all the little touches which made it so special. Good location - within walking distance of everything. Currently top of our list of favourite places in UK.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just returned again from the twenty one, where Matt and Andy the owners - are wonderful hosts and couldn't be more friendly, warm and helpful.

Our room was prestine and your every need is catered for on the fully stocked tea tray.

Breakfast is great, cooked to order and really tasty. I highly recommend the smoked salmon bagel and scrambled eggs.

We cannot thank Matt and Andy enough for making our stay in Brighton perfect.

We highly recommend The Twenty One - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbird858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,340 reviews
0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £78 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing