We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, cosy, best breakfast I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, cosy, best breakfast I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Felt very welcome as soon as we arrived, was given lots of info on places to see, eat in town which was really nice. Hosts were lovely & very helpful. The room was clean, very comfy bed, our room had an iPod, TV/DVD & radio with iPod doc which was cool. Amazing tea tray in! The best part was the breakfast, everything was delicious & very generous. One of the nicest stays I've had in a bed & breakfast. Thank you, we will definitely be back.
Jen & john

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeh306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,023
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
177
1,381
131
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday after seeing the B&B on our last trip to Brighton.
The Twenty One did not disappoint - the house itself was furnished to a very high standard and the hosts were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
When we arrived we were shown to Room 3 - this had a sea view and had everything you could wish for in a comfy retreat. Comfy beds, amazing hospitality tray , fab bath , IPad (!!!) and the offer of a chilled glass of wine or beer in the breakfast room (if we fancied!!).
These little touches put the hosts and this B&B up there with one of the best B&B's we have stayed in.
Please make sure you save room for breakfast -- a great selection of cereals, fruits, yogs ... Warm croissants brought to the table and a cooked breakfast to follow ... This set us up for our return journey home.
We will def be back and will recommend to friends and family.
Thankyou again for all the extra touches to make my bday night away extra special x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado springs
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

With over 20 years of international travel, we have stayed at many hotels/B&Bs. The Twenty One tops them all! We found this gem last year and returned for another week's stay in April. Matt & Andy are always gracious and the establishment is impeccable. You'll find 5 star breakfasts and helpful advice for the day's activities. The rooms are spotless and the location is the best-far enough away from the late night club goers but close enough for shopping in the Lanes. Kemptown is a very friendly neighborhood and there are fantastic places to eat all around as well as a great area to go for a run just across the street along the seafront. We return to Brighton each year from the United States along with other world travel and The Twenty One is the only place for us!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank twmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just spent 2 nights in what I can only describe as the best B and B ever! From the moment we arrived Matt and Andy were incredible hosts , we stayed in the delightful room 6 which was beautiful . I have never seen such lovely little extras like the yummy rocky road and delicious hospitality tray! The room was spotless , luxurious and so lovely we didn't want to leave . As for breakfast , well it was fantastic ! I cannot stress just how great this place is , we can't wait to go back! Thank you so much ,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

It was a stormy weekend in brighton, but my girlfriend and I had an absolutely lovely stay at B and B the twenty one. great hosts, great breakfast, outstanding rooms....complete with brownies and I pad and DVD player (with DVD selection-we watched brighton rock!). Would thoroughly recommend the B and B, and also regency restaurant by the west pier if you fancy some delicious seafood! Thank you for a lovely stay. We will come again hopefully!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomWincott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Brighton turned on some of its worst weather to welcome us but Matt and Andy soon changed everything with their warm greeting and delightful establishment. From the personal briefing on the best sights to visit, a welcoming cup of coffee and all the little treats and extras in our room, the boys soon lightened our mood from the storm brewing outside. What a charming small hotel, great breakfast, and terrific location to access the sights this fascinating city has to offer!,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicknLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and found this to be one of the best places we've stayed. Matt and Andy are fantastic hosts and gave lots of excellent recommendations for places to see and eat as well as cooking very tasty breakfasts. We stayed at Easter time and when we went up to our room we found a chocolate Easter bunny waiting for us which was a lovely touch (along with the rocky road / penguins etc etc etc). The room itself was lovely with a very comfortable bed and the whole place was spotlessly clean. We would definitely stay here again next time we are in Brighton.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,897 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Property: The Twenty One
Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twenty One 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing