We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daring to be different”
Review of Hotel Pelirocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pelirocco
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Daring to be different”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

For originality, warmth, humour and fabulous service this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. It's such a joy to find somewhere that celebrates individuality and fun over 'chain store' predictability. It's deliberately different but not in an exclusive or arrogant way – everyone's made to feel so welcome and there's nothing intimidating about its strong personality. It's quirky and wonderfully outrageous at times but wit and warmth are its biggest features. The breakfasts are as fabulous as everyone says – an imaginative menu with a very civilised later slot at weekends. You don't have to tear yourself away from your amazing themed bedroom until 11 on Saturdays and Sundays.

All in all this hotel flies the flag for independents everywhere. Visit it – you'll never want to stay in somewhere that looks the same in Brighton as it does in Blackpool or Birmingham or Bristol again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    215
    60
    47
    30
See reviews for
34
466
65
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Firstly, this is a nice boutique hotel with quirky rooms and décor that should please even the most discerning art critic. However, my review is based on the bar alone. Two young lads working the bar last Saturday night couldn't have been more disinterested - they were rude, sullen and mute. For the amount we spent behind the bar, you would at least expect a good level of service, but no - it was simply terrible. Whatsmore, we are all convinced the hotel waters down its spirits behind the bar as 10 vodka and lemonades each failed to get us even mildly tipsy (we're not regular drinkers) and didn't even taste of anything alcoholic (the barmen's sly turning of the back to pour drinks on the back shelf provides sufficient evidence to this theory). But, as I say - this is just the bar - hotel and karaoke room were cool.

Room Tip: Sleep here, do NOT drink here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icantstandbadservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We booked a night here when our honeymoon got cancelled due to bad weather and had the most fantastic night. The staff were exceptionally friendly and offered us a free upgrade on arrival when they heard we were recently married! An amazing hotel, very quirky. We especially loved the 50's exotic erotica theme of our room, very tastefully done. We would have loved to stay longer if only to look at all the memorabilia on the walls in the hallways! The attention to detail was second to none and the bedding was luxurious. The full english breakfast was the best we've ever had. We look forward to coming again as the whole experience was just wonderful!! Thank you x

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berol33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I must say we normally stay at the Grand!! But what a treat the full of fun Pelirocco in Regency Square! We were a party of six and received a diverse array of rooms!! Ours was called the Stoli and was clean and had a great seaview and big enough balcony to stand on and admire the views ours friends were in the Diana dots room and the p.... Room all very different but spotlessly clean and very comfortable!' the hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed fabulous cocktails and a delightful ambience!! The Grand is still a strong favourite but a trip back to the Pelirocco is on the cards!! We all loved it !!!!!!!the breakfast is delicious with a large choice

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19sis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I liked my stay at the Hotel Pelirocco- I didn't manage to sleep very well due to noise outside and the single room I stayed in was very small (Dotty) with a miniscule bathroom, a friend had a double room which was probably four times the size of mine so I assume all the double rooms are fine. Breakfast was tasty and the whole place had a relaxed atmosphere with very friendly staff. Would recommend if you are looking for a more personal, boutique experience in Brighton

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We loved it. We stayed in the Betty room which is ace.
It is not refined to the same standards as a 4star modern hotel but you dont go to the Pelirocco for drab consistency, you go for heritage and individualism.

If you want clean lines and finish go and stay at the hilton. if you want fun and are young at heart stay here (having said that it is not a party hotel, the guests are all respectful and quiet)

Parking on the street is by permit - or is it. We were quite confused and paid a lot of the underground NCP under Regent Square

The drunks in the park are really annoying so the hotel must sort this out if they want to charge these premiums.

The front of house staff are absolutely brilliant - if all hotels could be like this it would be fab. We booked incredibly late - 2210 yet the lady at the hotel was apologetic that we had to wait an hour whilst she made up the room. I think an hour delay when you book so late is perfectly fine, if I had booked at lunchtime I would have felt the hotel should have done better but late at night with only the night staff on they did a fantastic job.

The styling fit out of the room is brilliant but quality of finish is quite poor and carpet needs a refresh. A good snag with independant eyes wouldnt go amiss.

All in all we loved in, will come back but probably only if we got a discounted deal as i think £120 for the night is quite a lot in the current climate compared to the quality of a 5* chain hotel and what you would get there.

Room Tip: Betty room is on the front of the building so lovely view of the see but noise from the drunks on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This funky, quirky boutique hotel has a lot fo offer. First and foremost is that the staff are lovely and very helpful. Secondly, it is very secure and conscious of security. The rooms are creatively decorated - everyone different, but the amenities are consistently good. It's right across the street from the West Pier and beach and within easy walking distance of all the sites. Last but not least, the breakfast was absolutely delicious, was a generous portion, and there were a mirade of choices. I would highly recommend this hotel for all types of guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrenalinjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelirocco

Property: Hotel Pelirocco
Address: 10 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#3 Business Hotel in Brighton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelirocco 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelirocco is Brighton's original boutique hotel with 19 individually themed rooms inspired by maverick musicians, inspiring individuals and popular sub-cultures. Complete with late night cocktail, private karaoke lounge and frequent live music and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pelirocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelirocco Hotel Brighton
Boutique Hotel Pelirocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing