We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel pelirocco play suite” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pelirocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pelirocco
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel pelirocco play suite”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We did enjoy our stay but feel its not worth the cost of the suite really. They have let themselves down with a few things you would expect of a suite for a dirty weekend away, relaxing in comfort with you otherhalf. The bed was the great very comfy and huge i was really pleased it was exactly as described. I was dissapointed with the bath, i assumed it was a whirpool bath and its not. Also its got hard tiled sharp edges and seats so it is not a comfortable bath to relax and lounge and get steamy in!!! It also has broken tiles near the plug on which i cut my toe quite badly. I have stayed in hotels of this price before and it really let its self down with a lack of finishing touches, like nice toiletries for example. The tv is in the lounge area which has fake leather platforms to sit on which are very uncomfortable. There is no tv in the bedroom for a lazy morning in bed which i had expected. Also there was some confussion as to the private enterance. On arrival we were told we could use it as we pleased to save being buzzed in at the main door. The next day it was locked and we were told it was only for use after midnight. The breakfast was ok, it was lovely to have it served in our room. We had no problems as others have said with smokers being loud outside our room, and they had a sign up asking other guests not to smoke outside after midnight. I was worried as there were dj's playing both night on our stay too but i didnt hear a thing. Overall it was ok, but its such a shame as it has the potential to be amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    212
    59
    47
    29
See reviews for
33
450
65
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I was actually having trouble finding anywhere to stay in Brighton and found here as a last point of call: had I known about it in advance it would definitely have been the first point of call in any case! Wonderful hotel, full of character, yet also my room was pristinely clean and had one of the most comfortable beds in a hotel I have ever slept in! Divine breakfast too and friendly and helpful staff! I could not have asked for more in a place to stay, and all for a really good price to boot! Great location and easy to find and get to if you're traveling by train as well! I hope I can return once day - thanks and recommendations!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I was recommended this hotel by a friend as somewhere special to stay while visiting Brighton with my boyfriend for The Great Escape festival. It's decor inside is fab, the staff there are incredibly lovely and welcoming, the breakfast is delicious (and lots to choose from), it's situated in the beautiful Regency Square and is about a ten minute walk to the station/center. We stayed in the Soul room and absolutely loved having a working record player and a selection of soul vinyl to play. The room was very clean, although in need of a little TLC it was extremely comfortable and felt a little lived in which was nice. Our bed was extremely comfortable and clean and we loved having packs of Oreo with our cups of tea in the room. The hotel bar is great too, and open late on weekends (the cocktails were delicious!). It's not a formal hotel at all which made it all the more relaxing and comfortable. We are already planning to come back again next month.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsCleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

If you are staying in Brighton, and you like your hotels not budget, but not too formal, try this place. It's a bit far from the action, being situated near the old burnt out pier, but the sea air, as you walk home from a night out, will do you the world of good.

The hotel is a large town house in a nice square, over looking a garden and on the sea front. It's well know for having uniquely designed rooms. We were in the Jamie Reid/Sex Pistols room. Check in was chatty. We had a cocktail in the thrift-shop-like bar, which is where they serve breakfast too. Work by local artists was on show, and for sale.

Our room didn't look exactly like the images on the website. The bedding was plain, instead of the customised Jamie Reid stencilled bedding. Perhaps that had been knicked by a previous guest. There were lots of signs of wear and tear, and the room did resemble a mad nursery, but I had wanted to stay there for ages, and loved it.

However, I didn't love the bathroom. It was the size of a London phone box, but somehow they had managed to fit in a shower, sink and loo. It really was caravan-like.

The bar area was great fun. It's open only to guest. They serve silly cocktails and both nights were like being at a private house party - except you had to pay for the booze.

We made it down for breakfast. Full English. Nothing fancy, but really tasty. We heard a guest call down for a bottle of champagne to be sent up. They were told that as it was breakfast time, they'd have to come down and get it themselves. To me, that really summed up the place.

Room Tip: Try more than one room when staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrionUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Firstly, I would like to clarify a few points..... just look at the website.... it's fun, in your face, but subtly delivered. The staff are excellent, very welcoming and to be honest couldn't be faulted.

Initially we looked at booking the Grand, but haviing surfed Lastminute stumbled across this gem... glad I did.

A few people have commented on price.... well yes, okay, not the cheapest. But it's DIFFERENT. the sort of place you feel like you are in your own little world. It's not corporate, it's not for business trips (well it could be but don't moan if you don't like it), and if you are offended by risqué wallpaper, probably best not to book. If you are looking for a fun time, something different, relaxed and friendly atmosphere then please book.

Very relaxing place, with amazing views of the beach front (well in the Betty Boutique anyway) situated perfectly. 5 mins walk from the Lanes etc and a minute walk from some great beach front bars.

The place is so relaxing we thought nothing of walking out at 1am in search of soft drinks (had enough wine by then!) and chips!

Only thing that was a tad annoying is that when we returned just before 11 the bar was not open, but then it was a Monday night so no huge surprise but would have been great as the cocktail menu looked tempting.

And no, I'm not a member of staff or family friend, but feel it is only right to make sure if you even tempted to book - BOOK!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I booked this hotel as one of the gifts for my boyfriends birthday – after endlessly searching for a hotel with a “music” theme this seemed the best option. The hotel is unique, quirky and welcoming. The location is great and the staff wonderfully laid back while still being helpful and attentive. The rooms are just a delight and they offer some great extras such as in house massage, cup cakes and grown up goody bags. We stayed in the soul supreme and another room, I loved them both and look forward to checking out the other rooms. The only drawbacks are the tiny bathrooms and some of the interior decor is a tiny bit slap dash. Oh and there’s no lifts. They also offer a monthly photo competition where you can win a free nights stay......and we won which was a bonus!
Try the delicious mushrooms on the full English breakfast and book a couple of hours in the sing star room – brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ27London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I was quite excited about staying in this hotel, the pictures of the rooms looked wicked and the whole concept seemed very boutique-ish, however, you can't imagine my disappointment when i saw the room. For starters the room was chilled, this was soon fixed by the super nice and helpful girl at reception, but also it was stinking of cigarettes and the light in the room was dim. The whole decoration was worn out, looked dirty and to be completely honest, quite disgusting.
The price was not cheap at all, for that money, I could have stayed in any other place in Brighton and next time, I will.
Good idea, bad execution.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarianaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.0 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelirocco

Property: Hotel Pelirocco
Address: 10 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Brighton
#4 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelirocco 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelirocco is Brighton's original boutique hotel with 19 individually themed rooms inspired by maverick musicians, inspiring individuals and popular sub-cultures. Complete with late night cocktail, private karaoke lounge and frequent live music and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Pelirocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelirocco Hotel Brighton
Boutique Hotel Pelirocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing